$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
125 reviews
Trip to Maui

Hotel was excellent pool was beautiful with all the towels you need Food at hotel was good but... See full review

  • Gmil
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best Hotel For Families!

This was our 2nd stay at the Fairmont and we had a great time. The two-room suite works perfectly... See full review

  • PDX Family
  • Jun 26, 2014
Fairmont Hotels and Resorts on the islands of Hawaii and Bermuda have become part of the local communities here, providing world-class hospitality and cultural quirks. White domes and life-sized Hawaiian murals set the tone for your stay at The Kea Lani Maui Hotel, while a traditional lei greeting welcomes guests upon arrival. Immerse yourself in island culture on the hotel's Canoe Experience and Cultural Property tour, or drop your kids off at the children's club, where they can learn a few conversational Hawaiian phrases. A contemporary spa facility has special treatments like the Energy Journey -which allows guests to restore their inner balance with ingredients grown on Maui -plus Chamomile Body Polishes, Magnesium and Jade Wraps, and Relaxation Massages. After all that pampering, dine at one of the on-site restaurants and choose from seafood, internationally-influenced dishes, or bakery and deli treats.
Key facts
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Kids' club
  • Restaurants & lounges: Ko, Nick's Fishmarket Maui, Kea Lani Restaurant, Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli, Polo Beach Grill & Bar, Luana Lounge
  • Willow Stream Spa: 9,000-square-feet
  • Several pools, including an adult-only pool
  • On-site business center
  • Eco-incentives
  • Child care services (additional charges may apply)
  • 24-hour room service
  • 36,000-square-foot conference and event space
Neighborhood
One of four luxury accommodations in Wailea, the Kea Lani Maui is 22 acres of well-manicured property on the southwest shore of Maui, right on the edge of Wailea Polo Beach. The hotel is minutes away from The Shops at Wailea, an open mall that includes varied high-end shops and eateries, while golf enthusiasts can tee off on four different nearby courses.
Hints and tips
You may prefer to book a first-floor room near the lobby's north side for easy access to the upper pool and swim bar - sunset views are also stunning from these rooms.

If you are heading out on day trips in the local area, order a picnic basket from Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli for Italian lunch treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Rooms

Mountainside Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Haleakala Mountainside
Poolside Suite
Poolside Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Poolside and lawn area
Garden View Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Overlooking scenic tropical gardens or Mount Haleakala
Deluxe Ocean View Suite
Deluxe Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Full Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Suite
Partial Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from outside the suite
Ocean View Suite
Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from within the suite
Fairimont Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Limited view overlooking parking facility or side street

