$464 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
View map of 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
128 reviews
Best family trip ever!

We loved the Fairmont -- especially the "suites" style rooms. The pools, staff, restaurants,... See full review

  • Molly H.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Beautiful place to get away.

The hotel has spectacular rooms, an excellent water slide, and is very close to a fantastic beach... See full review

  • JohnnyIsHere
  • Jan 9, 2015
Fairmont Hotels and Resorts on the islands of Hawaii and Bermuda have become part of the local communities here, providing world-class hospitality and cultural quirks. White domes and life-sized Hawaiian murals set the tone for your stay at The Kea Lani Maui Hotel, while a traditional lei greeting welcomes guests upon arrival. Immerse yourself in island culture on the hotel's Canoe Experience and Cultural Property tour, or drop your kids off at the children's club, where they can learn a few conversational Hawaiian phrases. A contemporary spa facility has special treatments like the Energy Journey -which allows guests to restore their inner balance with ingredients grown on Maui -plus Chamomile Body Polishes, Magnesium and Jade Wraps, and Relaxation Massages. After all that pampering, dine at one of the on-site restaurants and choose from seafood, internationally-influenced dishes, or bakery and deli treats.
Key facts
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Kids' club
  • Restaurants & lounges: Ko, Nick's Fishmarket Maui, Kea Lani Restaurant, Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli, Polo Beach Grill & Bar, Luana Lounge
  • Willow Stream Spa: 9,000-square-feet
  • Several pools, including an adult-only pool
  • On-site business center
  • Eco-incentives
  • Child care services (additional charges may apply)
  • 24-hour room service
  • 36,000-square-foot conference and event space
Neighborhood
One of four luxury accommodations in Wailea, the Kea Lani Maui is 22 acres of well-manicured property on the southwest shore of Maui, right on the edge of Wailea Polo Beach. The hotel is minutes away from The Shops at Wailea, an open mall that includes varied high-end shops and eateries, while golf enthusiasts can tee off on four different nearby courses.
Hints and tips
You may prefer to book a first-floor room near the lobby's north side for easy access to the upper pool and swim bar - sunset views are also stunning from these rooms.

If you are heading out on day trips in the local area, order a picnic basket from Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli for Italian lunch treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Rooms

Garden View Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Overlooking scenic tropical gardens or Mount Haleakala
Deluxe Ocean View Suite
Deluxe Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Full Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Suite
Partial Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from outside the suite
Ocean View Suite
Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from within the suite
Fairimont Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Limited view overlooking parking facility or side street
Mountainside Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Haleakala Mountainside
Poolside Suite
Poolside Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Poolside and lawn area

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Kea Lani offers a broad range of function rooms-from elegant boardrooms and banquet halls, to magnificent ballrooms and state-of-the-art amphitheaters with professional multimedia services.

Dining

Twilight Dinner
Enjoy the Twilight Dinner in your own private cabana under the soft glow of hanging lanterns. Located adjacent to K on the Adult Pool deck, the Twilight Dinner is available for up to six people. As a Twilight Dinner guest, you will be served a personalized four course meal along with a choice of selected wines, as you enjoy the brilliant colors of the sky at dusk. This is the perfect way to create a lasting memory of any celebration.
Hoku Lani Dinner
The Hoku Lani Dinner experience is designed especially for those who are seeking a more intimate and elegant evening, whether you are celebrating an anniversary, engagement, birthday or just want to share an enchanting evening with someone special, this dinner is the perfect way to create a romantic memory to last a lifetime. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.
In-Room Dining
Hours Of Operation: Available 24 hours a day Elegant, intimate dining on your own private lanai with picturesque garden and ocean views. Let us bring the dining room to you! Daily specialties with delicious breakfast, sandwiches, assorted salads and complete meals for gourmet lunches and romantic dinners. Refreshing tropical drink specialties, fine wines and champagnes are also available to you through In-Room Dining.
Ko Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open for lunch and dinner. Hours vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire is requested. Ko offers cuisine reflective of the many cultures of Hawaii's sugarcane plantation era. The menu is inspired by the rich history and culinary traditions of Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese cultures. K, meaning "sugarcane" in Hawaiian, features Ahi "On the Rock," shichimi spiced with orange ginger miso sauce, Lobster Tempura with spicy-sesame, pineapple sweet chili garlic and grapefruit soy sauce, