$329 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
124 reviews
Best Hotel For Families!

This was our 2nd stay at the Fairmont and we had a great time. The two-room suite works perfectly... See full review

  • PDX Family
  • Jun 26, 2014
all about the service

Apart from the beautiful tropical setting, and top notch amenities, the thing that stood out about... See full review

  • Steve E1
  • Apr 10, 2013
Fairmont Hotels and Resorts on the islands of Hawaii and Bermuda have become part of the local communities here, providing world-class hospitality and cultural quirks. White domes and life-sized Hawaiian murals set the tone for your stay at The Kea Lani Maui Hotel, while a traditional lei greeting welcomes guests upon arrival. Immerse yourself in island culture on the hotel's Canoe Experience and Cultural Property tour, or drop your kids off at the children's club, where they can learn a few conversational Hawaiian phrases. A contemporary spa facility has special treatments like the Energy Journey -which allows guests to restore their inner balance with ingredients grown on Maui -plus Chamomile Body Polishes, Magnesium and Jade Wraps, and Relaxation Massages. After all that pampering, dine at one of the on-site restaurants and choose from seafood, internationally-influenced dishes, or bakery and deli treats.
Key facts
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Kids' club
  • Restaurants & lounges: Ko, Nick's Fishmarket Maui, Kea Lani Restaurant, Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli, Polo Beach Grill & Bar, Luana Lounge
  • Willow Stream Spa: 9,000-square-feet
  • Several pools, including an adult-only pool
  • On-site business center
  • Eco-incentives
  • Child care services (additional charges may apply)
  • 24-hour room service
  • 36,000-square-foot conference and event space
Neighborhood
One of four luxury accommodations in Wailea, the Kea Lani Maui is 22 acres of well-manicured property on the southwest shore of Maui, right on the edge of Wailea Polo Beach. The hotel is minutes away from The Shops at Wailea, an open mall that includes varied high-end shops and eateries, while golf enthusiasts can tee off on four different nearby courses.
Hints and tips
You may prefer to book a first-floor room near the lobby's north side for easy access to the upper pool and swim bar - sunset views are also stunning from these rooms.

If you are heading out on day trips in the local area, order a picnic basket from Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli for Italian lunch treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6851 -156.4395
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului, Maui, Hawaii
Area description
Exit airport terminal or car rental area onto Keolani Place. Continue straight through the intersection onto Dairy Road (Hwy 380) passing CostCo and Kmart on your left. Continue on Dairy Road (Hwy 380) to the traffic light at Mokulele Hwy 311 & S. Puunene Avenue turn left onto Mokulele Hwy 311. Continue on Mokulele Hwy approximately 6 miles. You will automatically merge left onto Piilani Hwy 31. Continue south on the Piilani Hwy 31 until the end of highway. It will veer right onto Wailea Ike Drive. Drive down toward the ocean and at the end of Wailea Ike Drive, turn left at the traffic light onto Wailea Alanui. Follow Wailea Alanui south until you reach The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui on the right side.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Rooms

Mountainside Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Haleakala Mountainside
Poolside Suite
Poolside Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Poolside and lawn area
Garden View Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Overlooking scenic tropical gardens or Mount Haleakala
Deluxe Ocean View Suite
Deluxe Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Full Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Suite
Partial Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from outside the suite
Ocean View Suite
Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from within the suite
Fairimont Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Limited view overlooking parking facility or side street

