$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

2 stars
4845 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322-1966
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
36 reviews
Great, as always!

Been staying here off and on for the past year and always have a decent stay. Clean and friendly,... See full review

  • DMA1974
  • Apr 12, 2013
They remembered me...

My experience was a good one. I didn't need total luxury, just a room for a night. However my stay... See full review

  • majesticbob
  • Sep 4, 2011
Budget Des Moines hotel offers free breakfast, Wi-Fi, on-site lounge
The Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay offers convenient access to Interstate 35 and is near several restaurants and shopping. The budget hotel offers free Wi-Fi, in-room coffee-makers and expanded cable with HBO. Other perks include the free continental breakfast, an indoor pool, a whirlpool, a game room and on-site Derry's Lounge Bar open until 2 a.m. Parking is free at Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay.
Highlights
  • Des Moines hotel near Interstate 35, restaurants and shopping
  • Free Wi-Fi and expanded cable with HBO
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • On-site Derry's Lounge Bar
Location
The Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay offers convenient access to Interstate 35 and is near several restaurants and shopping. The hotel is about a 15-minute drive from downtown Des Moines.
Rooms
The interior-corridor rooms at the Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay include queen rooms with a microwave and refrigerator, king rooms, and two queen rooms. All have a cable television with HBO, free high-speed wireless Internet and in-room coffee-makers. Pets are not allowed.
Features
Start the morning off right with the free deluxe continental breakfast at Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay. An indoor pool and whirlpool (7 a.m. to 10 p.m.) sweeten your stay. Derry's Lounge Bar is open from 5 p.m. to 2 a.m., and there are several nearby restaurants.
Transportation
  • Des Moines International Airport (10.6 mi/17.1 km)
Attractions
  • Des Moines Art Center (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Drake University (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Des Moines Botanical Center (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Wells Fargo Arena and Iowa Events Center (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Jordan House (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
  • Des Moines Civic Center (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Science Center of Iowa (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Principal Park (8.3 mi/13.3 km)
  • Iowa State Capitol (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Iowa State Fairgrounds (11.2 mi/18 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

41.6485 -93.6962
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
majesticbob
Indiana
Sep 4, 2011

They remembered me...

My experience was a good one. I didn't need total luxury, just a room for a night. However my stay was going to be another night and in asking for a room, they knew who I was, helped me out to get another room and even when I finally checked out, they knew treated me like family in knowing that I was special ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Webster City IA
Apr 21, 2010

weekend getaway

It was fast and friendly. could check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMA1974
Business
Kansas City
Apr 12, 2013

Great, as always!

Been staying here off and on for the past year and always have a decent stay. Clean and friendly, close to where I need to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manitowoc, WI
Aug 19, 2010

A Good Inexpensive Stay!

We were in town moving our son into Drake University and Days' Inn provided a restful place to stay during that process. Further, the price was right and breakfast was included. The orange juice was a bit watery but everything else was top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saco, Maine
Jun 13, 2011

Affordable and convenient

obviously an older motel but had new carpeting, was clean and had all the necessary amenities (ie. microwave, fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, etc.) Location was perfect for attending the NCAA nationals track and field meet at Drake University. Would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manitowoc, WI
Sep 26, 2010

Comfortable Low Priced Accommodations

Visiting Drake University for Parents' Weekend and found the hotel to be a comfortable and reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area that had raised their prices just because it was Parents' Weekend. Will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Many shopping opportunities nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas
May 10, 2009

Great location and easy to find!

Friendly people and easy to find this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen Momof6
Omaha, Nebraska
Sep 10, 2012

Short family vacation

Breakfast was great! Staff was friendly and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grmaredhead
NW Iowa
Aug 8, 2011

convenient location and easy to find

slept and ate and traveled to other suburbs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mst501
St Paul, MN
Aug 25, 2010

Decent place to stay

It was a decent hotel to stay. Our room was clean, staff were friendly, and we enjoyed swimming in the pool. A/C was a little noisy. It was a budget hotel, and it met our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Adventureland and Blank Park Zoo were both fun!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search