$268 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 16, 2015 Check-out: Mar 18, 2015

Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

3 stars
34 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
29 reviews
Hotel stay was above average

The only negative point was that during our stay we were subjected to pest control in our unit for... See full review

  • Jenny T.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Great stay

Unit very spacious. Large shower stall with two shower heads. Kitchen had lots of utensils. The... See full review

  • Brandy T.
  • Sep 5, 2014
Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner This Wailea golf resort with a country club feel is centered on 11 acres, amid the 18-hole Wailea Blue Golf Course. Select from garden view, partial ocean view or golf front suites along the 6th, 7th and 8th holes, with ultimate views of well maintained fairways and sun-drenched strokes. Within this country club condo resort, you'll also find the world-class Wailea Tennis Center and stadium. The resort features two pools, two whirlpool spas, barbecue grills; and is located near The Shops at Wailea and popular Mokapu and Ulua beaches. Each air conditioned suite offers: o Garden, golf or partial ocean views from your private lanai o A fully-equipped kitchen o Bedrooms with private & semi-private baths o Spacious living & dining area o Personal washer & dryer Included amenities: o Parking o Housekeeping every third day o Wi-fi Internet access o $155 resort certificates for dining and spa services o A Maika'i card for local grocery discounts Check-in at the Wailea Gateway Shopping Center 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea HI 96753. Front desk phone: 808-891-6200

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts Rooms

1 Bedroom 2 Bath Golf Front View
Golf front suite with fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, bedroom with private and semi-private bath and a personal washer/dryer.
2 Bedroom 2 Bath Golf Front View
Golf front views with a fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, bedrooms with private and semi-private baths and a personal washer/dryer
Mystery Room
Mystery Room-Will be assigned upon arrival.
1 Bedroom 2 Bath Garden View
Garden view suite with fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, bedroom with private and semi-private bath and a personal washer/dryer.
1 Bedroom 2 Bath Partial Ocean View
Partial ocean view suite with fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, bedroom with private and semi-private bath and a personal washer/dryer.
2 Bedroom 2 Bath Garden View
Garden view suite with a fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, bedrooms with private and semi-private baths and a personal washer/dryer
2 Bedroom 2 Bath Partial Ocean V
Partial ocean view suite with a fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, bedrooms with private and semi-private baths and a personal washer/dryer
3 Bedroom 2 Bath Garden View
Garden view suite with a fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, three bedrooms with private or semi-private baths and a personal washer/dryer

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant

Dining

Tommy Bahama
Pacific Rim. Conveniently located in the Shops at Wailea with a spacious lanai under the palms, Tommy Bahama presents dishes made with some of the freshest seafood and locally grown produce. Open for lunch, dinner and happy hour serving burgers, soups & salads, sandwiches, chicken, steak, fish and pasta dishes.
Ruths Chris Steak House
Specializing in USDA prime beef and seafood specialties conveniently located at the Shops at Wailea. Private dining rooms can be arranged for hosting special occasions.
Longhis
Casual Dining. A family-owned and operated Hawaii restaurant with award winning cuisine, fresh island fish, prime steaks, giant lobsters plucked fresh from their own lobster tanks, fabulous pasta dishes and the most succulent desserts. A local favorite
Gannons
Contemporary Hawaiian cuisine. Voted one of Open Tables Top 100 Best Outdoor Dining Restaurants in America, diners enjoy Chef Beverly Gannons award-winning food on a casual outdoor lanai featuring panoramic ocean views and spectacular sunsets. The restaurant features a menu which incorporates flavors derived from the rich cultural influences of the islands and the freshest quality, locally-sourced ingredients. The restaurant also features a lively bar scene and unique bistro making Gannons the perfect spot in Wailea for those looking for something unique and off-the-beaten-tourist-path.
Manolis Pizza Company
Fresh, organic and sustainable ingredients go into their generous dishes. Specializing in organic wheat or gluten-free pizzas and salads, they also offer a few sandwich options and delicious lasagna that's enough for two. Outdoor dining overlooking the golf course just a short way up the hill from the Shops at Wailea, Manoli's is a great place to watch your favorite sporting event in the open air bar.
Monkeypod Kitchen
Located in the Gateway Shopping Center in Wailea, Monkeypod Kitchen features an extensive menu, full bar and live entertainment. Peter Merriman's signature fresh island fish, hand-tossed pizzas from the kiawe wood-burning oven and homemade cream pies made from scratch have become legendary on Maui. 36 craft beers are on tap and culinary cocktails featuring unique and exotic ingredients are a must-try!
Fabianis
Casual Italian fare and bakery located in the Wailea Gateway Center. Specializing in Italian-style, brick-oven pizza, Fabiani's is also notable for their sandwiches, paninis, burgers, pasta and delectable bakery items. Our office is addicted to the coconut macaroons! Breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily.
Cheeseburger Island Style
Casual Dining at the Shops at Wailea. Beyond the famed traditional signature cheeseburger, the restaurant features an assorted cuisine that includes traditional American favorites, fresh fish dishes and house specialties.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MBinSF
Business
California
Jan 16, 2014

Last minute vacation

My condo unit was great for what I was looking for! I wanted a home base to sleep, eat, shower, etc; and stay in Wailea where the beaches are warm. The kitchen was the perfect size, there were plenty of kitchen necessities for cooking and baking. The pool was closed for the season which was not indicated otherwise. Great location, quiet neighbors, great view, and easy to park :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop at Costco in Kahalui to stock up on food and drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AngieY
Business
Aurora, CO
Nov 16, 2010

