$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

3 stars
1050 6th Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
27 reviews
Good Place to Stay

Room was nice and their breakfast bar was great! Employees were readily available to help you.... See full review

  • Smiffen
  • Jun 26, 2014
Brothers roadtrip.

Great hotel, only bad point was that you will wait a long time for the lifts and you cannot take... See full review

  • Burko
  • Jun 20, 2014
Downtown Des Moines hotel with free wireless, parking, airport shuttle
The Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus is located close to Mercy Medical Center and Wells Fargo Arena and Iowa Events Center. Welcome amenities include free parking, an airport shuttle service and high-speed wireless Internet access. Other perks include an indoor pool, a fitness center, an on-site restaurant and an on-site lounge. Updated bedding decorates rooms with work desks. The business center is complimentary at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus.
Highlights
  • Downtown Des Moines hotel close to Mercy Medical Center and Wells Fargo Arena and Iowa Events Center
  • Free parking, free airport shuttle and free high-speed Internet
  • On-site restaurant and bar
  • Fitness center and indoor pool
Location
The Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus is located in downtown Des Moines close to Mercy Medical Center and Wells Fargo Arena, Iowa Events Center and Des Moines Civic Center. Other attractions such as the state capitol and the East Village are nearby.
Rooms
The high-rise Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus offers rooms with updated bedding and extras such as a delivered newspaper and turndown service. Cable television with pay-per-view movies, a work desk with lamp, high-speed Internet access, and a coffee-maker are standard.
Features
An indoor pool and compact fitness center offer respite for the business or leisure traveler. The Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus features a lobby-level restaurant, Genevieve's, which serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. The specialty at Genevieve's is an 18-ounce rib eye steak with mushrooms and onions. Stop by Maroney's Lounge for complimentary appetizers and happy hour specials, Monday through Friday.
Transportation
  • Des Moines International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Attractions
  • Wells Fargo Arena and Iowa Events Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Des Moines Civic Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • East Village (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Iowa State Capitol (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
  • Des Moines Botanical Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Principal Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Science Center of Iowa (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Drake University (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Des Moines Art Center (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Iowa State Fairgrounds (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
Business
  • Eight meeting rooms and 9,892 square feet of flexible space with custom catering and free Wi-Fi access
  • A ballroom with views of the downtown skyline
  • Complimentary business center

Hotel Map

41.5968 -93.6265
Nearby airports
Des Moines International Airport, (DSM), 5.30, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Cityscape
Guests and locals alike escape the day and enjoy the view at Cityscape which has an unparalleled view of downtown Des Moines. The Cityscape menu was developed by Executive Chef Kris Van Tuyl. .
Genevieve
When you are hungry for a fresh breakfast or savory lunch be sure to stop into Genevieve Restaurant which proudly serves classic dishes with a contemporary twist. Genevieve is at your service 6am to 1:30pm Monday through Friday and 7am to 1:30pm Saturday
Cityscape
After a long day of business or exploring Des Moines, head to our hotel's newly renovated restaurant and lounge, Cityscape. Cityscape is located on our lobby level and boasts one of a kind views of downtown Des Moines! It is the perfect place to escape th

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 27
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4
Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smiffen
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 26, 2014

Good Place to Stay

Room was nice and their breakfast bar was great! Employees were readily available to help you. Overall, great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Prairie Girl 1949
Business
Sioux Falls SD
Feb 4, 2013

Major disappointment

I don't know where to start. The only good thing I can say about this stay was that the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. However, we put up with a party up above us until midnight. It might have been a wedding reception, or something, but it was loud and annoying. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet sounded like it was dying every time it was flushed. The hot water faucets shut off backwards both at the sink and in the shower. The hallways, hotel lobby, and walkway to the underground parking were down right dirty. Front desk person was sloppy and had to have help in getting us checked in. I would definitely not recommend this particular Holiday Inn to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MrsQueen
Business
Iowa Falls, IA
Jul 23, 2012

Great place

Very nice place. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice room. Bad pillows--lumpy. Didn't get NBC station on tv, which is all I watch. Close to Mercy Heart Center. No breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far from all downtown restaurants and bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ram and Dana
Business
Clinton, IA
Jun 30, 2010

Moody Blues Night

We were in town to attend a concert at the Civic Center. Everything about the experience was ABOVE expectation: our room was HUGE, clean and accomodating. We were offered FREE shuttle service downtown to and from the concert (before 11pm). The front desk staff at CHECK IN was VERY friendly ([...]) and offered suggestions as to where to dine for dinner (Cord Avenue Brewing Co.). Our meal was AMAZING!!!! (GREAT JOB, [...]!) The ONLY unhappiness we found was the 2 encounters with the (female) bartender (manager??), and the CHECK OUT gal at the front desk. Bartender: There was nobody in the bar area for several min when we arrived shortly after 4pm. Upon her return, we tried to joke with her, however, she didn't find us amusing. We left and came back after the concert. The shuttle picked us up 10:45pm and said that the bar was PACKED, so we were up for more fun. When we walked in, she was unfriendly AGAIN as if she didn't want to be there. We took our drinks back to our room. The other item - front desk girl at check out: on check out day, my fiance called down to find out how late breakfast was served and the female that answered said, "10:30" and hung up on him. She was better when I checked out of the hotel, but I felt that was HORRIBLE customer service on the phone...esp since we were already guests!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top