$53 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

Motel 6 Des Moines IA

1 star
4940 NE 14th Street, I-80/I-35 at NE 14th Street/US 69, Exit #136, Des Moines, IA 50313
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
27 reviews
Super Nice

Very well lighted close to downtown great night life See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 16, 2009
Great Price , Pool Great, Location Great

I stay here every week the rates are great and friendly staff as well. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 22, 2009
This Motel 6 location has all modern rooms with free WiFi. Enjoy our outdoor pool open from May to Sept. Conveniently located near area shopping and only four miles from downtown Des Moines.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Des Moines IA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Motel 6 Des Moines IA Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 27
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.9
Value:
3

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TeeL33
Business
Brooklyn Center, MN
Aug 12, 2013

Horrible Experience

This was during the Iowa State Fair and this was the last resort for a decent price. This is definitely a good definition of you get what you pay for, they had dirty towels and had bums sleeping on the sidewalk and hanging around drinking beer. Felt like you got a hotel in the ghetto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Elizabeth
Business
Mission, SD 57555, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Noisy But Convenient

As other reviewers have said, this hotel was surprisingly up to date and attractive for a Motel 6, particularly with the wood floors. I was not charged extra for bringing a dog, which was a major plus. The main downside was the location; it is right on I-80, so the road noise is considerable. There is also a sign outside the hotel with an arrow pointing to get there; unfortunately, this sign is right at the corner of the entrance to the access road, but there is no access to the hotel from the access road, and instead the arrow is meant to direct people who have entered the side street that is separated from the access road by a wall. You have to go north on the main road to turn onto that road, but I turned on the access road, which resulted in having to get back on the highway in the wrong direction and loop back around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
iowa
Jul 10, 2011

Shopping

Enjoyed the peace and quietness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Paul MN
Jul 12, 2010

basic room

Clean room, basic accomodations, friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Only 30 minutes to Iowa speedway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Des Moines daytripper
Business
mason city ia
Jan 10, 2010

Good Motel

I only stayed for one night but the staff was very friendly and let me check in early. There were no tiny bottles of shampoo and lotion but that was the only thing missing. The room was clean and quiet a great deal for $40 a night :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GB Blizzard #1 fan
Business
Green Bay, WI
Jun 15, 2009

Motel 6 Des Moines North

This is the second time I have stayed at the Motel 6 North. I chose it originally because of it's price and location near the Interstate and it's proximity to Downtown. The staff was very friendly and the room was comfortable. For the price, it was just what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I was attending a sporting event at the Wells Fargo Arena. The Arena is easy to get to from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 13, 2007

Dirtiest room I have ever stayed in.

The bedding smelled terrible. The room was filthy. The sink and shower were dirty also. I only stayed, as I was tired from driving through a ice and snow storm from Minneapolis. When I checked out, I explained the problems with the check-out person and she gave me one night free, which was still too much for the dirty room, which included the carpeting, table coming apart, sink dirty, shower dirty and with wrappers in it, toilet ran when flushed, which I fixed. But, most important was the smell in the bed, and the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top