$50 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Motel 6 Des Moines IA

1 star
4940 NE 14th Street, I-80/I-35 at NE 14th Street/US 69, Exit #136, Des Moines, IA 50313
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
46 reviews
Super Nice

Very well lighted close to downtown great night life See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 16, 2009
Super Nice

Very well lighted close to downtown great night life See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 16, 2009
This Motel 6 location has all modern rooms with free WiFi. Enjoy our outdoor pool open from May to Sept. Conveniently located near area shopping and only four miles from downtown Des Moines.

Motel 6 Des Moines IA Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Des Moines IA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.651 -93.6005
Nearby airports
Des Moines Intl Airport, (DSM), 9.90, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.2

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RagaMuffin Exhibitor
Business
Jacksonville, NC and Shorewood, IL
Oct 5, 2009

It could have been worse

The hotel room was inexpensive, but it wasn't very clean. I was in town for a regional cat show and awards and I wouldn't even let my cats into the bathroom. I was glad I took a shower before we left for the hotel because we wouldn't get into the shower until we got home. The room was very small and one of the beds was old and so overused that lying on it was like sinking into a really old sofa. Plus, there were very few channels, mostly ESPN and CNN. There was also no clock in the room and no little bottles of shampoo, soap etc. There were also no forms of dressers or drawers for anything. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Iowa State Fairgrounds are only a 10 minute drive around the corner

Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NAZDAR
DURANGO CO
May 14, 2013

VERY BAD BAD...NOT THE ONE

Had to leave for emergency ..after 1 day but will not stay again...No carpetr on the floor...ya no carpet..NO shampoo.HEATER and A/C FALLEN APART.CHARGED FOR MW AND FRIGS.POOL NOT FULL..WORKER SAID YOU MIGHT GET SHAMPOO ONCE AND AWHILE....CHECK IN WAS LIKE WHO ARE YOU..NICE SON UNSTOOD OR EMERGENCY ..TO LEAVE..FAMILY..SO ONLY 1 DAY..VINAL FLOOR ON CONCRETE IN IOWA IN MAY ARE YOU KIDDING ME..WOULD NEVE DO IT AGANIN AN I HOPEDROPS THIS PLACE...BOB ...NEBRASKA OUT SIDE OF OGALLALA GREAT..STAYED GOING BACK TO COLORADO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

BBQ,,FOREST AVE..DES MOINES..GREAT

Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Waterloo,IA
Jun 16, 2009

Dissapointed

The rooms were very small and very dated! Beds were not comfortable at all. Bathroom door did not have a lock on it. Small tv and only about 5 channels. Just overall dissapointed. Asked to have some extra pillows because they were very small and got a very rude "were out" and then was hung up on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TeeL33
Brooklyn Center, MN
Aug 12, 2013

Horrible Experience

This was during the Iowa State Fair and this was the last resort for a decent price. This is definitely a good definition of you get what you pay for, they had dirty towels and had bums sleeping on the sidewalk and hanging around drinking beer. Felt like you got a hotel in the ghetto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 7, 2009

You get what you pay for

Unfortunately the noisy interstate is right out back--convenient but noisy. I had noisy neighbors late into the night as well, especially when they were outside smoking. The shower just kind of dribbled water, and it took so long I finally just got in the cold water because I thought it was never going to get hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shadowdsm
Midwest and Florida.
Oct 8, 2012

A basic room at a modest price.

When I arrived to check in the clerk informed me the room would be $10 more than price shown, when I objected she told me it was the weekend rate and the booking service used the weekday rate for booking, when I turned to leave the clerk told me I could get the lower rate by letting her re-book on another service and offered me the room at the predetermined price. When we got to the room my companion told me it smelled of pest spray ( I had a cold so I would not have noticed) and lo & behold there was a cockroach crossing the floor at my feet, this was the only critter we saw. The website photos of the rooms shows that the rooms have wide screen lcds but on entry I was disappointed to note it was an early analog tv with no connectors ( a big minus because I travel with a game system to unwind) obviously the pictures are stock photos and do not represent actual rooms. Hotel location is next to the interstate and a major highway into downtown, coffee in the morning is all that is offered to get you going for the day and the rooms are clean if a bit spartan. My impression of this motel is that it is a DEEP discount site trying to be a higher class choice. overall I have paid less and gotten more but if the price was lowered $10 dollars it would be a good deal on a nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Merrill, Wisconsin
Aug 5, 2009

a place to sleep

very reasonable price, nice and clean, non-smoking room that smelled like it has always been smoked in,felt every spring in the mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fayetteville
Aug 4, 2009

Beware! Caution! Think Twice!!

How should I start? Was asked what time for wake-up as they did not have clock radios in the room. The bed was horrible. The window curtain had holes in it. The bed spread had burn holes in it. We both were bitten by bugs in the room. The shower curtain fell down when attempting to shower. When asked about the internet the offer on web site, they said they didn't have it but, "the room I am giving you should be able to pick up the signal from the hotel next door". (It didn't) My rate went up $15.00 just to check in. They didn't care what my guarnteed rate was, this is what they charge. I have stayed at better homeless shelters in my lifetime. It was horrible. We got no sleep. ended up checking in after midnight and checked out at 4am. STAY AWAY!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 7, 2009

You get what you pay for

Unfortunately the noisy interstate is right out back--convenient but noisy. I had noisy neighbors late into the night as well, especially when they were outside smoking. The shower just kind of dribbled water, and it took so long I finally just got in the cold water because I thought it was never going to get hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RagaMuffin Exhibitor
Business
Jacksonville, NC and Shorewood, IL
Oct 5, 2009

It could have been worse

The hotel room was inexpensive, but it wasn't very clean. I was in town for a regional cat show and awards and I wouldn't even let my cats into the bathroom. I was glad I took a shower before we left for the hotel because we wouldn't get into the shower until we got home. The room was very small and one of the beds was old and so overused that lying on it was like sinking into a really old sofa. Plus, there were very few channels, mostly ESPN and CNN. There was also no clock in the room and no little bottles of shampoo, soap etc. There were also no forms of dressers or drawers for anything. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Iowa State Fairgrounds are only a 10 minute drive around the corner

Back to menu Return to top