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

In-Room Dining
Hours Of Operation: Available 24 hours a day Elegant, intimate dining on your own private lanai with picturesque garden and ocean views. Let us bring the dining room to you! Daily specialties with delicious breakfast, sandwiches, assorted salads and complete meals for gourmet lunches and romantic dinners. Refreshing tropical drink specialties, fine wines and champagnes are also available to you through In-Room Dining.
Ko Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open for lunch and dinner. Hours vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire is requested. Ko offers cuisine reflective of the many cultures of Hawaii's sugarcane plantation era. The menu is inspired by the rich history and culinary traditions of Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese cultures. K, meaning "sugarcane" in Hawaiian, features Ahi "On the Rock," shichimi spiced with orange ginger miso sauce, Lobster Tempura with spicy-sesame, pineapple sweet chili garlic and grapefruit soy sauce, Maui Cattle Company "Paniolo" Rib-Eye Steak, and Coconut-Curry Lamb Chops marinated and grilled with mango-mint salsa. Each dish celebrates the cultures of the plantation workers with an emphasis on sustainability.
Nick's Fishmarket-Maui
Hours Of Operation: Open nightly 5:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual (collared shirt and dress shorts) This is one of Maui's premier seafood restaurants offering the Islands' freshest fish, Live Keahole Maine Lobster, and Maui Cattle Company Steaks in a tropical ambiance. Special features include a 2,000 bottle wine cellar, outdoor seating and a private dining room to accommodate as many as fifty guests. Nick's was voted Best Special Occasion Restaurant for 2004 and 2005. Nick's has also earned the Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Ama Bar and Grill & Bar
Ama Bar & Grill offers a taste of Hawaiis modern canoe lifestyle, featuring everything from contemporary poke bowls to plate lunch specials in a relaxed, outdoor and social atmosphere. Enjoy expansive ocean views and dont miss the swim-up bar for refreshing cocktails and fruit smoothies. It's the perfect restaurant in Wailea to bring together family and friends, to eat, drink, relax and talk story. Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 10:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (Bar) Open daily from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Restaurant) Times may vary depending on season.
Kea Lani Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire This open-air dining area offers a daily bountiful breakfast buffet and an exceptional a la carte menu service. The buffet contains fresh fruit including local seasonal favorites such as guava, mountain apples, rambutans and papayas as well as pastries and breads such as mango and banana nut bread that are freshly baked in the resort's pastry shop. The buffet also features an omelet station and rotating choices of hot and cold items including pancakes, waffles, link sausage, and smoked bacon as well as authentic Asian style breakfast foods including miso soup.
Luana Lounge
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 3:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual The open-air Luana Lounge offers spectacular views of the beautiful Maui sunset. You can enjoy a selection of pupus and a Kea Lani Cocktail or one of many specialty martinis served in a silver cocktail shaker and poured at your table. Enjoy live entertainment nightly from local musicians playing contemporary light jazz and music from the Islands.
Caffe Ciao Deli
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. Hours may vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Caffe Ciao Deli is a trattoria with home made sandwiches, salads and produce. Enjoy fresh bread, scones, muffins and desserts from our bake shop with a selection of coffee drinks. Signature Kea Lani jams, jellies, condiments and a variety of other gifts are also available. Enjoy a Custom Picnic Basket for your day at the beach or around the island. Choose from a large selection of gourmet food items, cheeses and wines from around the world. Or Take a gourmet meal for your plane ride home through our "Food for Flight" program. Select your very own lunch, dinner, or snack, tailored just to your taste-it is the perfect end to a perfect vacation.
Twilight Dinner
Enjoy the Twilight Dinner in your own private cabana under the soft glow of hanging lanterns. Located adjacent to K on the Adult Pool deck, the Twilight Dinner is available for up to six people. As a Twilight Dinner guest, you will be served a personalized four course meal along with a choice of selected wines, as you enjoy the brilliant colors of the sky at dusk. This is the perfect way to create a lasting memory of any celebration.
Hoku Lani Dinner
The Hoku Lani Dinner experience is designed especially for those who are seeking a more intimate and elegant evening, whether you are celebrating an anniversary, engagement, birthday or just want to share an enchanting evening with someone special, this dinner is the perfect way to create a romantic memory to last a lifetime. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Kea Lani offers a broad range of function rooms-from elegant boardrooms and banquet halls, to magnificent ballrooms and state-of-the-art amphitheaters with professional multimedia services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orgill224
Business
snohomish,wa
Jul 3, 2010

great family vacation

It was amazing!!!!!love love love this hotel. Would go back in a minute!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amhenner
Business
Cincinnati Ohio USA
Sep 12, 2011

The best hotel experience ever!

We could not of ask for a better hotel. It made our vacation one of the best. I was so impressed with the friendliness of the staff and what excellent service they provided. Thanks for a wonderful vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I loved the artists in Lahaina and Pa'ia. Unbelievable quality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
none
Business
Enid, OK, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Wonderful Couple Getaway

Prefect. All Staff very helpful and very nice. Staff was able to answer all questions and setup things for us to do and took us to the events they scheduled for us. Gave us maps with directions as to how to get to different malls and shopping centers to go shopping and sight seeing. Perfect room service and maid service. We plan another trip to Hawaii... Loved it..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to do at hotel. Shopping really nice sight seeing wonderful. Enjoyed many things

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tuniandweezmom
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 8, 2011

Highly Recommend

This was our second time staying at the Kea Lani. Our frist trip was for our honeymoon and it was amazing. This time I traveled late summer with my husband, toddler, and infant and we had an excellent time. The service and amenities were top notch. The hotel provided me with a pack n play, a crib, rocking chair, changing station and even baby proofed the room. When we were out by the pool they even offered to set up a pack n play. The grounds are gorgeous. The rooms are huge and have a microwave and fridge which are extremely convienent. The staff is extrememly helpful and the service was what I would expect. Whether you are traveling with a family or a romantic getaway the Kea Lani is an wonderful resort to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
suhyun
Business
korea
Jul 9, 2009

So~~~nice

it was so beautiful place then my expectation. I want to go again!!! room.pool.service...everything was so nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I reccommend restaurant 'nick's fisherman's,,,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, WI
Oct 9, 2009

Everyone was extremely pleasant.

