$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Fairgrounds

2 stars
410 E. 30th Street, Des Moines, IA 50317
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
5 reviews
My review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Fairgrounds

This is a brand new hotel, very clean as it should be. The vanity is small but seperate from the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 13, 2007
Great Value!

My daughter attends Drake University. I found this hotel during her second semester. It's my... See full review

  • AllTheGoodNamesAreTaken
  • Jul 14, 2012
Hotel has a 100% smoke free environment. Experience the Econo Lodge Inn and Suites, Des Moines newest hotel located adjacent to the Iowa State Fairgrounds and only minutes from downtown Des Moines and the Iowa Event and Hy-Vee Center. All rooms have coffee makers, hair dryers, 27 inch TV and clock radio. Hotel features free continental breakfast, heated indoor pool and hot tub, free high-speed Internet, and elevator. This is a pet-friendly hotel. Pet policy, 25.00 per pet, per stay. Pet limit, pets under 30 lbs/Max 2 pets per room. The hotel pool will be closed for repairs and repainting from November 10, 2014 to December 15, 2014 We are very sorry for the inconvenience.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (5)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Fairgrounds

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.6

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sidecar Gma
Business
Iowa
Nov 12, 2012

Satisfactory if not expecting something special

The location would have been great if we were staying during the Iowa State Fair. Unfortunately, we were there for an event held downtown Des Moines. The room was very plain, but clean. The most notable signs of age/wear were the torn shower curtain and screw holes in the top of the chest of drawers where a previous TV had been fastened. Room temperature was easily regulated. The breakfast was good, though there were not enough tables for the size of the facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You are pretty limited to fast food places and diners in this neighborhood. it is about 35 blocks to much of a selection of restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AllTheGoodNamesAreTaken
Business
USA
Jul 14, 2012

Great Value!

My daughter attends Drake University. I found this hotel during her second semester. It's my lodging of choice in Des Moines. It's fairly convenient, comfortable and I feel safe there. They have a rotating room remodel program - I think each floor gets re-done every three years (it's three floors). It's the best kept secret in Des Moines for value priced lodging!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deceived
Business
South Dakota
Jan 24, 2011

VERY NOISY!!

We stayed two nights. We walked into the lobby and there was dog poop all over the lobby floor. There was no one at the desk. We had to wait for someone to show up. The room was okay but the hallways were very cold. The first night we got little sleep because there was someone running around and jumping in the room over us until 2:30AM. There was also someone who played their TV very loudy all night long. I called the front desk to report both of these but nothing was done about it. The second night there were a bunch of drunk guys yelling in the hallway at 4 AM. I called and they did come up and ask them to quite down. They didn't until about 5AM. Not much help. Good luck with your night's sleep if you go to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
Nov 9, 2009

no good

the bed sqeeked so loud you cant sleep on them the light bulbs were burnt out in our room as well as the pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 13, 2007

My review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Fairgrounds

This is a brand new hotel, very clean as it should be. The vanity is small but seperate from the bathroom. You will have to go through the T.V. chanels and write them down as there is not a station list in the room. They were short on staff but even after long hours the staff was still very friendly and helpful. The only thing I can complain about is I was there on business and they gave me a handicap room which I did not ask for. Handicap rooms do not have a desk or table therefore I had to try to do work on the bed which was very uncomfortable. In the future I will be sure to request not to have this type of room. There are fast food near by on University Ave,nice restraunts a couple of miles from the hotel, convience store down the street for your gas and snacks,and a Cigarette Outlet around the corner for all of your adult drinking supplies. The fair grounds are right across the street, the Casino, race track and Adventure Land amusement are just a few miles away. I will be staying in this hotel again for business but would also stay for pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top