$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 25, 2014

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

2 stars
2216 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
43 reviews
GREAT!

We spent 5 nights here and highly recommend this hotel. Everything was great! See full review

  • J K LH
  • Aug 9, 2014
great place to stay

The room was clean, the staff was nice, and everything worked well during a crazy weekend when we... See full review

  • Libis
  • Sep 23, 2014
Relax at the consistently enjoyable Microtel Inn and Suites by Wyndham Ames conveniently located off Highway 30 near performances at the Stephens Auditorium and the butterfly wing in the conservatory at Reima Gardens, both part of Iowa State University. Local entertainment and restaurants in Main Street Cultural District, water slides at Furman Aquatic Center, golfing, and adrenaline filled car races at Boone Speedway are also nearby. Ideal for business and leisure this hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary wireless Internet access, complimentary newspaper, fitness center, 24-hour front desk service, guest laundry facilities and complimentary parking. Have your next business meeting at the meeting room with audio/visual equipment, and 24-hour business center with complimentary copy and fax services. Guest room amenities include desk and flat-screen TV. Suites and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this smoke-free lodging.

Hotel Map

42.0083 -93.5798
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Jack Trice Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Hilton Coliseum: 3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Libis
Business
Ralston, Nebraska
Sep 23, 2014

great place to stay

The room was clean, the staff was nice, and everything worked well during a crazy weekend when we had to help put on a wedding. My husband didn't like the breakfast as much as at smaller hotels we have stayed in, but that and location are the only reason I didn't give five stars. (It turned out to be farther away from the church than some of the hotels that others in the wedding party were staying at.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J K LH
Business
NY
Aug 9, 2014

GREAT!

We spent 5 nights here and highly recommend this hotel. Everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TD94
Business
ND
Jul 27, 2014

Conference Stay

We were in town for a conference at Iowa State U. The room was ok. It was not overly expensive so we didn't expect much. It was a place to lay our heads.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy customer from MN
Business
Rochester, MN
Jul 7, 2014

Poor customer service

The room was nice enough, but the staff place us next to a room with an unattended dog. The poor dog was left alone for hours and of course was barking. We were trying to get our toddler to sleep. We ended up having to move rooms in the middle of the night. The staff did not help us move and refused to give us a discount for our inconvenience. There was also no consequence at all for the negligent dog owners. I asked to speak to the manager in the morning, but the manager did not come to work that day apparently. I asked the manager to call me when he/she got in. That call has never come. There are lots of other hotels in Ames, Iowa. Choose somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Foodee
Business
Arkansas
Jun 11, 2014

A place to nap.

1. I drove 10 hours to get there, arrived in the evening. Did not realize until later that the tub was dirty. I went and got bleach to wash it out. Sink started clogging up. It say kitchenette, oh NO. It’s I small sink, microwave and mini refrigerator. No stove, No stovetop, or No oven. Kitchenette is a small kitchen or part of a room equipped as a kitchen. My kitchen has a stove. Don’t want to comment on breakfast. I love breakfast food, favorite meal of the day. My feeling were hurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All the main restaurants and shopping stores are 2 stop lights away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Akalei349
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Apr 3, 2014

Great Room, Great Value

The staff was very efficient and the room was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Another PLS
Business
IA
Mar 10, 2014

Clean Room/Noisy AC

Just an overnight stay while at a conference in Ames. The room was good and clean. My only complaint would be that the AC/heater made a terrible clicking noise every time before coming on - woke me up a few times in the night. The place had a breakfast in the morning, though I had to be places early, so did not have time to check it out much, but there were several people in there making waffles and eating when I left. The front desk staff was pleasant enough. With the exception of the heater noise, it was just what I was looking for at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Earth Biscuit
Business
Tipton, IA
Jan 26, 2014

Good, central location

The staff was very friendly. Room was clean and the location was easy to find and get to. Could use some more parking though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaydizzle
Business
Lincoln, NE
Jan 9, 2014

Good for what you pay for.

Staff was courteous, cookies at the front desk are always a plus, continental breakfast was decent, room was clean... Cant really beat it for the price. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super nationals Traveler
Business
Kansas City
Oct 27, 2013

Boone Week

The rooms were clean and staff were nice. The hotel was close to highways, food and gas stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top