Recently spent 8 days in Hawaii for the first time. Started at the Sheraton Waikiki in Honolulu, and then shipped out for a stay at the Fairmont Kea Lani. From the first moment we got there, we were welcomed with open arms. Every single member of the staff was friendly. We were greeted with tropical juice and native jewelry. We had great bellman service, and our room was very spacious. We booked the ocean front deluxe suite, and it came with a nice panoramic view of the ocean. Unfortunately, it overlooked one of the swimming pools / swimming pool bars. This got to be a bit noisy at times, but only when we were out on the balcony. The room had a separate living room and bedroom. The bed was mildly comfortably, and there was a tv in both the living and bedrooms. The bathroom was huge with 2 sinks, separate shower and bath and separate toilet room. There were plenty of dining options, and we particularly liked the small cafe / deli. The beach was great, and there are plenty of watersport options. We took a nice canoe / snorkeling tour. We looked at the surrounding properties (Grand Wailea and Four Seasons), and we were glad that we chose the Kea Lani. There was plenty of shopping within a 2 minute drive. Overall, things were great. The only negative I would add would be that the rooms seemed a bit dated and could use some cosmetic touch-ups. However, the stay was great and Maui was far better than Oahu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of dining on site, but the Shops at Wailea have 4 nice choices as well and they're only 2 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 24, 2009

Wonderful Maui Getaway

The resort itself was excellent all around. We really enjoyed the location on Maui (our first visit there) as we debated between Ka'anapali and Wailea. Free self parking is a huge bonus. Didn't feel nickeled and dimed at all. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk and staff with lais and cold beverages. The rooms were large suites with a very comfortable bed and huge luxurious bathroom. Rooms were cleaned daily with special cares to our belongings. Fitness center can be very busy around 8am. Machines are good. Yoga instructor not impressive if you have any previous experience. Breakfast good ?worth the $30. We had a great breakfast for the same price at Longhi's right down the street. Food was excellent everywhere we ate on the resort (didn't try Ko), including poolside (service overall good poolside, but slow at times). Nick's was fantastic (our favorite bottle of wine was $10 cheaper at Nick's than at Duo next door at the Four Seasons and the food was leaps better). Our last day there we had the worst service of our stay there at the Polo Grill (food was great though) and mentioned it to the front desk staff at checkout and they offered to remove the charge from our bill. With a late flight out we were able to use the pool the rest of the day and use one of the complimentary suites to shower and change before heading to the airport. Everyone was very nice. We did a lot of driving as a lot of the restaurants/functions we wanted to visit were in Lahaina and Ka'anapali - so consider that in your decision where on the island you want to stay. BUT, the beaches and snorkeling are fantastic in Wailea (with more turtles than up north). The Four Seasons looks like a phenomenal place to stay - very newly renovated, but price difference is so significant that I would go back to the Kea Lani in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Jul 10, 2009

Best Hotel-Most Caring Staff

The hotel was wonderful, but our experience is worth noting. My husband suffered a boogie boarding accident on the beach just 2 days into our stay and had to be hospitalized past our check out date. The staff at the Kea Lani extended our stay for a nice reduced rate, took me to the hospital a few times when I needed help, fed us a couple of times, and called and checked on me numerous times. They truly care about their guests. They acted like a true 5 star resort. Even though we were at a reduced rate for a few days after our check out date, they kept us in our deluxe ocean view suite. My husband is still recovering and will be for some time, but if we can return to Maui, we will not hesitate to stay again at the Kea Lani. They are the best. I cannot say the same for Orbitz, who would not work with me at all on putting a hold on our airline tickets (we had a true emergency and could not fly out with my husband in the hospital). The Orbitz people were very rude. Be careful about buying a package from Orbitz-be sure to read the fine print. We found out the hard way. And always buy the trip cancellation/interruption/medical insurance when you are far from home. You never know when you might need it, and its worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave1
Business
Chico, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

45th anniversary trip

We were very pleased with our stay at the Fairmont Kea Lani. We also stayed at the Fairmont Orchid on the big island and were pleased there as well. Good job Orbitz!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 27, 2010

Great Hotel and Location to the Beach

We relaxed by the beach walking distance from our room. This was the first vacation that all the people working at the hotel were happy at all hours of the day. We were greeted with Aloha even at 2am in the morning from the night clean up staff!!! I look for a clean place - everything was clean - the hotel, the fitness room, the beach and the pool! The Fairmont was a great decision. I would have given all five's for a review if it wasn't for the $9/hr rentals on beach equipment and the $30/person for Breakfast Brunch with rubbery pancakes and typical buffet food. Most folks end up at Costco or Wal-Mart buying a boogie board for the kids instead of renting.. Breakfast for 3 shouldn't cost $100 - we didn't have a prime rib or something beyond eggs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Start your week off by going to Marco's Dine and Grill. The food is great and the price is an incredible value. We got there in the last night - bummer. It's back by the airport at the corner by the Hana Highway. Enjoy the Vodka Rigatoni and the to die for chocolate cake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top