$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Maui Seaside Hotel

2 stars
100 West Kaahumanu, Wailuku, HI 96732
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
320 reviews
Hidden gem

Love this little quiet hotel! Close to airport and beautiful view of the mountains! I will be back! See full review

  • Mrsorbe
  • Jul 9, 2014
awesome

staff is amazing..sooo polite and friendly..the beach is right there..n croud..clen and warm..nice... See full review

  • netlock
  • Feb 13, 2014
Value rooms and pool just a stroll from Hawaiian beaches
The locally owned, family-friendly Maui Seaside Hotel offers a range of bright accommodations - ideal for those on a budget. All rooms have a spacious, relaxing vibe, with ample access to either a balcony or lanai (veranda) - and many have ocean views. For leisure, guests swim in the outdoor pools, or head to the on-site Coconut Grill for Hawaiian breakfasts and dinners. Many sporting activities are available locally for the active set, including golf and windsurfing from some of the best windsurfing beaches in the world, just a few kilometers away. Free Internet access is offered in the lobby. Car parking is available on site (fees may apply), and there are coin-operated washing machines for guest use.
Reasons to stay
  • Locally owned, value accommodations with ocean front location on Kahului Bay
  • Outdoor swimming pool, full-service restaurant which focuses on Hawaiian style cuisine
  • Minutes from fabulous beaches, and local and international-brand shopping
  • Rooms feature balconies or lanais, some have ocean views
Maui Seaside Hotel Rooms
Rooms at the Maui Seaside Hotel feature a choice of two double beds or one king bed with mountain views. Upgrades are available to superior or deluxe rooms with outdoor seating as well as ocean, garden or pool views. All rooms provide guests with a flat-screen television with cable channels, a refrigerator, and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms have either a balcony or Lanai (veranda) on which to relax outside. Air conditioning can be individually controlled and guests also benefit from in-room refrigerators and ceiling fans to help stay cool. Non-smoking rooms are available on request. Children are made very welcome at the Maui Seaside Hotel, with all rooms sleeping up to three and baby cots available on request (fees may apply).
Things to do nearby
  • Maui Arts and Cultural Center (1.3 mi/1.6 km)
  • Kahului Harbor (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Wailuku Town (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Alexander and Baldwin Sugar Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Park (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Maui Historical Center (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Ho'okipa Beach Park (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • Lahaina Town (23.2 mi/37.3 km)
  • Kaanapali Beach (26.4 mi/42.5 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (38.1 mi/61.3 km)

Hotel Map

20.8904 -156.4694
Area served
Maui
Nearby airports
Maui (OGG)
Area description
Attractions (note distance by car): Maui Ocean Center 20 minutes, Wailea Resort 20 minutes, Maui Arts & Cultural Center five minutes, Wailuku Town seven minutes,Maui Historical Center ten minutes, Hookipa Beach 15 minutes, Kaanapali Beach 45 minutes, Mount Haleakala one hour, Iao Valley ten minutes and Kahului Airport 15 minutes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Maui Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Pool
FREE WIRELESS.Guest room with two double beds or one king beds. Located around the pool, this spacious room offers a refrigerator, coffee and tea maker,clock/radio,black out drapes,iron and iron board,remote controlled TV, air conditioning, tropical ceiling fan and private lanai. These rooms are conveniently located near our lobby and lounge area.
Superior Garden
FREE WIRELESS. Spacious guest room with two double beds or one king bed in our garden area, a quieter area of the hotel. Room includes refrigerator, coffee and tea maker,color cable TV, black out drapes,clock/radio, iron and iron board,and air conditioning.
Standard Room
FREE WIRELESS. Guest room with two double beds or one king bed. This large room offers a splendid view of the West Maui Mountains. This room is located near our lobby and restaurant. Room includes refrigerator, coffee and tea maker, color cable TV, black out drapes, iron and iron board,clock/radio and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Dining

Manana Garage-Nearby
Latin American Cuisine located across the street.
Hideaway-Nearby
This popular local Restaurant features the best Hawaiian Buffet on the valley isle!
The Coconut Grill
The Coconut Grill open for breakfast and dinner offering offering an array of local favorites.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (320)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
320 out of 320
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ddweaver
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 22, 2014

My evaluation

Hotel could have been fixed up nicer with not a great deal of expense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kailua, HI
Nov 18, 2009

Clean and affordable

The hotel was clean, but older. Close to the airport and malls, but not near tourist locales. It took the staff 30 minutes to find our reservation and then wouldn't let us check in early. If you just want a place to sleep, this is it. Diner closed at 8 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bikedana
Business
Moab, Utah
Jan 28, 2010

"Pretty Good - Quiet, Clean and Cheap"

