Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$53
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 8, 2016 Check-out: Feb 10, 2016
2.3 /5
Overall score
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.8
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

Motel 6 Des Moines North is within 5 miles of Adventureland Park, Des Moines Botanical Center, and Iowas State Capitol; conveniently accessible is shopping and downtown Des Moines. Guest rooms have a modern look and free Wi-Fi, our pool is open May-Sept.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.0 / 5
$55
Guest score 2.3 / 5
$54
Guest score 2.5 / 5
$69
Guest score 3.3 / 5
$64
Guest score 2.8 / 5
$55
Guest score 2.7 / 5
$45

Amenities

Featured

  • Outdoor pool

General

  • Air conditioned
  • Pet friendly
  • Free local telephone calls

Activities

  • Outdoor pool

Dining

  • Restaurant

Services

  • Maid service
  • Security
  • Wake-up service
  • Copy service

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible facilities
  • Accessible parking

Room

  • Television with cable
  • Heated guest rooms
  • Temperature control
  • Electronic door locks

Reviews

2.3 /5 Overall score

  • Amenities: 2.5/5
  • Cleanliness: 3.1/5
  • Hotel staff: 3.5/5
  • Comfort: 2.8/5
  • Location: 3.1/5
  • Value: 2.8/5

Just a place to sleep....

Would not recommend Fri, Aug 21, 2015
we found the motel to be outdated and in need of maintainAnce...the room was ok...clean...and the value was considered average

| N/A Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Bad

Would not recommend Wed, Aug 19, 2015
Location not bad, however the room not great and the bathroom was bad. I WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN.

| N/A Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Ok

Would recommend Tue, Dec 23, 2014
The hotel was okay and value for money. I would not mind staying here again

| N/A Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Horrible Experience

Would not recommend Mon, Aug 12, 2013
This was during the Iowa State Fair and this was the last resort for a decent price. This is definitely a good definition of you get what you pay for, they had dirty towels and had bums sleeping on the sidewalk and hanging around drinking beer. Felt like you got a hotel in the ghetto.

| Brooklyn Center, MN Singles

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

VERY BAD BAD...NOT THE ONE

Would not recommend Tue, May 14, 2013
Had to leave for emergency ..after 1 day but will not stay again...No carpetr on the floor...ya no carpet..NO shampoo.HEATER and A/C FALLEN APART.CHARGED FOR MW AND FRIGS.POOL NOT FULL..WORKER SAID YOU MIGHT GET SHAMPOO ONCE AND AWHILE....CHECK IN WAS LIKE WHO ARE YOU..NICE SON UNSTOOD OR EMERGENCY ..TO LEAVE..FAMILY..SO ONLY 1 DAY..VINAL FLOOR ON CONCRETE IN IOWA IN MAY ARE YOU KIDDING ME..WOULD NEVE DO IT AGANIN AN I HOPEDROPS THIS PLACE...BOB ...NEBRASKA OUT SIDE OF OGALLALA GREAT..STAYED GOING BACK TO COLORADO

Dining

BBQ,,FOREST AVE..DES MOINES..GREAT

| DURANGO CO Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

A basic room at a modest price.

Would not recommend Mon, Oct 8, 2012
When I arrived to check in the clerk informed me the room would be $10 more than price shown, when I objected she told me it was the weekend rate and the booking service used the weekday rate for booking, when I turned to leave the clerk told me I could get the lower rate by letting her re-book on another service and offered me the room at the predetermined price. When we got to the room my companion told me it smelled of pest spray ( I had a cold so I would not have noticed) and lo & behold there was a cockroach crossing the floor at my feet, this was the only critter we saw. The website photos of the rooms shows that the rooms have wide screen lcds but on entry I was disappointed to note it was an early analog tv with no connectors ( a big minus because I travel with a game system to unwind) obviously the pictures are stock photos and do not represent actual rooms. Hotel location is next to the interstate and a major highway into downtown, coffee in the morning is all that is offered to get you going for the day and the rooms are clean if a bit spartan. My impression of this motel is that it is a DEEP discount site trying to be a higher class choice. overall I have paid less and gotten more but if the price was lowered $10 dollars it would be a good deal on a nights sleep.

| Midwest and Florida. Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Pork Expo

Would recommend Wed, Jun 13, 2012
I reserved this for Pork Expo and it was a great price with an average room. After all you are not in it very much.

| Clinton, IL Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Good for 1 night not 3

Would not recommend Sun, Jun 10, 2012
Needs a lot of help. The staff was very nice but the place needs a new face lift

| Des Moine Iowa Business

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

One Night Stay

Would not recommend Thu, Jun 7, 2012
I read other reviews about being renovated. Must have been a different part of the building, not where we stayed. Old. Needed updating. We stayed in a smoking room. Cigarette burns on table tops, counters, etc. You can tell it needed updating.

Dining

More like VERY long walk or long drive. Nothing really around there.

| IA Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Noisy But Convenient

Would recommend Tue, Sep 20, 2011
As other reviewers have said, this hotel was surprisingly up to date and attractive for a Motel 6, particularly with the wood floors. I was not charged extra for bringing a dog, which was a major plus. The main downside was the location; it is right on I-80, so the road noise is considerable. There is also a sign outside the hotel with an arrow pointing to get there; unfortunately, this sign is right at the corner of the entrance to the access road, but there is no access to the hotel from the access road, and instead the arrow is meant to direct people who have entered the side street that is separated from the access road by a wall. You have to go north on the main road to turn onto that road, but I turned on the access road, which resulted in having to get back on the highway in the wrong direction and loop back around.

| Mission, SD 57555, USA Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 02:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$53
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2016 Check-out: Feb 10, 2016