$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

3 stars
34 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
28 reviews
Great stay

Unit very spacious. Large shower stall with two shower heads. Kitchen had lots of utensils. The... See full review

  • Brandy T.
  • Sep 5, 2014
Wailea Grand Champions

Easily accessible, all the amenities, very clean, excellent property. I would return to this... See full review

  • J.Cook
  • Jul 31, 2014
Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner This Wailea golf resort with a country club feel is centered on 11 acres, amid the 18-hole Wailea Blue Golf Course. Select from garden view, partial ocean view or golf front suites along the 6th, 7th and 8th holes, with ultimate views of well maintained fairways and sun-drenched strokes. Within this country club condo resort, you'll also find the world-class Wailea Tennis Center and stadium. The resort features two pools, two whirlpool spas, barbecue grills; and is located near The Shops at Wailea and popular Mokapu and Ulua beaches. Each air conditioned suite offers: o Garden, golf or partial ocean views from your private lanai o A fully-equipped kitchen o Bedrooms with private & semi-private baths o Spacious living & dining area o Personal washer & dryer Included amenities: o Parking o Housekeeping every third day o Wi-fi Internet access o $155 resort certificates for dining and spa services o A Maika'i card for local grocery discounts Check-in at the Wailea Gateway Shopping Center 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea HI 96753. Front desk phone: 808-891-6200

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts Rooms

1 Bedroom 2 Bath Golf Front View
Golf front suite with fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, bedroom with private and semi-private bath and a personal washer/dryer.
2 Bedroom 2 Bath Golf Front View
Golf front views with a fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, bedrooms with private and semi-private baths and a personal washer/dryer
Mystery Room
Mystery Room-Will be assigned upon arrival.
1 Bedroom 2 Bath Garden View
Garden view suite with fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, bedroom with private and semi-private bath and a personal washer/dryer.
1 Bedroom 2 Bath Partial Ocean View
Partial ocean view suite with fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, bedroom with private and semi-private bath and a personal washer/dryer.
2 Bedroom 2 Bath Garden View
Garden view suite with a fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, bedrooms with private and semi-private baths and a personal washer/dryer
2 Bedroom 2 Bath Partial Ocean V
Partial ocean view suite with a fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, bedrooms with private and semi-private baths and a personal washer/dryer
3 Bedroom 2 Bath Garden View
Garden view suite with a fully-equipped kitchen, spacious living area with private lanai, three bedrooms with private or semi-private baths and a personal washer/dryer

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant

Dining

Tommy Bahama
Pacific Rim. Conveniently located in the Shops at Wailea with a spacious lanai under the palms, Tommy Bahama presents dishes made with some of the freshest seafood and locally grown produce. Open for lunch, dinner and happy hour serving burgers, soups & salads, sandwiches, chicken, steak, fish and pasta dishes.
Ruths Chris Steak House
Specializing in USDA prime beef and seafood specialties conveniently located at the Shops at Wailea. Private dining rooms can be arranged for hosting special occasions.
Longhis
Casual Dining. A family-owned and operated Hawaii restaurant with award winning cuisine, fresh island fish, prime steaks, giant lobsters plucked fresh from their own lobster tanks, fabulous pasta dishes and the most succulent desserts. A local favorite
Gannons
Contemporary Hawaiian cuisine. Voted one of Open Tables Top 100 Best Outdoor Dining Restaurants in America, diners enjoy Chef Beverly Gannons award-winning food on a casual outdoor lanai featuring panoramic ocean views and spectacular sunsets. The restaurant features a menu which incorporates flavors derived from the rich cultural influences of the islands and the freshest quality, locally-sourced ingredients. The restaurant also features a lively bar scene and unique bistro making Gannons the perfect spot in Wailea for those looking for something unique and off-the-beaten-tourist-path.
Manolis Pizza Company
Fresh, organic and sustainable ingredients go into their generous dishes. Specializing in organic wheat or gluten-free pizzas and salads, they also offer a few sandwich options and delicious lasagna that's enough for two. Outdoor dining overlooking the golf course just a short way up the hill from the Shops at Wailea, Manoli's is a great place to watch your favorite sporting event in the open air bar.
Monkeypod Kitchen
Located in the Gateway Shopping Center in Wailea, Monkeypod Kitchen features an extensive menu, full bar and live entertainment. Peter Merriman's signature fresh island fish, hand-tossed pizzas from the kiawe wood-burning oven and homemade cream pies made from scratch have become legendary on Maui. 36 craft beers are on tap and culinary cocktails featuring unique and exotic ingredients are a must-try!
Fabianis
Casual Italian fare and bakery located in the Wailea Gateway Center. Specializing in Italian-style, brick-oven pizza, Fabiani's is also notable for their sandwiches, paninis, burgers, pasta and delectable bakery items. Our office is addicted to the coconut macaroons! Breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily.
Cheeseburger Island Style
Casual Dining at the Shops at Wailea. Beyond the famed traditional signature cheeseburger, the restaurant features an assorted cuisine that includes traditional American favorites, fresh fish dishes and house specialties.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
uiefhginerilurehg
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 17, 2013

