$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 14, 2015

Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

2 stars
View map of 4845 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322-1966

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
36 reviews
They remembered me...

My experience was a good one. I didn't need total luxury, just a room for a night. However my stay... See full review

  • majesticbob
  • Sep 4, 2011
weekend getaway

It was fast and friendly. could check in early. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 21, 2010
Budget Des Moines hotel offers free breakfast, Wi-Fi, on-site lounge
The Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay offers convenient access to Interstate 35 and is near several restaurants and shopping. The budget hotel offers free Wi-Fi, in-room coffee-makers and expanded cable with HBO. Other perks include the free continental breakfast, an indoor pool, a whirlpool, a game room and on-site Derry's Lounge Bar open until 2 a.m. Parking is free at Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay.
Highlights
  • Des Moines hotel near Interstate 35, restaurants and shopping
  • Free Wi-Fi and expanded cable with HBO
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • On-site Derry's Lounge Bar
Location
The Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay offers convenient access to Interstate 35 and is near several restaurants and shopping. The hotel is about a 15-minute drive from downtown Des Moines.
Rooms
The interior-corridor rooms at the Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay include queen rooms with a microwave and refrigerator, king rooms, and two queen rooms. All have a cable television with HBO, free high-speed wireless Internet and in-room coffee-makers. Pets are not allowed.
Features
Start the morning off right with the free deluxe continental breakfast at Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay. An indoor pool and whirlpool (7 a.m. to 10 p.m.) sweeten your stay. Derry's Lounge Bar is open from 5 p.m. to 2 a.m., and there are several nearby restaurants.
Transportation
  • Des Moines International Airport (10.6 mi/17.1 km)
Attractions
  • Des Moines Art Center (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Drake University (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Des Moines Botanical Center (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Wells Fargo Arena and Iowa Events Center (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Jordan House (7.6 mi/12.3 km)
  • Des Moines Civic Center (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Science Center of Iowa (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Principal Park (8.3 mi/13.3 km)
  • Iowa State Capitol (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Iowa State Fairgrounds (11.2 mi/18 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lead dog
Business
Nashville, MI
Sep 23, 2009

The right place

This was the ideal location for us. The hotel could not have been any easier to find. It is easy on and off of I-80 and close to good restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. We have stayed here in the past and hope to again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best food is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Sep 23, 2009

DISHEARTENED! SAD EXPERIENCE! GOT STAFF?

Reserved Two Rooms with two people each (1 adult 1 teen each room). Upon arrival we were asked, "How many kids," we answered, "Two teens." They then charged $20.00 more for (the only thing we could understand they were saying was) the "Extra mess." Was treated VERY rude!! At the breakfast(?) ........words escape me..... all I can say "Got Staffed by the staff!!!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jakite117
Business
tulsa
Jun 24, 2009

Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Our room was in the same area of the hotel club/bar. The music from the bar was beating until midnight. Great if you like to party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jakite117
Business
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Jun 19, 2009

Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

I would recommend being drunk to stay there. Felt like a rainforest in the pool area, hot and humid. No A/C being used in the game room. Potential guest during check-in inquired about whether the wi-fi was working and the female clerk was hateful and rude. Overpriced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

My money saver tip is to not stay here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mc-money
Business
hartsville,s.c.
May 24, 2009

it was ok-im a non smoker,but the room?

i visited a friend,while i was on vacation. my room had "NO" closet,it smelled of smoke,no iron or ironing board,a very small bathroom.....and in comparison to my previous trips this one rates 2 stars out of 5...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

merle hay road is great for shopping,plenty of stores and shopping malls,car lots ,fine dining,etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
May 10, 2009

Great location and easy to find!

Friendly people and easy to find this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top