$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 5, 2014 Check-out: Dec 6, 2014

Hotel Fort Des Moines

3 stars
1000 Walnut St, Des Moines, IA 50309
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
115 reviews
Very Nice Hotel

I had a very nice and expedited check in. With 3 major concerts in the area, the Hotel Fort Des... See full review

  • RRW1963
  • Apr 30, 2014
great weekend getaway

great price for the location and being so close to all the downtown activities See full review

  • Jason Feaker
  • May 22, 2013
Historic downtown Des Moines hotel with modern amenities, Internet
The historic Hotel Fort Des Moines was built in 1919, and after an extensive renovation was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982. Over the years, the hotel has hosted celebrities such as Mae West, Richard Nixon, Jack Kennedy and Charles Lindbergh. Today, the smoke-free hotel offers free high-speed Internet, ballrooms for meetings and events and an on-site restaurant. The Des Moines hotel is connected to the four-mile long, climate-controlled skywalk system in the city.
Highlights
  • Des Moines hotel on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Ballrooms for meetings and events
  • On-site restaurant
  • Part of the Des Moines skywalk system
Location
The Hotel Fort Des Moines is located in downtown Des Moines and is part of the skywalk system.
Rooms
The smoke-free rooms at the Hotel Fort Des Moines are modern interpretations of a historic space. Dark blue carpeting and an end-of-bed chest contrast with a bright white comforter and white sheer curtains. Free high-speed Internet, voice mail and coffee-makers are standard in guest rooms and suites. Suites also include a mini-refrigerator, a microwave and a sofa. Pets are not allowed.
Features
The pool, whirlpool and sauna at Hotel Fort Des Moines are closed for an indefinite period of time for renovations. There is a courtesy van for the downtown area and airport.
Dining
The on-site Django restaurant serves French-style food such as steak frites and duck cassoulet and has no corkage fee. Monday through Friday 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. is happy hour with $1 oysters and $5 martinis. The restaurant is open for lunch and dinner Monday through Friday and dinner on the weekends. There is also a lounge, brewpub and coffee bar at the Hotel Fort Des Moines.
Transportation
  • Des Moines International Airport (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Attractions
  • Des Moines Civic Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Science Center of Iowa (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Wells Fargo Arena and Iowa Events Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Principal Park (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • East Village (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Des Moines Botanical Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Iowa State Capitol (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Drake University (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Des Moines Art Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Iowa State Fairgrounds (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
Business
  • Event and meeting space, including ballrooms
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Business center

Hotel Map

41.5846 -93.63
Nearby airports
Des Moines Intl Airport, (DSM), 5.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Fort Des Moines also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Fort Des Moines Rooms

Executive
Small living room area with a couch TV minirefrigerator microwave and a separate bedroom with a king queen or two double beds.
Standard
Standard King - Spacious king room - one king bed. Complimentary high speed internet access desk and ergonomic desk chair. We are a non-smoking hotel.
Standard
ADA 2 Queen Beds - Spacious room - two queen beds. Wheelchair accessible with complimentary high speed internet access. We are a non-smoking hotel.
Standard
Rooms with a king queen or two queen beds.
Standard
Standard Two Queen Beds - Spacious room with 2 queen beds. Complimentary high speed internet access desk and ergonomic desk chair. We are a non-smoking hotel.
Standard
ADA 1 Queen Bed - Spacious room - one queen bed. Wheelchair accessible with complimentary high speed internet access. We are a non-smoking hotel.
Suite
King Suite - One bedroom suite - one king bed and pullout sleeper sofa in living room. Kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator. Complimentary high speed internet access desk and ergonomic desk chair. We are a non-smoking hotel.
Suite
Double Double Suite - One bedroom suite - two double beds pullout sleeper sofa in living room. Kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator. Complimentary high speed internet desk and ergonomic desk chair. We are a non-smoking hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Wet bar