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

In-Room Dining
Hours Of Operation: Available 24 hours a day Elegant, intimate dining on your own private lanai with picturesque garden and ocean views. Let us bring the dining room to you! Daily specialties with delicious breakfast, sandwiches, assorted salads and complete meals for gourmet lunches and romantic dinners. Refreshing tropical drink specialties, fine wines and champagnes are also available to you through In-Room Dining.
Ko Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open for lunch and dinner. Hours vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire is requested. Ko offers cuisine reflective of the many cultures of Hawaii's sugarcane plantation era. The menu is inspired by the rich history and culinary traditions of Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese cultures. K, meaning "sugarcane" in Hawaiian, features Ahi "On the Rock," shichimi spiced with orange ginger miso sauce, Lobster Tempura with spicy-sesame, pineapple sweet chili garlic and grapefruit soy sauce, Maui Cattle Company "Paniolo" Rib-Eye Steak, and Coconut-Curry Lamb Chops marinated and grilled with mango-mint salsa. Each dish celebrates the cultures of the plantation workers with an emphasis on sustainability.
Nick's Fishmarket-Maui
Hours Of Operation: Open nightly 5:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual (collared shirt and dress shorts) This is one of Maui's premier seafood restaurants offering the Islands' freshest fish, Live Keahole Maine Lobster, and Maui Cattle Company Steaks in a tropical ambiance. Special features include a 2,000 bottle wine cellar, outdoor seating and a private dining room to accommodate as many as fifty guests. Nick's was voted Best Special Occasion Restaurant for 2004 and 2005. Nick's has also earned the Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Ama Bar and Grill & Bar
Ama Bar & Grill offers a taste of Hawaiis modern canoe lifestyle, featuring everything from contemporary poke bowls to plate lunch specials in a relaxed, outdoor and social atmosphere. Enjoy expansive ocean views and dont miss the swim-up bar for refreshing cocktails and fruit smoothies. It's the perfect restaurant in Wailea to bring together family and friends, to eat, drink, relax and talk story. Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 10:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (Bar) Open daily from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Restaurant) Times may vary depending on season.
Kea Lani Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire This open-air dining area offers a daily bountiful breakfast buffet and an exceptional a la carte menu service. The buffet contains fresh fruit including local seasonal favorites such as guava, mountain apples, rambutans and papayas as well as pastries and breads such as mango and banana nut bread that are freshly baked in the resort's pastry shop. The buffet also features an omelet station and rotating choices of hot and cold items including pancakes, waffles, link sausage, and smoked bacon as well as authentic Asian style breakfast foods including miso soup.
Luana Lounge
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 3:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual The open-air Luana Lounge offers spectacular views of the beautiful Maui sunset. You can enjoy a selection of pupus and a Kea Lani Cocktail or one of many specialty martinis served in a silver cocktail shaker and poured at your table. Enjoy live entertainment nightly from local musicians playing contemporary light jazz and music from the Islands.
Caffe Ciao Deli
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. Hours may vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Caffe Ciao Deli is a trattoria with home made sandwiches, salads and produce. Enjoy fresh bread, scones, muffins and desserts from our bake shop with a selection of coffee drinks. Signature Kea Lani jams, jellies, condiments and a variety of other gifts are also available. Enjoy a Custom Picnic Basket for your day at the beach or around the island. Choose from a large selection of gourmet food items, cheeses and wines from around the world. Or Take a gourmet meal for your plane ride home through our "Food for Flight" program. Select your very own lunch, dinner, or snack, tailored just to your taste-it is the perfect end to a perfect vacation.
Twilight Dinner
Enjoy the Twilight Dinner in your own private cabana under the soft glow of hanging lanterns. Located adjacent to K on the Adult Pool deck, the Twilight Dinner is available for up to six people. As a Twilight Dinner guest, you will be served a personalized four course meal along with a choice of selected wines, as you enjoy the brilliant colors of the sky at dusk. This is the perfect way to create a lasting memory of any celebration.
Hoku Lani Dinner
The Hoku Lani Dinner experience is designed especially for those who are seeking a more intimate and elegant evening, whether you are celebrating an anniversary, engagement, birthday or just want to share an enchanting evening with someone special, this dinner is the perfect way to create a romantic memory to last a lifetime. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Kea Lani offers a broad range of function rooms-from elegant boardrooms and banquet halls, to magnificent ballrooms and state-of-the-art amphitheaters with professional multimedia services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iambetha
Los Angeles, California
Oct 29, 2012

Honeymoon

Best experience ever! We couldn't have had a better honeymoon experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mamas fish house!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Licha
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 20, 2011

First Time Visit to Maui

We loved the Fairmont Kea Lani. They have a great staff especially the valet and reception staff. We were very impressed by the welcoming committee. Every guest checking in gets a free lei and juice beverage upon arrival. Our bell boy was awesome and provided us great information on where the locals eat. We had a partial ocean view suite with 2 double-beds on the east side of the building facing the property next door, which made it quiet. The room was very clean, and spacious for 4 people. It had 3 closets for space and big restroom with tub and shower. The living room closes off from the bedroom which was great. The balcony has a lounge chair and a seperate table with 4 chairs. There's a microwave, coffee maker and small refrigerator. The room has A/C and both bedroom and living room have door access to the balcony. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was awesome with many selections and an omelet station. The pools are open 24 hours a day allowing you to swim any tim, not all hotel pools have these hours. They do not use chlorine to clean the pool but instead they use a more earth-friendly method. I loved it because my hair didn't stink after the pool. The hotel offers the first night of valet parking free and a complimentary canoe experience. This hotel is next door to the Four Seasons and Grand Wailea Hotel and offers top notch service. You couldn't ask for a better location and I hope that I can return soon. The main restaurant Ko is being renovated but we experienced no problem from it. They were also updating the lobby and corridor furniture when we left. Another thing I loved about this hotel is that they have a free washer and dryer on each floor so we went home with clean clothes. Lastly its 30 minutes from the airport and 45 minutes from Lahaina.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave1
Chico, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

45th anniversary trip

We were very pleased with our stay at the Fairmont Kea Lani. We also stayed at the Fairmont Orchid on the big island and were pleased there as well. Good job Orbitz!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
sf,ca
Dec 16, 2010

Excellent Experience

The hotel is beautiful and the suites were terrific as our young son slept in the other room. Highly recommended: pricey, particularly the food, but well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma
Jul 10, 2009

