$115 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

3 stars
1050 6TH AVENUE, DES MOINES, IA 50314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
36 reviews
Good Place to Stay

Room was nice and their breakfast bar was great! Employees were readily available to help you.... See full review

  • Smiffen
  • Jun 26, 2014
Brothers roadtrip.

Great hotel, only bad point was that you will wait a long time for the lifts and you cannot take... See full review

  • Burko
  • Jun 20, 2014
Downtown Des Moines hotel with free wireless, parking, airport shuttle
The Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus is located close to Mercy Medical Center and Wells Fargo Arena and Iowa Events Center. Welcome amenities include free parking, an airport shuttle service and high-speed wireless Internet access. Other perks include an indoor pool, a fitness center, an on-site restaurant and an on-site lounge. Updated bedding decorates rooms with work desks. The business center is complimentary at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus.
Highlights
  • Downtown Des Moines hotel close to Mercy Medical Center and Wells Fargo Arena and Iowa Events Center
  • Free parking, free airport shuttle and free high-speed Internet
  • On-site restaurant and bar
  • Fitness center and indoor pool
Location
The Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus is located in downtown Des Moines close to Mercy Medical Center and Wells Fargo Arena, Iowa Events Center and Des Moines Civic Center. Other attractions such as the state capitol and the East Village are nearby.
Rooms
The high-rise Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus offers rooms with updated bedding and extras such as a delivered newspaper and turndown service. Cable television with pay-per-view movies, a work desk with lamp, high-speed Internet access, and a coffee-maker are standard.
Features
An indoor pool and compact fitness center offer respite for the business or leisure traveler. The Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Mercy Campus features a lobby-level restaurant, Genevieve's, which serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. The specialty at Genevieve's is an 18-ounce rib eye steak with mushrooms and onions. Stop by Maroney's Lounge for complimentary appetizers and happy hour specials, Monday through Friday.
Transportation
  • Des Moines International Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Attractions
  • Wells Fargo Arena and Iowa Events Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Des Moines Civic Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • East Village (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Iowa State Capitol (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
  • Des Moines Botanical Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Principal Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Science Center of Iowa (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Drake University (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Des Moines Art Center (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Iowa State Fairgrounds (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
Business
  • Eight meeting rooms and 9,892 square feet of flexible space with custom catering and free Wi-Fi access
  • A ballroom with views of the downtown skyline
  • Complimentary business center

Hotel Map

41.5968 -93.6265
Nearby airports
Des Moines International Airport, (DSM), 5.30, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Cityscape
Guests and locals alike escape the day and enjoy the view at Cityscape which has an unparalleled view of downtown Des Moines. The Cityscape menu was developed by Executive Chef Kris Van Tuyl. .
Genevieve
When you are hungry for a fresh breakfast or savory lunch be sure to stop into Genevieve Restaurant which proudly serves classic dishes with a contemporary twist. Genevieve is at your service 6am to 1:30pm Monday through Friday and 7am to 1:30pm Saturday
Cityscape
After a long day of business or exploring Des Moines, head to our hotel's newly renovated restaurant and lounge, Cityscape. Cityscape is located on our lobby level and boasts one of a kind views of downtown Des Moines! It is the perfect place to escape th

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friends are Wild
Waterloo, Ia
Apr 15, 2013

Nice easy access

The rooms were clean but did not like that the price did not include a continental breakfast like other Holiday Inns I stay at. I liked that it was so close to downtown and Wells Fargo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown

Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Prairie Girl 1949
Sioux Falls SD
Feb 4, 2013

Major disappointment

I don't know where to start. The only good thing I can say about this stay was that the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. However, we put up with a party up above us until midnight. It might have been a wedding reception, or something, but it was loud and annoying. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet sounded like it was dying every time it was flushed. The hot water faucets shut off backwards both at the sink and in the shower. The hallways, hotel lobby, and walkway to the underground parking were down right dirty. Front desk person was sloppy and had to have help in getting us checked in. I would definitely not recommend this particular Holiday Inn to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MrsQueen
Iowa Falls, IA
Jul 23, 2012

Great place

Very nice place. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice room. Bad pillows--lumpy. Didn't get NBC station on tv, which is all I watch. Close to Mercy Heart Center. No breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far from all downtown restaurants and bars.

Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lady Grey
Northern Lower, Michigan
Oct 11, 2011

Great location to visit with my son...

Just be sure to ask what events are going on while you are there. The wedding reception on the top floor had VERY LOUD music. I was on the 8th floor. Not sure if the reception was on the 10th or 11th floor. The front desk said the music would be off at midnight. It was 11PM when I called to say I can understand the lyrics to the song they were singing, 2 or 3 floors down from the event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Benton, Arkansas
Dec 9, 2010

Great Location

This hotel is so wonderful- due to its location, it is an easy walk to the Mercy Medical but a shuttle is available. Also, the shuttle to the airport was quick and easy, with the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. My view from the 8th was great!. The food both in the restaurant and room service was fast, delicious, especially the scones at breakfast. Totally enjoyed my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Benton, Arkansas
Dec 9, 2010

Great Location

This hotel is so wonderful- due to its location, it is an easy walk to the Mercy Medical but a shuttle is available. Also, the shuttle to the airport was quick and easy, with the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. My view from the 8th was great!. The food both in the restaurant and room service was fast, delicious, especially the scones at breakfast. Totally enjoyed my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time in Iowa
Arlington, VA
Nov 7, 2010

Good value in Des Moines

Hotel staff were nice; especially the hotel shuttle driver who picked me up from the airport. Very accomodating and helpful to a first timer to Iowa. Very helpful information guides, and guest services directory. Business center was nothing to brag about but functionally it was just fine. Hotel isn't too far a walk or drive from the 'main' downtown area but be warned that there isn't much commerce around the hotel itself. Hotel room itself was nice but bed wasn't too comfortable; but if you prefer a harder bed then it might be your thing. Could have just been my room but what I know is that my back wasn't feeling too good in the morning. (I traveled to another city in Iowa the next day and I didnt have this problem with the hotel I stayed in...there IS a difference!) Overall, depending on what you are coming to Des Moines for, its not exactly the Shangri La but this is a great value for/ near the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time in Iowa
Arlington, VA
Nov 7, 2010

Good value in Des Moines

Hotel staff were nice; especially the hotel shuttle driver who picked me up from the airport. Very accomodating and helpful to a first timer to Iowa. Very helpful information guides, and guest services directory. Business center was nothing to brag about but functionally it was just fine. Hotel isn't too far a walk or drive from the 'main' downtown area but be warned that there isn't much commerce around the hotel itself. Hotel room itself was nice but bed wasn't too comfortable; but if you prefer a harder bed then it might be your thing. Could have just been my room but what I know is that my back wasn't feeling too good in the morning. (I traveled to another city in Iowa the next day and I didnt have this problem with the hotel I stayed in...there IS a difference!) Overall, depending on what you are coming to Des Moines for, its not exactly the Shangri La but this is a great value for/ near the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maliyah's Nani
El Sobrante, CA
Jul 31, 2010

The good, the bad, and the ugly

Too close to freeway entrance/exit-traffic noise. Too close to hospital-heard sirens most of the night; Had to sleep with TV on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maliyah's Nani
El Sobrante, CA
Jul 31, 2010

The good, the bad, and the ugly

Too close to freeway entrance/exit-traffic noise. Too close to hospital-heard sirens most of the night; Had to sleep with TV on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top