$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Holiday Inn Express DES MOINES-AT DRAKE UNIVERSITY

3 stars
1140 24th Street, Des Moines, IA 50311
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
23 reviews
Great option in Des Moines

This is a great economical option if you want to be close to downtown and not pay the higher... See full review

  • cul mum
  • Feb 21, 2014
Christmas family trip

Excellent location at a reasonable price. Also next to a very good restaurant See full review

  • Donald K.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Des Moines Hotel's Central Location Delivers Satisfaction Poised right in the heart of the city in an up-and-coming renaissance neighborhood, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Des Moines at Drake University is revolutionizing the contemporary travel experience. Less than 1.5 miles from downtown and seconds from major businesses and attractions, this hotel is the smart choice for a productive stay in Des Moines. The hotel's guests have no trouble accessing the vibrant campus of Drake University, which is within walking distance of the property. Major downtown businesses are just around the corner, as well. Des Moines, Iowa and all it has to offer are at your disposal from this hotel's location. Distinguished from other Des Moines hotels near Drake University, this is the only hotel actually located on campus. Other attractions, including Adventureland Amusement Park and the Iowa State Fair, are just minutes away, and they're sure to make for a memorable vacation in Des Moines. The hotel's location near Drake University, its friendly staff and the cutting-edge amenities ensure a positive experience. Guests can surf the Web using free wireless Internet access, and start each day off right at the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar. Call to reserve your room today, and "Stay Smart" in Des Moines.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express DES MOINES-AT DRAKE UNIVERSITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Drake Diner
Adjacent to hotel, casual atmosphere, bar located in Diner.
Woody's Smoke Shack
Championship BBQ and catering one block from hotel.
Cheesecake Factory
Located at the Jordan Creek Town Center.
Olive Garden
Approx. 15 minutes from hotel in West Des Moines.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express DES MOINES-AT DRAKE UNIVERSITY

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express DES MOINES-AT DRAKE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donald K.
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Christmas family trip

Excellent location at a reasonable price. Also next to a very good restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express DES MOINES-AT DRAKE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Visit Cental
Business
Minnesota
Aug 11, 2014

Drake College Visit

Booked this hotel as it was close to Drake college. The room had seen better days, stains in the bath tub on the sheets, etc. The air conditioner sounded like a jet engine making it difficult to sleep. The breakfast was good, especially the cinnamon rolls. The staff are very courteous and helpful - we had really great customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Drake Diner has really good food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express DES MOINES-AT DRAKE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim Angelino
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 25, 2014

Very convenient to Drake University

I chose this Holiday Inn Express primarily for its location. Literally across the street from Drake University and next door to the Drake Diner, It made my business at the University very easy. The staff were extremely responsive and the price was reasonable. The room was extremely clean, but there was a smell of mildew. That said, this is Iowa in the summer, and it was extremely humid. The fitness room had minimal equipment, but was better than nothing. The free breakfast offered good variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The east side of downtown Des Moines (near the state capital) has been revitalized.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express DES MOINES-AT DRAKE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katrina Von Tassel
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 27, 2014

Nice, clean place to stay

Nice staff, clean, comfortable priced appropriately. Was here for a wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express DES MOINES-AT DRAKE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lily48498
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 28, 2014

okay hotel

I had an interview at Des Moines University and I needed a hotel that was close by. This hotel is only 2 miles away from it and thus very convenient. This hotel is also very close to Drake University. You can walk to Drake. The hotel is kind of old. The carpet in the hallways and stair was dirty. The room, however, was very clean. The only complaint that I had was that the soap holder was broken. Also, the bathtub drain stopper did not work properly so I could not fill up the bathtub. The pros are that the bed were very comfortable and the hotel is in a quiet location. The breakfast was very good. A lot of variety : eggs, bagels, coffee, orange juice, muffins, yogurt etc. I liked it. Overall, this hotel is pretty good for the price. I would stay here again =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express DES MOINES-AT DRAKE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cul mum
Business
San Clemente, CA
Feb 21, 2014

Great option in Des Moines

This is a great economical option if you want to be close to downtown and not pay the higher prices. Still close and has everything you need...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express DES MOINES-AT DRAKE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathleenmarie3
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 27, 2013

Fantastic basic hotel!

We greatly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The AC worked amazingly (it was extremely hot out that weekend), the bed was super cozy, and the shower was clean and had impressively hot water impressively quickly! Sure, it's not a luxury resort, but for the money, it's great! I would definitely go back here and would recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We ordered delivery pizza from Paul Revere's Pizza upon the recommendation of the girl at the front desk- it was great, cheap, fast late night food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express DES MOINES-AT DRAKE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Drake Mom
Business
Wonder Lake, IL
Jun 26, 2012

great location for visiting Drake

visiting campus for daughters orientation. had late night activities & early morning meeting. Perfect location for both. very friendly staff & wonderful full breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express DES MOINES-AT DRAKE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wayno12345
Business
Chicago
Jun 25, 2012

Car boken into

We arrived around midnight and the desk clerk was out back smoking with what appeared to be a campus security guard. I wish he would have been there the next night when my car was one of three broken into. One was in the handicap space RIGHT in front of the lobby. The officer said the clerk didn't know how to view the security tape and little could be done. I contacted the manager and he said they couldn't do anything for us regarding the cost since we booked with Orb*tz. He credited my credit card for $50. We drove back to Chicago with plastic in the window. There was a spider in the tub, the vending machines were spotty at best and the carpet felt wet under foot. We come to Des Moines a few times a year and are staying downtown from now on. Park in that lot at your own risk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express DES MOINES-AT DRAKE UNIVERSITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Red headed H.
Business
Windy City
Jun 22, 2012

Conference

The hotel staff made this trip. They were friendly and accomodating to all my request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top