$53 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Motel 6 Des Moines IA

1 star
4940 NE 14th Street, I-80/I-35 at NE 14th Street/US 69, Exit #136, Des Moines, IA 50313
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
27 reviews
Super Nice

Very well lighted close to downtown great night life See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 16, 2009
Great Price , Pool Great, Location Great

I stay here every week the rates are great and friendly staff as well. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 22, 2009
This Motel 6 location has all modern rooms with free WiFi. Enjoy our outdoor pool open from May to Sept. Conveniently located near area shopping and only four miles from downtown Des Moines.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Des Moines IA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Motel 6 Des Moines IA Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.2
Value:
3

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shell Rock Iowa
Jul 22, 2009

Great Price , Pool Great, Location Great

I stay here every week the rates are great and friendly staff as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waterloo,IA
Jun 16, 2009

Dissapointed

The rooms were very small and very dated! Beds were not comfortable at all. Bathroom door did not have a lock on it. Small tv and only about 5 channels. Just overall dissapointed. Asked to have some extra pillows because they were very small and got a very rude "were out" and then was hung up on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GB Blizzard #1 fan
Business
Green Bay, WI
Jun 15, 2009

Motel 6 Des Moines North

This is the second time I have stayed at the Motel 6 North. I chose it originally because of it's price and location near the Interstate and it's proximity to Downtown. The staff was very friendly and the room was comfortable. For the price, it was just what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I was attending a sporting event at the Wells Fargo Arena. The Arena is easy to get to from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shell Rock, Iowa
May 25, 2009

Great Hotel

I enjoyed the shower use very nice room but a litte to noise did not sleep well threw the night as alarms from cars were going off and load music at times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 24, 2007

Good Value

The Motel 6 room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom appeared to have been remodeled recently and was small but well done. There was no dresser but otherwise the room was very adequate. The room was quiet. It is only 30 miles from Iowa Speedway in Newton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Country Kitchen next door had a very good Breakfast Buffet with good food at a very reasonable cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 28, 2007

Bring your ear plugs

All was good except for noisy people in the parking lot off and on through the night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines IA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 13, 2007

Dirtiest room I have ever stayed in.

The bedding smelled terrible. The room was filthy. The sink and shower were dirty also. I only stayed, as I was tired from driving through a ice and snow storm from Minneapolis. When I checked out, I explained the problems with the check-out person and she gave me one night free, which was still too much for the dirty room, which included the carpeting, table coming apart, sink dirty, shower dirty and with wrappers in it, toilet ran when flushed, which I fixed. But, most important was the smell in the bed, and the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top