$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Des Moines Marriott Downtown

3 stars
700 Grand Avenue, 700 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
30 reviews
Pick a business hotel for a great weekend

We wanted a hotel that was in downtown Des Moines since we were attending an event. The rate at the... See full review

  • Greatmama572
  • Apr 21, 2014
Wedding

THe hotel was wonderful. From the time I pulled into the valet parking until I left the hotel to... See full review

  • puddinhead
  • Oct 1, 2013
Large downtown Des Moines hotel with business and leisure amenities
The 33-floor Des Moines Marriott Downtown offers 411 guest rooms, six luxury suites and 15 meeting rooms. The skywalk system connects the hotel with other downtown businesses. High-end amenities include an on-site barber, 24-hour sundry shop, Starbucks kiosk, complimentary high-speed Internet access in public areas and free airport transportation. The on-site Rock River Tavern and Grill serves breakfast and lunch while the City Center Lounge serves dinner and signature cocktails. There is a fully equipped health club, indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Highlights
  • Large business-friendly hotel with 417 modern guest rooms and 15 meeting rooms
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access in public areas and available for a fee in guest rooms
  • On-site barber and Starbucks kiosk
  • Two On-site restaurants
  • Fully equipped health club, indoor pool and Jacuzzi
Location
The Des Moines Marriott Downtown is located in downtown Des Moines is situated near the capitol and is connected by skywalk to the Iowa Events Center and Wells Fargo Arena. The neighborhood has restaurants, shops and bars.
Rooms
The 417 rooms at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown are 325 square feet with a king bed or two double beds (625 square feet for suites). All come with pillow-top mattress, duvet and Frette luxury linens. A desk and coffee-maker are standard, and most have an oversized chair. Pets allowed (fees apply, call for details).
Features
Valet parking is available at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown. Self-parking is available on the street or at adjacent city parking garages. Public areas have complimentary wireless Internet and rooms include hard-wired access (fees apply). Guests using the fitness center enjoy cardio equipment, elliptical trainers, treadmills and a stairmaster. Relax at the indoor pool or Jacuzzi.
Dining
The on-site Rock River Tavern and Grill serves American classics. Breakfast includes omelets, pancakes and French toast. Lunch buffets are served Monday through Friday. Soups, salads, sandwiches burgers and entrees make up the dinner menu at the City Center Lounge on site. 
Transportation
  • Des Moines International Airport (4.8 mi/7.8 km)
  • Complimentary Airport shuttle is available
Attractions
  • Wells Fargo Arena and Iowa Events Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Des Moines Civic Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Science Center of Iowa (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Principal Park (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • East Village (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Des Moines Botanical Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Iowa State Capitol (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Drake University (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Des Moines Art Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Blank Park Zoo (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
Business

  • 15 meeting rooms
  • High-speed wireless and wired Internet (fees apply)
  • Located in downtown business district and the skywalk system

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Des Moines Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Rock River Grill & Tavern
Indulge all of your senses with a distinctive dining experience featuring an innovative menu of American Grill cuisine.
City Center Lounge
The City Center Lounge, located in the Great Room at the Des Moines Marriott, offers a casual experience, catering to hotel guests as well as local downtown businesses and neighborhood clientele. Enjoy a cocktail or a bite to eat.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greatmama572
Business
Oskaloosa, IA
Apr 21, 2014

Pick a business hotel for a great weekend

We wanted a hotel that was in downtown Des Moines since we were attending an event. The rate at the Marriott was much better than I expected and I hadn't stated there in years, so we selected it. The rooms were very nice, beds were super comfy, and we had a great view from the 22nd floor. Since it was a weekend, they were pretty empty and my kids were thrilled to have the pool all to themselves. We will be going to Des Moines again next month and will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
puddinhead
Business
Chicago, Il
Oct 1, 2013

Wedding

THe hotel was wonderful. From the time I pulled into the valet parking until I left the hotel to return to Chicago. The room was beautiful and clean. The staff was great and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RickyLM
Business
Des Moines Ia
Jan 14, 2013

Heating system

All was good except for the noisy furnace fan going on and off through the night. Not much sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WillFulmer1
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 29, 2012

Good hotel, bleh food and non working TV

Needed a hotel for the night in Des Moines. Marriott is usually a trustworthy chain. The bed couldn't have been more comfortable and both room and bathroom were clean. It was a Monday night and I went to eat by the lobby bar, as it was the only thing open after a long day. The food was pretty poor quality. Hummus which was extremely dry and tasteless and a turkey club which was relatively tasteless. After settling into my room to finish watching Monday Night Football, I realized my TV had many channels that were not functioning properly, including 21, ESPN. Oh well, I turned off the light and went to sleep and called it a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rbames102
Business
Ames, IA
Oct 29, 2012

A little better than average

Very clean room, friendly staff. Good location within walking distance of lots of nice restaurants and bars. Nice indoor pool. The hotel's own bar area across from the reception desk is an unacceptable arrangement as it's full of exhaust fumes from vehicles just outside the door--I couldn't stay more than 10 minutes because of the fumes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin with kids
Business
Madison
May 14, 2012

Nice pool space

Comfortable beds. Lovely pool with towels available. Wish there had been at least enough coffee for two cups. Room was clean. Bathroom is small but has a nice shower head. Missed having a mini fridge. Comfy reading chair and little table. Only complaint is that doors in the hall latch so loudly that they kept waking me p because I thought someone was opening and closing our door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Farmers market downtown on Saturday's has lots of great breakfast options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve3210
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Oct 3, 2011

very happy

overall the experience was great with the following exceptions: the mattress was pretty hard and the elevators were really slow at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Galena,il
May 22, 2011

Great Family stay

It was an easy location to get to. The staff were real nice and helpful My wife left something in the car that they had parked for us and the staff member ran to the car and retrieved the item plus my wifes cell phone which she had also left in the car. The kids had a great time in the pool and wanted to stay extra day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alhambra, CA
Jan 31, 2011

Fine

The best experience was the sandwich in the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JeepDon
Business
Las Vegas NV
Jan 27, 2011

Clean, quiet, friedly.

With its central SkyWalk attached location, this was a high value stay. Great restaurant and fairly recently-remodeled rooms were huge plusses and I'd definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top