$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

3 stars
1050 6th Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
29 reviews
Awesome family trip

The first time i enter into room, i was surprised by the big, comfortable king bed and beautiful... See full review

  • JIANCHENG Z.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Awesome family trip

The first time i enter into room, i was surprised by the big, comfortable king bed and beautiful... See full review

  • JIANCHENG Z.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Hotel in Des Moines Near Mercy Medical Center Welcome to the updated Holiday Inn® Des Moines - Downtown - Mercy Campus hotel. Our downtown Des Moines hotel's location is close to the biggest attractions in town. Business guests appreciate being near The Civic Center of Des Moines, state offices, the Capitol and local businesses. More than that, having free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a complimentary business center makes it easy to stay productive. Add in free parking and airport shuttle service and you'll see why our hotel is the best for Des Moines business travelers. Since we're close to the Iowa Events Center, we're the best choice among downtown Des Moines, IA hotels for leisure travelers. Our vibrant city offers a wealth of things to do, and our dedicated staff can offer suggestions and directions to the historic Court Avenue District, East Village and the popular Pappajohn Sculpture Garden nearby in Western Gateway Park. No matter what brings you to our hotel, our Des Moines staff is ready to make your stay memorable. From free parking to a fitness center and indoor pool, your stay is stress-free. Enjoy a nightcap or a delicious meal in our newly renovated lounge, Cityscape. Our rooms offer an oasis of comfort with fresh, updated style and amenities, and stunning views. Make your next visit to downtown Des Moines, IA a pleasure. Our hotel's staff is looking forward to your visit.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Cityscape
Guests and locals alike escape the day and enjoy the view at Cityscape which has an unparalleled view of downtown Des Moines. The Cityscape menu was developed by Executive Chef Kris Van Tuyl. .
Genevieve
When you are hungry for a fresh breakfast or savory lunch be sure to stop into Genevieve Restaurant which proudly serves classic dishes with a contemporary twist. Genevieve is at your service 6am to 1:30pm Monday through Friday and 7am to 1:30pm Saturday
Cityscape
After a long day of business or exploring Des Moines, head to our hotel's newly renovated restaurant and lounge, Cityscape. Cityscape is located on our lobby level and boasts one of a kind views of downtown Des Moines! It is the perfect place to escape th

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Prairie Girl 1949
Business
Sioux Falls SD
Feb 4, 2013

Major disappointment

I don't know where to start. The only good thing I can say about this stay was that the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. However, we put up with a party up above us until midnight. It might have been a wedding reception, or something, but it was loud and annoying. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet sounded like it was dying every time it was flushed. The hot water faucets shut off backwards both at the sink and in the shower. The hallways, hotel lobby, and walkway to the underground parking were down right dirty. Front desk person was sloppy and had to have help in getting us checked in. I would definitely not recommend this particular Holiday Inn to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dam to Dam Runner
Business
Iowa
Jun 1, 2009

Close to downtown for Dam to Dam Race

The hotel is walking distance from downtown. Parking garage has easy access to the hotel. The pool was very warm and pretty big.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lady Grey
Business
Northern Lower, Michigan
Oct 11, 2011

Great location to visit with my son...

Just be sure to ask what events are going on while you are there. The wedding reception on the top floor had VERY LOUD music. I was on the 8th floor. Not sure if the reception was on the 10th or 11th floor. The front desk said the music would be off at midnight. It was 11PM when I called to say I can understand the lyrics to the song they were singing, 2 or 3 floors down from the event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friends are Wild
Business
Waterloo, Ia
Apr 15, 2013

Nice easy access

The rooms were clean but did not like that the price did not include a continental breakfast like other Holiday Inns I stay at. I liked that it was so close to downtown and Wells Fargo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gordon Ipson
Business
Hannibal, Missouri
May 6, 2013

Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines

It was clean, but somewaht difficult to regulate the temperature. The hotel is in a good location for the meetings I was attending..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caucus goer
Business
DC
Jan 15, 2014

Location, location, location

Just a few blocks from downtown Des Moines, the location doesn't get any better. Wish the restaurant and bars were open longer, and the rattling sound in the elevators doesn't inspire a lot of confidence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marky D
Business
New York City
Nov 8, 2009

Nice enough, but convenient only to hosp

Ask for a room not on the side facing the highway. It's noisy there (and I live in Midtown Manhattan, so you know that when the noise bothers me, it's BAD). It's also not convenient to much except Mercy hosptial. But the fitness center is pretty good...much better than you expect of a Holiday Inn (or comparable hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottumwa, IA
Jun 19, 2010

Weekend vacation

Not a bad hotel, but not really walking distance to downtown, a cab ride will cost you about $6 each way to get to Court Ave. There are closer hotels for about the same money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amanda Weekender
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 9, 2014

Average Stay, not ideal location but GREAT STAFF

Room was small, ordinary. Location was sketchy; took us out of our comfort zone. Did not feel safe outside at night. Hostess was friendly, cheerful, and chatty. She directed us to the shuttle that would take us downtown (for free). Shuttle experience was outstanding. The driver was dedicated to making sure that we made it not only to downtown, but also offered to take us location to location after we were already downtown. I feel like I overpaid for the room, but there were several events in town at the time that may have inflated the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iamignats
Business
New York, New York
May 9, 2013

Nice Hotel

The staff was very nice- only complaint is that the kitchen closed early!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top