$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

2 stars
View map of 5924 University Ave., Cedar Falls, IA 50613

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
23 reviews
nice lodging

Excellent and friendly service and the rooms were very clean. You are only a few minutes from the... See full review

  • wacm
  • May 19, 2010
Very nice

Very nice accommodations at the hotel and location was very close to UNI, shopping, dining, coffee... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 8, 2008
The Days Inn Cedar Falls is just 7miles away from the Waterloo Regional Airport. As our guest, you will enjoy comfortable, clean, and affordable lodging. We provide you with a complimentary Daybreak Continental Breakfast from 6am-10am, High Speed Internet, and free access to the recreation facility next door which features an indoor/outdoor pool, fitness center, game area, hot tub, sauna and the River City Beefstro Restaurant and Lounge which also provides room service for our guest rooms. All our rooms are equipped with cable television, pay per view movies, hair dryers, iron/ironing board, alarm clock radio and coffee makers. There are limited refrigerators and microwaves available upon request. No rollaway beds available. We also offer ice machine, guest laundry, free parking and we are also a pet-friendly hotel that welcomes your furry friends for a nominal fee. You will find our staff to be courteous, efficient, and pleased to offer their services to you. It is their pleasure to assure your stay is a memorable one. The Days Inn of Cedar Falls is located just moments away from the University of Northern Iowa and the Gallagher Bluedorn Performing Arts Center. It is also conveniently located across from 3 shopping areas College Square Mall-110 stores, Cinema Center, and over 15 restaurants offering an array of ethnic foods all within walking distance. The Cedar Falls/Waterloo area offers summer fun such as the annual Sturgis Falls Days and My Waterloo Days as well as Lost Island Fun Park for the water lovers. For the Golfer, there are 7 golf courses to choose from all within 15 miles of the hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza also booked these hotels.

★★
$57
3.9 / 5 22 reviews
★★
$59
4.3 / 5 4 reviews
★★
$81
4.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★
$54
2.8 / 5 8 reviews
★★★
$91
3.7 / 5 11 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Brailled elevators
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • UNI-Dome: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stork Family
Family
Spring Lake
Aug 12, 2015

Visting Family

We needed a convenient place to stay to visit family for the weekend. Many of the area hotels were booked in our preferred area (in proximity to family). This was one of the few that had space available for a family of 4. We checked in later in the evening. The desk person on duty appeared tired, or bored, and not overly welcoming. Though she was responsive to our need for extra bath towels after we checked in. The morning staff person was more talkative and friendly by comparison. The room was clean, but dated. Everything needs to be freshened. The door hinges of the bathroom were so rusted that it was difficult to open/close the door fully. The breakfast option was nice, simple and basic (toast, cereal, yogurt) for one morning, but we choose to eat out the next morning for more variety. We required a place to sleep in the evening, and this provided us that space with little else to offer. It did have several restaurants, a mall, and close proximity to the highway, which was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
horses of course
Business
Montana
Apr 1, 2014

Shelter from the storm.

We decided last-minute to travel from Montana to Waverly, Iowa for the Waverly horse sale. All the rooms in Waverly were already full and this hotel, about 15 miles away afforded us a place to stay. The kids were disappointed that there was no pool and the double beds were a little crowded. But it was warm and clean. The weather was frigid during our stay and it was good to come back from the sale to hot showers and warm beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PaoV
Single
South Bend, Indiana
Oct 28, 2013

good good good

good location, nice and clean room, friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Highlighter64
Friends
Iowa
Oct 17, 2013

A decent stay

This hotel is located directly off of University Ave in Cedar Falls, very near to shopping and dining options. The room was in some need of updating, but it was clean and comfortable. Parking was also adequate, evening with the large crowds that were in town for neighboring colleges' homecoming activities. Overall, this was a good place to crash for the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
borski
Business
anoka mn
Jun 25, 2013

good for business

clean room, very polite staff.. I would recommend to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Denver Mom
Family
Denver
Apr 10, 2013

Great for the Value

No surprises here. Days Inn has comfortable rooms with all the basics. They do not have a pool or game room, but they have an agreement with the hotel across the parking lot so guests can use their pool, hot tub, game room, and bar/restaurant. We visit family at UNI a few times a year, so the cost is pretty important--a great value for a comfortable, clean room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kenkl
Couples
Oregon
Oct 9, 2012

Prepare to ask...........

The cleaning crew seems to think that making the bed is all that is needed. Towels, soap, shampoo, lotion not replenished. The coffee pot was left as I had left it. The breakfast provisions were good.........if you were lucky enough to get to them before they were gone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimbob319
Single
Waverly
Aug 13, 2012

Days Inn Cedar Falls

Very Clean, Friendly staff. Very reasonable price., and close to about 20 places to eat. Two thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
School alumni
Single
Indiana
Jul 23, 2012

Location Location Location

The location was very good, close to Cedar Falls restaurants and shopping, and Waterloo. The beds are very very comfortable. Continental breakfast was what it said. It was minimal but sufficient. The room was supposed to be a non-smoking room but smelled like smoke anyway. The staff was very good and willing to help. For the price, the room was ok and amenities were good. I would go back because of the location but most likely not. There are no elevators and quite a few stairs to go up and down with luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Satified Guest
Friends
Waterloo, IA, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Not special at all

Didn't mind staying there. Will probably stay again, but one room had a fridge and one didn't. One had a microwave one didn't. No ashtray in a smoking room seems crazy to me. Staff was not available when I went to check in, and I had to look for them. When I needed the ashtray staff was no where to be found, had to wait again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top