$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

3 stars
2500 University Boulevard, Ames, IA 50010-8621
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
26 reviews
Clean, good condition, excellent breakfast

Breakfast included healthful options, including oatmeal with a variety of toppings such as chia... See full review

  • JeanMew
  • Nov 17, 2014
Weekend classes at College

Over all it wasn't that bad. They are in the middle of a remodel, putting in an elevator so the... See full review

  • Not ISU fan
  • Feb 18, 2014
Experience all that Ames, IA has to offer - from Iowa State University to the Reiman Gardens to the bustling Main Street Cultural District - within minutes of this cozy hotel. Centrally located in the all-American city of Ames, IA, the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites is the perfect accommodation for friends, families and fans of the Iowa State Cyclones. The Iowa State University campus is within a mile of this Ames hotel, offering guests easy access to exciting games at the Jack Trice Stadium and Hilton Coliseum or to a number of events, conventions and shows at the Iowa State Center. The beautiful ISU Reiman Gardens is one of the largest public gardens in the state. Just a few miles away, Ames' quaint Main Street Cultural District offers an abundance of events, dining and shops. Visitors often enjoy a ride on the Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad, while the golfers of the group might tackle the nearby Coldwater Golf Links. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to the Scheman Conference Building, Iowa Department of Transportation, the United States Department of Agriculture Disease Lab, 3M®, Sauer-Danfoss, Ag Leader and WebFilings. More than 50 businesses are located in the Iowa State University Research Park, just a few blocks away. This Ames hotel also offers meeting facilities for up to 50 people. The full-service BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites offers 87 spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with a refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full hot breakfast. This pet-friendly Iowa hotel also features an indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, 24-hour business center and meeting facilities. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Ames, Iowa, make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED NET,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,EX SUITE,2 RMS,SOFABED,MICFRG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFABED,WETBAR,MICFRG,SEPARATE LVG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED NET,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,FAMILY RM,2 BEDS,SOFABED,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2RMS,HISPD,WHRPL,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Jack Trice Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hilton Coliseum: 1.5 mi

Dining

La Fuente
2.00 mile(s) from La Fuente, full service, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner
Fuji Steakhouse
2.00 mile(s) from Fuji Steakhouse, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner
Cazador
3.00 mile(s) from Cazador, full service, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner
The Spice
4.00 mile(s) from The Spice, full service, Thai, open for: lunch, dinner
The Cafe
4.00 mile(s) from The Cafe, cafe, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Olde Main Brewery
3.00 mile(s) from Olde Main Brewery, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Red Lobster®
2.00 mile(s) from Red Lobster®, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner
Hickory Park
2.00 mile(s) from Hickory Park, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Cafe Northwest
3.00 mile(s) from Cafe Northwest, cafe, Greek, open for: lunch, dinner
Aunt Maude's
4.00 mile(s) from Aunt Maude's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JeanMew
Business
Minnesota
Nov 17, 2014

Clean, good condition, excellent breakfast

Breakfast included healthful options, including oatmeal with a variety of toppings such as chia seeds (I had not seen that in a motel breakfast before), blueberries, and dates. The room was very clean and everything was in good repair. Even the TV remote control was designed to be easily disinfected. One disadvantage is that it is not within walking distance of a restaurant, unless you count the food available at the nearby gas station. Still, the motel is within about a ten minute drive of every place you want to go to in Ames. I ended up paying $130 per night, which I would consider to be excessive for the city and the location in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gasman
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Oct 18, 2014

Derrick rocks

The room that we had reserved was not available as too many people had been upgraded before we got there. Derrrick managed things very nicely when he upgraded us so we could get what we were looking for. Nice to see someone can assess a situation and act upon it, thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nancoe'
Business
Minneapolis
Aug 24, 2014

Basic & fine

This hotel is nothing to write home about but was clean and decent. Better room than I had across the street at at the Gateway. I'll probably stay here again before rebooking at the Gateway. Considering the choices n Ames, this is a fine choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Liked Maude's for dinner which is about 7 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not ISU fan
Business
Iowa City, Iowa
Feb 18, 2014

Weekend classes at College

Over all it wasn't that bad. They are in the middle of a remodel, putting in an elevator so the front desk area was under construsction and so was the breakfast buffet. They did a pretty good job of accomidating even under construction. The room was nice but I have stayed in better. Not bad for a city in Iowa. I think it maybe a lot nicer once done with remodel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Not that far from Football Stadium or the Basketball Arena. Only a few miles from some really good food restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gym mom Pam
Business
Chicago
Feb 10, 2014

Overnight stay in Ames

We had stayed here on prior college visits to see our daughter in Ames. I remembered the lovely breakfast area and decent food. Upon entered the lobby, we saw the lobby/breakfast area was under construction. It put a little damper on our stay, but the hotel is still very clean and conveniently located near campus. Construction due to be completed in March 2014. Overall, a positive experience again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karie Mom
Business
Iowa
Jan 6, 2014

Overnight getaway

It was QUIET, clean, and comfortable. Loved the blueberries at breakfast. They were doing construction on the fitness room and discounted our rate. We were surprised and pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
apriljoy1983
Business
Johnson Creek, WI
Jan 6, 2014

Nice place to stay!

I had a very pleasant experience at this hotel. For the price I feel I got my money's worth! We were passing through visiting family before we went back to Wisconsin. I thought it was neat that the rooms had a kcup maker. Breakfast the following morning was good and the check out process was easy. Nice and quiet place to go to after having a long day. The pool was very well up kept they could use a bigger hot tub ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nanna of 9
Business
NE
Aug 8, 2013

nice hotel

Staff was friendly and courteous. Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thetraveler2013
Business
Morrison, CO
May 27, 2013

Family Visit

Adequate, clean facilities. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast bar could have been a little fresher and maybe different each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flosh
Business
Ames, Iowa
Apr 22, 2013

Very Nice for the Price

Everything went over well with my stay there. The hot tub was broken, but seeing as we weren't going to use it anyway it was no big deal. Overall pretty good weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top