$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Econo Lodge Ames

2 stars
2600 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
31 reviews
Best Breakfast!

Good for the price. my second time there it's good. See full review

  • esckeleto
  • Aug 13, 2013
A nice place to stay

We were doing College Orientation. Though not near the college, it was very easy to get to from... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 19, 2010
The Econo Lodge Ames is ideally located near many popular destinations including Iowa State University, North Grand Mall, Ames Municipal Airport, Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad, Reiman Gardens and Iowa National Guard. Additional nearby attractions include: USDA-VS-NVSL facility, River Valley Park, Hunziker Youth Sports Complex and ISU Ice Arena. Hotel features: free hot breakfast including biscuits and gravy and waffles, free newspaper, 24 hour front desk, indoor heated pool, free wireless Internet in all rooms and free local calls. Pet accommodation: 10.00 USD per pet per night.

Hotel Map

42.0083 -93.5773
Nearby airports
Ames Munic. Arpt., (AMW), 5.00, MI, W; Des Moines Int'l Airport, (DSM), 37.40, MI, S;
Area description
Airport, I-35 & Exit 111B

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Ames also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Jack Trice Stadium: 3 mi
  • Hilton Coliseum: 3.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Ames

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Ames

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Father on college visit
Minneapolis MN
Jun 27, 2014

Nothing special

The hotel was going through some renovation, but our room was clean and had new carpet. The breakfast was pretty average, and the pool didn't make you want to get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Econo Lodge Ames

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chi O Mom
MN
Mar 26, 2014

1 Night

It was fine, bare bones type of place to stay, breakfast average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Ames

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katmar
StL
Aug 19, 2013

Overnight Stay to Drop off Kid to Iowa State

This was for a one night stay, got in really late, room was very clean, but smelled a little old. It had a working frig and microwave. The bathroom was really clean, with plenty of towels. No hassle checking in or out. The complimentary breakfast was plenty of food, muffins, cereal, milk, orange juice and fresh coffee. I would stay here again if need be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Econo Lodge Ames

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
esckeleto
Reaidng, Pa
Aug 13, 2013

Best Breakfast!

Good for the price. my second time there it's good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Ames

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MAdams from Chicago
Chicago, IL
Jun 8, 2013

Perfect for a 3-4 day stay when visiting Iowa State

Since our trip was to visit Iowa State, Econo Lodge Ames is in a convenient location-right off the express way and is less than 10 minutes away from Iowa State. They serve a small breakfast to start you day and you can dip into their pool before you go to bed. For dinner you can go to the Mexican Resturant across the street or go into Ames for a variety fast food or sit down resturant. It is not a 5 star hotel but it has everything you can find in a 5 star hotel. I had an excellent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Was able to have a nice breakfast at the hotel before the long day at Iowa State. Biscuit w/gravey, Waffels, donuts, fresh fruit, bowl of cereal and of coarse coffee, juice, milk and more.

Review of Econo Lodge Ames

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John with Dals
Omaha, NE
Jun 3, 2013

Good value for the price

Ames IA Econo Lodge provides a clean, quiet room for a reasonable price. The motel accepts pets with a $10.00 fee per pet, and there is ample space for the pets to take care of their business. Good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Econo Lodge Ames

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
College Dad and Daughter
Sergeant Bluff, IA
May 20, 2013

Not so grand

First the lady at the front desk got so lost and then did not tell us the information we needed. We had to go back to the front desk multiple times as our keys did not work their was not remote control to the TV. The code she wrote to access the internet was wrong. The outside door to protect you against just anyone coming in was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Econo Lodge Ames

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Football Weekend Family
Mpls, MN
Oct 15, 2012

2 Star Hotel

The check in was fast, but both at the check-in and check-out there were other guest who were not happy and asked to talk to the Manger. The Manager was never on-site and probably should have been for a big football weekend in Ames. I probably would not stay there again. It was a 2 star hotel, so my expectations were low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Ames

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Safe Work Traveler
Business
Iowa City, IA
Oct 1, 2012

Overnight Trip for Work

I stayed in Ames for a conference and booked this hotel based on price and the fact that most other choices were already take (booked last minute). Overall the hotel was adequate, and considering the price I wasn't expecting anything super great. The room was a decent size and the bathroom looked recently updated and clean. My only complaint was that there was a slight odor (musty/smoke?) in the room which was not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Ames

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mekkor
ames, iowa
Sep 17, 2012

Fine Visit

Everything was fine. They were kind enough to let us check in early which helped with our schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top