$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

3 stars
1050 6th Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
29 reviews
Awesome family trip

The first time i enter into room, i was surprised by the big, comfortable king bed and beautiful... See full review

  • JIANCHENG Z.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Awesome family trip

The first time i enter into room, i was surprised by the big, comfortable king bed and beautiful... See full review

  • JIANCHENG Z.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Hotel in Des Moines Near Mercy Medical Center Welcome to the updated Holiday Inn® Des Moines - Downtown - Mercy Campus hotel. Our downtown Des Moines hotel's location is close to the biggest attractions in town. Business guests appreciate being near The Civic Center of Des Moines, state offices, the Capitol and local businesses. More than that, having free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a complimentary business center makes it easy to stay productive. Add in free parking and airport shuttle service and you'll see why our hotel is the best for Des Moines business travelers. Since we're close to the Iowa Events Center, we're the best choice among downtown Des Moines, IA hotels for leisure travelers. Our vibrant city offers a wealth of things to do, and our dedicated staff can offer suggestions and directions to the historic Court Avenue District, East Village and the popular Pappajohn Sculpture Garden nearby in Western Gateway Park. No matter what brings you to our hotel, our Des Moines staff is ready to make your stay memorable. From free parking to a fitness center and indoor pool, your stay is stress-free. Enjoy a nightcap or a delicious meal in our newly renovated lounge, Cityscape. Our rooms offer an oasis of comfort with fresh, updated style and amenities, and stunning views. Make your next visit to downtown Des Moines, IA a pleasure. Our hotel's staff is looking forward to your visit.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Cityscape
Guests and locals alike escape the day and enjoy the view at Cityscape which has an unparalleled view of downtown Des Moines. The Cityscape menu was developed by Executive Chef Kris Van Tuyl. .
Genevieve
When you are hungry for a fresh breakfast or savory lunch be sure to stop into Genevieve Restaurant which proudly serves classic dishes with a contemporary twist. Genevieve is at your service 6am to 1:30pm Monday through Friday and 7am to 1:30pm Saturday
Cityscape
After a long day of business or exploring Des Moines, head to our hotel's newly renovated restaurant and lounge, Cityscape. Cityscape is located on our lobby level and boasts one of a kind views of downtown Des Moines! It is the perfect place to escape th

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Benton, Arkansas
Dec 9, 2010

Great Location

This hotel is so wonderful- due to its location, it is an easy walk to the Mercy Medical but a shuttle is available. Also, the shuttle to the airport was quick and easy, with the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. My view from the 8th was great!. The food both in the restaurant and room service was fast, delicious, especially the scones at breakfast. Totally enjoyed my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JIANCHENG Z.
Business
NANJING
Dec 23, 2014

Awesome family trip

The first time i enter into room, i was surprised by the big, comfortable king bed and beautiful city scenery which seeing through the window. Additional, the location is pretty close to the downtown. I enjoy this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JIANCHENG Z.
Business
NANJING
Dec 22, 2014

Awesome family trip

The first time i enter into room, i was surprised by the big, comfortable king bed and beautiful city scenery which seeing through the window. Additional, the location is pretty close to the downtown. I enjoy this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
white22
Business
St Peter, MN
Sep 8, 2014

Had a great stay!

Room was clean and staff including housekeeping was friendly. Took advantage of their free shuttle (big plus).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free Shuttle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GeorgyO
Business
Ft. Lauderdale
Jun 29, 2014

Typical Holiday Inn Quality

It was a normal stay. Not much time to use amenities. The food was good. Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smiffen
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 26, 2014

Good Place to Stay

Room was nice and their breakfast bar was great! Employees were readily available to help you. Overall, great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Burko
Business
Ireland
Jun 20, 2014

Brothers roadtrip.

Great hotel, only bad point was that you will wait a long time for the lifts and you cannot take the stairs down, you get stuck on the first floor! The shuttle bus driver was a great dude, helpful funny and good craic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Spaghetti Works!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Concert Go to Go
Business
Iowa
Jun 11, 2014

Great concert location.

Stayed one night in order to attend a concert at the Wells Fargo Arena. Great location! Walked just a few blocks to and from the event. Was able to avoid parking hassles and bottle-necked traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amanda Weekender
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 9, 2014

Average Stay, not ideal location but GREAT STAFF

Room was small, ordinary. Location was sketchy; took us out of our comfort zone. Did not feel safe outside at night. Hostess was friendly, cheerful, and chatty. She directed us to the shuttle that would take us downtown (for free). Shuttle experience was outstanding. The driver was dedicated to making sure that we made it not only to downtown, but also offered to take us location to location after we were already downtown. I feel like I overpaid for the room, but there were several events in town at the time that may have inflated the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caucus goer
Business
DC
Jan 15, 2014

Location, location, location

Just a few blocks from downtown Des Moines, the location doesn't get any better. Wish the restaurant and bars were open longer, and the rattling sound in the elevators doesn't inspire a lot of confidence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DOWNTOWN- MERCY AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeeL33
Business
Brooklyn Center, MN
Aug 15, 2013

Good Location

Great location and close to DT. The big parking lot was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top