$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Motel 6 Des Moines IA

1 star
View map of 4940 NE 14th Street, I-80/I-35 at NE 14th Street/US 69, Exit #136, Des Moines, IA 50313

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.2
Value:
3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shell Rock Iowa
Jul 22, 2009

Great Price , Pool Great, Location Great

I stay here every week the rates are great and friendly staff as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Merrill, Wisconsin
Aug 5, 2009

a place to sleep

very reasonable price, nice and clean, non-smoking room that smelled like it has always been smoked in,felt every spring in the mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville
Aug 4, 2009

Beware! Caution! Think Twice!!

How should I start? Was asked what time for wake-up as they did not have clock radios in the room. The bed was horrible. The window curtain had holes in it. The bed spread had burn holes in it. We both were bitten by bugs in the room. The shower curtain fell down when attempting to shower. When asked about the internet the offer on web site, they said they didn't have it but, "the room I am giving you should be able to pick up the signal from the hotel next door". (It didn't) My rate went up $15.00 just to check in. They didn't care what my guarnteed rate was, this is what they charge. I have stayed at better homeless shelters in my lifetime. It was horrible. We got no sleep. ended up checking in after midnight and checked out at 4am. STAY AWAY!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shell Rock Iowa
Jul 22, 2009

Great Price , Pool Great, Location Great

I stay here every week the rates are great and friendly staff as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waterloo,IA
Jun 16, 2009

Dissapointed

The rooms were very small and very dated! Beds were not comfortable at all. Bathroom door did not have a lock on it. Small tv and only about 5 channels. Just overall dissapointed. Asked to have some extra pillows because they were very small and got a very rude "were out" and then was hung up on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GB Blizzard #1 fan
Business
Green Bay, WI
Jun 15, 2009

Motel 6 Des Moines North

This is the second time I have stayed at the Motel 6 North. I chose it originally because of it's price and location near the Interstate and it's proximity to Downtown. The staff was very friendly and the room was comfortable. For the price, it was just what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I was attending a sporting event at the Wells Fargo Arena. The Arena is easy to get to from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shell Rock, Iowa
May 25, 2009

Great Hotel

I enjoyed the shower use very nice room but a litte to noise did not sleep well threw the night as alarms from cars were going off and load music at times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 24, 2007

Good Value

The Motel 6 room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom appeared to have been remodeled recently and was small but well done. There was no dresser but otherwise the room was very adequate. The room was quiet. It is only 30 miles from Iowa Speedway in Newton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Country Kitchen next door had a very good Breakfast Buffet with good food at a very reasonable cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 28, 2007

Bring your ear plugs

All was good except for noisy people in the parking lot off and on through the night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 13, 2007

Dirtiest room I have ever stayed in.

The bedding smelled terrible. The room was filthy. The sink and shower were dirty also. I only stayed, as I was tired from driving through a ice and snow storm from Minneapolis. When I checked out, I explained the problems with the check-out person and she gave me one night free, which was still too much for the dirty room, which included the carpeting, table coming apart, sink dirty, shower dirty and with wrappers in it, toilet ran when flushed, which I fixed. But, most important was the smell in the bed, and the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top