My fiance and I were gone all day seeing the sights of Maui. We came back to the Seaside Hotel to sleep at night and then we were off early in the morning to go surfing, snorkeling, zip-lining, hiking, walking the beach, etc... The Seaside Hotel is not fancy by any means, however, it is clean, quiet and in a good location. The only thing I have to complain about is the beds did not have fitted sheets, so in the middle of the night the sheets become a mess and the next thing you know, you're laying on the mattress, which is not exactly comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mama's Fish House. It's probably the most expensive, or one of the most expensive restaurants on Maui, but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roamy
Business
St.louis MO
Nov 28, 2010

Easy to get to the airport

Close from the airport(OGG) and good location if you are traveling to Hana. Not close to the beach though. It is more closely located to Port/harbor. Room smelled strange so I had to spray my perfume. $5/day parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
agentjay
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Dec 22, 2010

Maui Seaside Hotel

The hotel room was surprisingly large and spacious. It was very warm those days and the small air conditioner in the wall took 12-15 hours to cool the room and that was not overly cool either....just cool. It was a good thing I was staying more than one night or it would have never gotten cool. The reason it doesnt work is the a/c unit is at the ground and we all know that cool air falls and warm air rises...therefore all the cool air stayed at the ground level because thats where it goes! I did help the situation a small amount by reversing the fan and trying to bring the cool air up. The hotel has no beach. The bay/harbor where it sits is not swimmable and not good for snorkeling. It was nice to sit on their lounge chairs in the quiet zone to drink some wine and watch the rowers practice in the canoes. It is convenient to the airport and to shopping. The best surprise was the restaurant! It is called the Coconut Grill and it is attached to the restaurant. It is one of the best restaurants in Maui! It has fantastic food such as coconut shrimmp and chicken wraps with a thai theme that were out of this world! It also was one of the most reasonably priced restaurants on the island! Soooooo good and reasonably priced...even the locals eat there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The best surprise was the restaurant! It is called the Coconut Grill and it is attached to the restaurant. It is one of the best restaurants in Maui! It has fantastic food such as coconut shrimmp and chicken wraps with a thai theme that were out of this world! It also was one of the most reasonably priced restaurants on the island! Soooooo good and reasonably priced...even the locals eat there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DUNCAN
Business
CALGARY CANADA
Feb 11, 2011

THREE STAR

GOOD PLACE TO STAY IF YOU ARE CATCHING AN EARLY PLANE.THE BREAKFAST SHOULD BE AVAILABLEBEFORE 7:00 A.M.. WE HAD A SUITE BY THE SEA BY WAY OF AN UPGRADE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GeorgeD
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 30, 2011

I got exactly what I paid for.

Maui Seaside Hotel is cheap and we only agreed to stay there because we knew that we are not going to spend a lot of time in the room each day. We would leave the hotel at 10 am and return at 7pm. If you are planning to do the same, then don't go any farther. I'd say the main benefit (besides price) is location. Hotel is very close to an airport and it is right in the middle of the island, which is good. Whole Foods grocery store is a block away which is a big plus as well. Overall I was satisfied with everything and didn't expect anything else for the money I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely make a reservation at Mama's Fish House Restaurant. It's a little expensive but WORTH IT! Everything is prepared in house and ANY dish is heavenly good, you will not regret it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ethal
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Oct 23, 2011

Good for the budget traveller or a stop over for late night arrival

We always stay at the Maui Seaside when we arrive in Maui as it is usually after 9 or 10 PM before we arrive, we are tired and this is 5 minutes from the airport. So we lay our heads down here for the night then go up to the time share in Kaanapali the next day. The place is old but the staff are very friendly and they keep it very clean and tidy. Oh... And the Coconut restaurant serves a great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Long needed vacation...
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Good Vacation

Maui Seaside served it's purpose. Not a whole lot of time was spent at the hotel. The room was clean and always stocked with towels and such. It is convienently located to shopping and some local eateries. Nothing spectacular, but we'd stay there again! It's an older hotel but kind a homey atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GettaRoom
Business
Hawaii
Nov 17, 2011

economical plus

for around $100 a night it has a few thing I really like but are often not in more expensive hotels, one a fridge, and its not a mini bar its a small refer that you can use for your stuff, also it had an LCD TV, I am tired of checking into more expensive hotels and getting an old TV, they should all be in the junk yard by now, this place had a decent LCDTV, a fridge and a pool and was a fairly large but plain room so for that price on Maui , what else are you going to get., there is food served on the grounds and all in all, hey its economy, i probably wouldnt have gotten much more for twice the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you want night life you need to be in lahaina, This hotel is in the wrong town, and its too far to be drinking and driving

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top