Dining

DJANGO
French Cuisine without the attitude.
Raccoon River Brewing Company
features world-class ales great food and live entertainment on Friday and Saturday evening. Located on the corner of 10th and Mulberry next door to the hotel.
Alexanders Breakfast Restuarant
Breakfast Buffet with coffee shop and news stand.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Fort Des Moines

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Fort Des Moines

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iowa Hawkeye
Business
Davenport, Iowa
Nov 17, 2014

Weekend

Bed and linens are great. Great night's sleep. Some of the fixtures/electronics are a bit dated - but not a big deal as you are downtown DSM and shoudn't be staying confined in your room. Overall: Very clean. Good value. I've stayed here multiple times and will again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Django is really impressive food. Good for Room Service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Fort Des Moines

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mini mee
Business
c.r. iowa
Nov 2, 2014

no heat

heat didn't work in room so they bring me a little plug in heater.. told them I need another room this is not good and in the morning the billed me for another room.. went to the front desk and the took the bill of for another room.. needs new carpet and windows leaked bad.. good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Fort Des Moines

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hsingh
Business
Clarion
Oct 8, 2014

Old Style Hotel

It's an old style hotel, I felt bedsheets were not clean. Room is spacious. Best thing is location, all the bars and civic center are near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try Zombie Burger

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Fort Des Moines

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nollie
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Sep 22, 2014

Great stay

Recently stayed at Hotel Fort Des Moines. This is a great location and easy check in. Everything went well and the king sized bed and room were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We were pleased with the Raccoon River Brewery just down the block from the hotel, good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Fort Des Moines

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotel Fun
Business
des moines, iowa
Sep 15, 2014

great for a night stay

It was good. We had a ironing board but not iron, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Fort Des Moines

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SW Iowa Traveler
Business
Southwest Iowa
Sep 8, 2014

Sept. 2014

I stayed at Hotel Fort Des Moines for a couple of nights in September. I didn't spend much time at the hotel, so I wasn't too picky on the details. It has its good and bad points. It is a neat place to see historically, but a little different than the standard hotels that most people are used to. Depending on what you are looking for, it is satisfactory. I did have a little trouble with the door/key card when I first arrived, and had to go up to the 6th floor (I stayed on the 4th) for ice, but otherwise had no problems. They did shuttle me up to HyVee Hall, as well. If you are looking for "quaint, and historical" then you may like it, but if you are looking for your "standard" hotel, then you may be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel is downtown, but a little bit of a distance to walk up to Wells Fargo or HyVee Hall if you are headed that way. I didn't explore any other downtown areas to compare, so it may be a better location for other downtown places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Fort Des Moines

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super concert goer
Business
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Aug 22, 2014

Getaway

We were in Des Moines to see a concert so the location was great. It is a plus to have the Skywalk attached to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Fort Des Moines

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jcake
Business
Iowa
Aug 19, 2014

Girls night out

Nice location to downtown and the restaurants and bars .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Fort Des Moines

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Martron
Business
Osage, Iowa
Aug 18, 2014

Downtown hotel

Its neat that the hotel is a historic building that was renovated into a hotel but the rooms look like they're from the 80's. Our window looked into a brick wall. The first 3 floors look nice but the upper floors are creepy. Our floor had stains on the dark green carpeting. There was wallpaper. I was surprised because this hotel was rated nearly the same as the Marriott 2 blocks away but cost over $50 less. Even with the savings I still felt ripped off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Fort Des Moines

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LHurst
Business
Iowa City
Aug 18, 2014

Fort Des Moines hotel

after finding the hotel and parking all was good. there's a restaurant in the lobby that was very good value for your money and very good to the taste. I misread the reservation-tis conitinental-(for a price)not complimentary breakfast-that was not a good deal. It took a while for the hot water to start, but it's an older hotel with it's own quaint charm. They even have telephone booths in the lobby. I took a picture in one of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

review the menu in the room before going downstairs. the light was dim and it was difficult to read.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top