$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

3 stars
View map of 1050 6th Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50314

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caucus goer
Business
DC
Jan 15, 2014

Location, location, location

Just a few blocks from downtown Des Moines, the location doesn't get any better. Wish the restaurant and bars were open longer, and the rattling sound in the elevators doesn't inspire a lot of confidence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeeL33
Business
Brooklyn Center, MN
Aug 15, 2013

Good Location

Great location and close to DT. The big parking lot was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeeL33
Business
Brooklyn Center, MN
Aug 5, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Great location, plenty of parking and minutes from downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iamignats
Business
New York, New York
May 9, 2013

Nice Hotel

The staff was very nice- only complaint is that the kitchen closed early!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gordon Ipson
Business
Hannibal, Missouri
May 6, 2013

Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines

It was clean, but somewaht difficult to regulate the temperature. The hotel is in a good location for the meetings I was attending..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friends are Wild
Business
Waterloo, Ia
Apr 15, 2013

Nice easy access

The rooms were clean but did not like that the price did not include a continental breakfast like other Holiday Inns I stay at. I liked that it was so close to downtown and Wells Fargo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown

Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Prairie Girl 1949
Business
Sioux Falls SD
Feb 4, 2013

Major disappointment

I don't know where to start. The only good thing I can say about this stay was that the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. However, we put up with a party up above us until midnight. It might have been a wedding reception, or something, but it was loud and annoying. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet sounded like it was dying every time it was flushed. The hot water faucets shut off backwards both at the sink and in the shower. The hallways, hotel lobby, and walkway to the underground parking were down right dirty. Front desk person was sloppy and had to have help in getting us checked in. I would definitely not recommend this particular Holiday Inn to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MrsQueen
Business
Iowa Falls, IA
Jul 23, 2012

Great place

Very nice place. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice room. Bad pillows--lumpy. Didn't get NBC station on tv, which is all I watch. Close to Mercy Heart Center. No breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far from all downtown restaurants and bars.

Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lady Grey
Business
Northern Lower, Michigan
Oct 11, 2011

Great location to visit with my son...

Just be sure to ask what events are going on while you are there. The wedding reception on the top floor had VERY LOUD music. I was on the 8th floor. Not sure if the reception was on the 10th or 11th floor. The front desk said the music would be off at midnight. It was 11PM when I called to say I can understand the lyrics to the song they were singing, 2 or 3 floors down from the event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Benton, Arkansas
Dec 9, 2010

Great Location

This hotel is so wonderful- due to its location, it is an easy walk to the Mercy Medical but a shuttle is available. Also, the shuttle to the airport was quick and easy, with the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. My view from the 8th was great!. The food both in the restaurant and room service was fast, delicious, especially the scones at breakfast. Totally enjoyed my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top