$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

2 stars
View map of 4845 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322-1966

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Webster City IA
Apr 21, 2010

weekend getaway

It was fast and friendly. could check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Apr 19, 2010

Average Motel, Unprofessional Service

Was traveling on business and booked through [...]. I accept responsibility for making a mistake and clicking "back" while it was processing, which of course, made for a double booking of the exact same room. The booking was made one minute apart with the same card and the same name. [...] talked to the hotel owner he was unwilling to let the second room be cancelled, eventhough it was obvious I only needed one room. Would never return to a place that doesn't have enough business sense to know that a good review or a happy customer can make for even more customers. The motel itself is simply an average Days Inn room. Nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lead dog
Business
Nashville, MI
Sep 23, 2009

The right place

This was the ideal location for us. The hotel could not have been any easier to find. It is easy on and off of I-80 and close to good restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. We have stayed here in the past and hope to again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best food is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Sep 23, 2009

DISHEARTENED! SAD EXPERIENCE! GOT STAFF?

Reserved Two Rooms with two people each (1 adult 1 teen each room). Upon arrival we were asked, "How many kids," we answered, "Two teens." They then charged $20.00 more for (the only thing we could understand they were saying was) the "Extra mess." Was treated VERY rude!! At the breakfast(?) ........words escape me..... all I can say "Got Staffed by the staff!!!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Sep 23, 2009

DISHEARTENED! SAD EXPERIENCE! GOT STAFF?

Reserved Two Rooms with two people each (1 adult 1 teen each room). Upon arrival we were asked, "How many kids," we answered, "Two teens." They then charged $20.00 more for (the only thing we could understand they were saying was) the "Extra mess." Was treated VERY rude!! At the breakfast(?) ........words escape me..... all I can say "Got Staffed by the staff!!!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lead dog
Business
Nashville, MI
Sep 23, 2009

The right place

This was the ideal location for us. The hotel could not have been any easier to find. It is easy on and off of I-80 and close to good restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. We have stayed here in the past and hope to again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best food is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jakite117
Business
tulsa
Jun 24, 2009

Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Our room was in the same area of the hotel club/bar. The music from the bar was beating until midnight. Great if you like to party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jakite117
Business
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Jun 19, 2009

Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

I would recommend being drunk to stay there. Felt like a rainforest in the pool area, hot and humid. No A/C being used in the game room. Potential guest during check-in inquired about whether the wi-fi was working and the female clerk was hateful and rude. Overpriced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

My money saver tip is to not stay here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mc-money
Business
hartsville,s.c.
May 24, 2009

it was ok-im a non smoker,but the room?

i visited a friend,while i was on vacation. my room had "NO" closet,it smelled of smoke,no iron or ironing board,a very small bathroom.....and in comparison to my previous trips this one rates 2 stars out of 5...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

merle hay road is great for shopping,plenty of stores and shopping malls,car lots ,fine dining,etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Des Moines/Merle Hay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
May 10, 2009

Great location and easy to find!

Friendly people and easy to find this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top