Weekend getaway.

I didn't know what to expect since this is not the normal hotel setup. I went there for the weekend and found the unit very well maintained with almost new furnishings, appliances, dishes and utensils. Very quite and private. Next time, I will be sure to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pita Paradise. In the small shopping mall right next to the check-in/out office. Fresh fish and pasta.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomt1
Business
New york
Nov 16, 2014

Hawaii trip

Nice place to stay. A little dated but nice and very convenient to everything in Wailea. Excellebt value for good accommodations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dpnob
Business
California
Nov 15, 2014

Great stay

The grand champions is a beautiful resort. The location is great and the condos are spacious and well layed out. WAlking distance to many great restaurants and shopping. The only issue we had was the bed was like concrete. I have back problems and like a ferm mattress however, this was solid. We went to McKena beech during the day and slept on the beech.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pita Paradise is a great restaurant. We thought it was gyros but turned out to be fine Mediterranean dinning. The prices are also reasonable for wailea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arnie golfer
Business
Fullerton, California
Sep 17, 2014

Bed comfort

The only problem was that the bed was too soft. Otherwise, everything was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandy T.
Business
Aiea, Hawaii
Sep 5, 2014

Great stay

Unit very spacious. Large shower stall with two shower heads. Kitchen had lots of utensils. The area was quiet, peaceful and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Check in at the Wailea Gateway Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trayk
Business
Oahu
Aug 14, 2014

Weekend getaway

Everything was perfect! The whole place is beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is near by and easy to get to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J.Cook
Business
Washington (State)
Jul 31, 2014

Wailea Grand Champions

Easily accessible, all the amenities, very clean, excellent property. I would return to this property without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lala Land Mama
Business
Honolulu
Jun 15, 2014

Family Vacay

Our unit was very clean and we immediately felt like we were at home. The full kitchen was very useful and we ended up cooking and eating in for most of our trip. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zen Woman
Business
Palo Alto
Jun 9, 2014

This place was great (not too fancy)

I went to Maui on a solo trip and wanted to reward myself with a nice condo in a great location. Well I got both in spades. My condo was well furnished and overlooked the golf course with a view of the ocean. The ocean is so far away I would recommend saving your money and getting the golf view only. It wasn't worth the extra $30 a night. I was very happy with my stay. My only complaint would be that the leasing office is not on site and is up the hill from the complex. The pool was very small but who cares. I only used it between beach trips. The leasing office was really nice and even has the cleaning team bring over a pillow top for my bed since it was really hard. Cheers, MJ-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are lots of restaurants and a grocery store in Kihei.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MBinSF
Business
California
Jan 16, 2014

Last minute vacation

My condo unit was great for what I was looking for! I wanted a home base to sleep, eat, shower, etc; and stay in Wailea where the beaches are warm. The kitchen was the perfect size, there were plenty of kitchen necessities for cooking and baking. The pool was closed for the season which was not indicated otherwise. Great location, quiet neighbors, great view, and easy to park :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop at Costco in Kahalui to stock up on food and drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wailea Grand Champions - Destination Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andysrig
Business
Stl, MO
Dec 14, 2013

AWESOME PLACE!!!!

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The condo was clean and quite. We found nothing wrong with the place. Some of the other reviews complained about the window A/C units. it was so nice and cool at night, we just turned them off and open the windows. So, if your looking for a place that isn't over priced, clean, and quite, this is your place to stay. WE WILL BE BACK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top