Good family lodging on a budget

We chose Grand Champions due to its proximity to the wedding we were attending at Grand Wailea Resort. It was convenient to walk to the Shops at Wailea, but the walk up the hill back to Grand Champions in the afternoon sun was exhausting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wader Super Dad
Business
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Apr 16, 2010

Good price, a long way from the ocean

This is not near the water. We had a small view. Great for Tennis or golf. Near the shopping center. Clean nice place. Not a far drive to beaches. BBQ in common area by small pool. Good for kids not for swimming laps. 1 adult boring pool, 1 pool for families. Condos are nice inside with lots of rooms and beds. Need to be a driving family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Longhi's seemed a little cheaper at the end of the meal and everyone liked it. Burger place in mall was OK but a little greasy. I like to eat at a restaurant that is on the water. This only seems to be at the Four Seasons (very expensive) and in Kanapalli/Lahaina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megyl
Business
Oregon
May 8, 2012

Home away

We had a wonderful experience here. Upon arrival and check-in, the staff was very welcoming and courteous. The condo itself was great with an unexpected ocean view from our bedroom and a golf course view from the lanai. The condo was clean and comfortable. It was cleaned every couple of days. There were a bunch of groceries in the cabinets, so they may want to go through that stuff every once in a while just to tidy up. Other than that, everything was better than we expected, especially for the price we paid. The location is wonderful. It's just a short walk or even shorter drive to the many glorious beaches of Wailea and the Shops at Wailea are basically across the street. There's a nice pool on the property and a tennis court and restaurant/lounge too. The grounds were very well maintained and it seems they do their very best to recycle. We had an amazing time and we would certainly recommend staying here! If we ever find ourselves in Maui again we will be booking our stay here for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely go to 5 Caves/5 Graves for snorkeling or just walking around for a great view of sea turtles and other colorful tropical fish. It's just 5-7 miles from Grand Champions in Makena.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAB12
Business
Philly
Mar 24, 2013

Great location - just 5 minute walk to the beach.

The location cannnot be beat for someone who would like to be near the beach but cannot afford the high price tags of staying at a beachside location. The fancy Wailea area is very safe (bring a flashlight for walking at night) and well groomed. The golf course off the lanai provided a lush setting for greens views. The Grand Champions condo provided comfortable accommodations for a reasonable price. Would have liked to have a few more items in the kitchen for storing leftovers and more room for putting ones food purchases on the shelves. The master bedroom has slatted doors so do not expect any privacy if you have a third on the couch but perfect for a couple with two bathrooms (his and hers) and the master bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants are in walking distance but expensive so save money by using the kitchen and cook some local fish yourself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jod Always Traveling
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 22, 2013

Perfect for Families

Nice quiet place along the golf course. Perfect for families who need lots of space. Pool was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TABQ
Business
Albuquerque, NM
May 21, 2013

Family getaway to Maui

This was a family getaway and first trip to Maui. It was a great week for us to relax and enjoy beautiful Maui. The Wailea Grand Champions was a really good choice for us in terms of location and value. Wailea/Makena is an affluent area that is well maintained and has beautiful beaches that are not too crowded. There's a nice path along the beach that made for a refreshing morning jog. Our condo was in very good condition, but the appliances and furnishings were a bit out-dated. Even though the hotel was not on the water, our partial ocean view allowed for relaxing times on the lanai. There were renovations being done in the suites near by and landscaping work that made some noises during the days. The pool was clean and close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the dining options near the hotel are pricey. There's a Safeway grocery store about 10 mins away and Costco near the airport that one could stock up on groceries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lake CDA Joe
Business
Coeur d Alene, ID
Jun 27, 2013

Nice and spacious

Nice location, close to beaches and town. Close enough to visit the beaches and then drive back to the condo and cool down and eat. Rooms were big and had plenty of space for a family of 4. BBQs at poolside were useful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We found that Long"s drugs in Kihei had some better prices for munchies than the grocery stores. And of course, Costco is a must right after you leave the airport on your way to your condo. There's also a Walmart close to Costco, we didn't find it until we were leaving, but I'm sure their prices would be better than the grocery stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coolpapa
Business
Lake Isabella, CA
Oct 26, 2013

Great location. Lots to do.

Took two teenaged granddaughters and because of that I wished the beach was a little closer. Yes, you can walk to the beach but, carrying gear would make it awkward and you had to cross a few traveled roadways. We always drove! Makena Beach(Big Beach) was really nice and not crowded. Overall, enjoyed our stay at this Resort. Very beautiful area and lots to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask locals where to get good authentic Hawaiian food.C

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma Gayle and Grandpa John
Business
Placentia, CA
Aug 2, 2009

Lush tropical landscaping

This was our sixth visit to Maui where we have two grandchildren who live nearby. The condo at Grand Champions was a perfect location to have our family together at one place. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and we enjoyed both pools, one was designated a "quiet" area and the other more "kid-friendly". The condo we stayed in could have used some updating but was more than suitable for cooking and enjoying family dinners. The view of the golf course and partial ocean view was amazing! The location in Wailea was perfect for us - we will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you enjoy cooking for your family, there is a Costco in Kahului near the airport, in addition to a Wal-mart, and a Safeway in nearby Kihei where we found the best prices for anything we needed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top