Best Hotel-Most Caring Staff

The hotel was wonderful, but our experience is worth noting. My husband suffered a boogie boarding accident on the beach just 2 days into our stay and had to be hospitalized past our check out date. The staff at the Kea Lani extended our stay for a nice reduced rate, took me to the hospital a few times when I needed help, fed us a couple of times, and called and checked on me numerous times. They truly care about their guests. They acted like a true 5 star resort. Even though we were at a reduced rate for a few days after our check out date, they kept us in our deluxe ocean view suite. My husband is still recovering and will be for some time, but if we can return to Maui, we will not hesitate to stay again at the Kea Lani. They are the best. I cannot say the same for Orbitz, who would not work with me at all on putting a hold on our airline tickets (we had a true emergency and could not fly out with my husband in the hospital). The Orbitz people were very rude. Be careful about buying a package from Orbitz-be sure to read the fine print. We found out the hard way. And always buy the trip cancellation/interruption/medical insurance when you are far from home. You never know when you might need it, and its worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lo684
Portland, Oregon
Aug 15, 2010

Lovely and unpretentious

We enjoyed the most relaxing, most comfortable vacation on Maui while staying at the Fairmont Kea Lani. Our vacation consisted of sitting by the beach in the morning and sitting by the pool in the afternoon. We didn't come to explore or sightsee -- we came to relax, and that's exactly what we were able to do. The room was a spacious and beautifully appointed suite. The lanai was especially comfortable with a chaise lounge and table and chairs. We enjoyed our daily breakfast there while admiring the view. Although we started in an equally beautiful room, we were quickly and graciously upgraded when there was a small water spot caused by a leaking refrigerator. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The Kea Lani is a resort, and so the prices in the restaurants and deli were a little high, although the small cafe/deli/sundry shop was so charming and provided small bites like pizza, fried chicken, yogurt and salads that we enjoyed for not much more than the local grocery stores were charging. I developed a love of the Maui Mojito, prepared in the beautiful lounge. My husband confirmed that the Gimlets were delicious. When we did leave the hotel, we made the short 10-15 minute drive to many restaurants in Kihei. We were also very pleased with the surroundings and service at the Wailea Golf Club across the street. From very friendly, helpful service to the beautiful surroundings to the free parking and easy access to a beautiful beach and aloha spirit, we wholeheartedly recommend the Kea Lani.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a delicious, inexpensive dinner, go to the restaurant called Vietnamese Cuisine. Treat yourself to a Clay Pot rice dish and Vietnamese Burritos that you roll yourself in rice paper. We loved it so much that we returned for our final dinner on Maui!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mai tai man
calif
Oct 11, 2010

Excellent Service Great Rooms!

We were not pleased with our first room. It was to close to the pool. The staff quickly found us 2 alternative chioces and let us decide which one we wanted. We were very pleased with our new room. The service is excellent. Beautiful Hotel and grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 24, 2009

Wonderful Maui Getaway

The resort itself was excellent all around. We really enjoyed the location on Maui (our first visit there) as we debated between Ka'anapali and Wailea. Free self parking is a huge bonus. Didn't feel nickeled and dimed at all. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk and staff with lais and cold beverages. The rooms were large suites with a very comfortable bed and huge luxurious bathroom. Rooms were cleaned daily with special cares to our belongings. Fitness center can be very busy around 8am. Machines are good. Yoga instructor not impressive if you have any previous experience. Breakfast good ?worth the $30. We had a great breakfast for the same price at Longhi's right down the street. Food was excellent everywhere we ate on the resort (didn't try Ko), including poolside (service overall good poolside, but slow at times). Nick's was fantastic (our favorite bottle of wine was $10 cheaper at Nick's than at Duo next door at the Four Seasons and the food was leaps better). Our last day there we had the worst service of our stay there at the Polo Grill (food was great though) and mentioned it to the front desk staff at checkout and they offered to remove the charge from our bill. With a late flight out we were able to use the pool the rest of the day and use one of the complimentary suites to shower and change before heading to the airport. Everyone was very nice. We did a lot of driving as a lot of the restaurants/functions we wanted to visit were in Lahaina and Ka'anapali - so consider that in your decision where on the island you want to stay. BUT, the beaches and snorkeling are fantastic in Wailea (with more turtles than up north). The Four Seasons looks like a phenomenal place to stay - very newly renovated, but price difference is so significant that I would go back to the Kea Lani in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DR BURT
NORTHBROOK, IL
Dec 11, 2011

GREAT EXPIERENCE

WONDERFUL TIME AT A WONDERFUL HOTEL. COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Redly
Boston, Ma
May 26, 2012

anniversary trip

We stayed at 4 different hotels on 2 islands all in one trip. This was the final spot. Such a great 'capper.' The staff is so professional. The grounds are beautiful. There is a food shop, excellent restaurants, nice pool, etc. The bed was comfortable, and I loved the bathroom set-up. Our suite did not overlook the ocean; a cost savings. The end of the hall had wide open living rooms available for all guests that did so you could see the water, watch the sunset, etc. It was great to have free laundry, a microwave & refrigerator all complimentary. That was a huge help in making us comfortable! Love this hotel and suggest you sign up to be a presidential club member before you go; gives you extra benefits for no cost. We snorkled just off the property & saw turltes, fish, etc. very safely. Love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to buy clothing or keepsakes, I wouldn't suggest the Fairmont Store. Hilo Hattie's or the outlets are not far away and have the same merchandise for a lot less money. We saw people bringing groceries in to the hotel from a nearby market to save on food costs as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top