$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 20, 2015 Check-out: Mar 21, 2015

Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

3 stars
View map of 1050 6th Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50314

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
29 reviews
Awesome family trip

The first time i enter into room, i was surprised by the big, comfortable king bed and beautiful... See full review

  • JIANCHENG Z.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Awesome family trip

The first time i enter into room, i was surprised by the big, comfortable king bed and beautiful... See full review

  • JIANCHENG Z.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Downtown Des Moines hotel with free wireless, parking, airport shuttle
The Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus is located close to Mercy Medical Center and Wells Fargo Arena and Iowa Events Center. Welcome amenities include free parking, an airport shuttle service and high-speed wireless Internet access. Other perks include an indoor pool, a fitness center, an on-site restaurant and an on-site lounge. Updated bedding decorates rooms with work desks. The business center is complimentary at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus.
Highlights
  • Downtown Des Moines hotel close to Mercy Medical Center and Wells Fargo Arena and Iowa Events Center
  • Free parking, free airport shuttle and free high-speed Internet
  • On-site restaurant and bar
  • Fitness center and indoor pool
Location
The Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus is located in downtown Des Moines close to Mercy Medical Center and Wells Fargo Arena, Iowa Events Center and Des Moines Civic Center. Other attractions such as the state capitol and the East Village are nearby.
Rooms
The high-rise Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus offers rooms with updated bedding and extras such as a delivered newspaper and turndown service. Cable television with pay-per-view movies, a work desk with lamp, high-speed Internet access, and a coffee-maker are standard.
Features
An indoor pool and compact fitness center offer respite for the business or leisure traveler. The Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus features a lobby-level restaurant, Genevieve's, which serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. The specialty at Genevieve's is an 18-ounce rib eye steak with mushrooms and onions. Stop by Maroney's Lounge for complimentary appetizers and happy hour specials, Monday through Friday.
Transportation
  • Des Moines International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Attractions
  • Wells Fargo Arena and Iowa Events Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Des Moines Civic Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • East Village (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Iowa State Capitol (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
  • Des Moines Botanical Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Principal Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Science Center of Iowa (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Drake University (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Des Moines Art Center (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Iowa State Fairgrounds (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
Business
  • Eight meeting rooms and 9,892 square feet of flexible space with custom catering and free Wi-Fi access
  • A ballroom with views of the downtown skyline
  • Complimentary business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Cityscape
Guests and locals alike escape the day and enjoy the view at Cityscape which has an unparalleled view of downtown Des Moines. The Cityscape menu was developed by Executive Chef Kris Van Tuyl. .
Genevieve
When you are hungry for a fresh breakfast or savory lunch be sure to stop into Genevieve Restaurant which proudly serves classic dishes with a contemporary twist. Genevieve is at your service 6am to 1:30pm Monday through Friday and 7am to 1:30pm Saturday
Cityscape
After a long day of business or exploring Des Moines, head to our hotel's newly renovated restaurant and lounge, Cityscape. Cityscape is located on our lobby level and boasts one of a kind views of downtown Des Moines! It is the perfect place to escape th

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 29
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeeL33
Business
Brooklyn Center, MN
Aug 15, 2013

Good Location

Great location and close to DT. The big parking lot was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeeL33
Business
Brooklyn Center, MN
Aug 5, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Great location, plenty of parking and minutes from downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iamignats
Business
New York, New York
May 9, 2013

Nice Hotel

The staff was very nice- only complaint is that the kitchen closed early!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friends are Wild
Business
Waterloo, Ia
Apr 15, 2013

Nice easy access

The rooms were clean but did not like that the price did not include a continental breakfast like other Holiday Inns I stay at. I liked that it was so close to downtown and Wells Fargo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time in Iowa
Business
Arlington, VA
Nov 7, 2010

Good value in Des Moines

Hotel staff were nice; especially the hotel shuttle driver who picked me up from the airport. Very accomodating and helpful to a first timer to Iowa. Very helpful information guides, and guest services directory. Business center was nothing to brag about but functionally it was just fine. Hotel isn't too far a walk or drive from the 'main' downtown area but be warned that there isn't much commerce around the hotel itself. Hotel room itself was nice but bed wasn't too comfortable; but if you prefer a harder bed then it might be your thing. Could have just been my room but what I know is that my back wasn't feeling too good in the morning. (I traveled to another city in Iowa the next day and I didnt have this problem with the hotel I stayed in...there IS a difference!) Overall, depending on what you are coming to Des Moines for, its not exactly the Shangri La but this is a great value for/ near the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 19, 2008

well maintained

The Holiday Inn is next to the interstate but was quiet with the windows closed. It is not with-in walking distance to any restaurants. The hotel restaurant has a salad bar and a buffet that were okay. The property is well maintained and was clean. The front desk staff were not friendly and did not process my bill correctly. I had to ask for directions to my room. I only received directions to the elevator and was on my own after that. The other staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the convention center, Wells Fargo Arena and Civic Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top