$50 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Motel 6 Des Moines IA

1 star
4940 NE 14th Street, I-80/I-35 at NE 14th Street/US 69, Exit #136, Des Moines, IA 50313
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
46 reviews
Super Nice

Very well lighted close to downtown great night life See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 16, 2009
Super Nice

Very well lighted close to downtown great night life See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 16, 2009
This Motel 6 location has all modern rooms with free WiFi. Enjoy our outdoor pool open from May to Sept. Conveniently located near area shopping and only four miles from downtown Des Moines.

Hotel Map

41.651 -93.6005
Nearby airports
Des Moines Intl Airport, (DSM), 9.90, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Motel 6 Des Moines IA Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.2

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TeeL33
Brooklyn Center, MN
Aug 12, 2013

Horrible Experience

This was during the Iowa State Fair and this was the last resort for a decent price. This is definitely a good definition of you get what you pay for, they had dirty towels and had bums sleeping on the sidewalk and hanging around drinking beer. Felt like you got a hotel in the ghetto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NAZDAR
DURANGO CO
May 14, 2013

VERY BAD BAD...NOT THE ONE

Had to leave for emergency ..after 1 day but will not stay again...No carpetr on the floor...ya no carpet..NO shampoo.HEATER and A/C FALLEN APART.CHARGED FOR MW AND FRIGS.POOL NOT FULL..WORKER SAID YOU MIGHT GET SHAMPOO ONCE AND AWHILE....CHECK IN WAS LIKE WHO ARE YOU..NICE SON UNSTOOD OR EMERGENCY ..TO LEAVE..FAMILY..SO ONLY 1 DAY..VINAL FLOOR ON CONCRETE IN IOWA IN MAY ARE YOU KIDDING ME..WOULD NEVE DO IT AGANIN AN I HOPEDROPS THIS PLACE...BOB ...NEBRASKA OUT SIDE OF OGALLALA GREAT..STAYED GOING BACK TO COLORADO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

BBQ,,FOREST AVE..DES MOINES..GREAT

Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shadowdsm
Midwest and Florida.
Oct 8, 2012

A basic room at a modest price.

When I arrived to check in the clerk informed me the room would be $10 more than price shown, when I objected she told me it was the weekend rate and the booking service used the weekday rate for booking, when I turned to leave the clerk told me I could get the lower rate by letting her re-book on another service and offered me the room at the predetermined price. When we got to the room my companion told me it smelled of pest spray ( I had a cold so I would not have noticed) and lo & behold there was a cockroach crossing the floor at my feet, this was the only critter we saw. The website photos of the rooms shows that the rooms have wide screen lcds but on entry I was disappointed to note it was an early analog tv with no connectors ( a big minus because I travel with a game system to unwind) obviously the pictures are stock photos and do not represent actual rooms. Hotel location is next to the interstate and a major highway into downtown, coffee in the morning is all that is offered to get you going for the day and the rooms are clean if a bit spartan. My impression of this motel is that it is a DEEP discount site trying to be a higher class choice. overall I have paid less and gotten more but if the price was lowered $10 dollars it would be a good deal on a nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Little Laverne
Clinton, IL
Jun 13, 2012

Pork Expo

I reserved this for Pork Expo and it was a great price with an average room. After all you are not in it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pice
Business
Des Moine Iowa
Jun 10, 2012

Good for 1 night not 3

Needs a lot of help. The staff was very nice but the place needs a new face lift

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dennis M.
IA
Jun 7, 2012

One Night Stay

I read other reviews about being renovated. Must have been a different part of the building, not where we stayed. Old. Needed updating. We stayed in a smoking room. Cigarette burns on table tops, counters, etc. You can tell it needed updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

More like VERY long walk or long drive. Nothing really around there.

Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Elizabeth
Mission, SD 57555, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Noisy But Convenient

As other reviewers have said, this hotel was surprisingly up to date and attractive for a Motel 6, particularly with the wood floors. I was not charged extra for bringing a dog, which was a major plus. The main downside was the location; it is right on I-80, so the road noise is considerable. There is also a sign outside the hotel with an arrow pointing to get there; unfortunately, this sign is right at the corner of the entrance to the access road, but there is no access to the hotel from the access road, and instead the arrow is meant to direct people who have entered the side street that is separated from the access road by a wall. You have to go north on the main road to turn onto that road, but I turned on the access road, which resulted in having to get back on the highway in the wrong direction and loop back around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Elizabeth
Mission, SD 57555, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Noisy But Convenient

As other reviewers have said, this hotel was surprisingly up to date and attractive for a Motel 6, particularly with the wood floors. I was not charged extra for bringing a dog, which was a major plus. The main downside was the location; it is right on I-80, so the road noise is considerable. There is also a sign outside the hotel with an arrow pointing to get there; unfortunately, this sign is right at the corner of the entrance to the access road, but there is no access to the hotel from the access road, and instead the arrow is meant to direct people who have entered the side street that is separated from the access road by a wall. You have to go north on the main road to turn onto that road, but I turned on the access road, which resulted in having to get back on the highway in the wrong direction and loop back around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
berta
Davenport, Ia
Aug 16, 2011

Just a place to stay

There were dogs barking in the middle of the night and people smoking and talking right outside our window while we were trying to sleep. Had to take a smoking room and it reeked of smoke. Beds were very comfortable and room was clean but too expensive for this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
iowa
Jul 10, 2011

Shopping

Enjoyed the peace and quietness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top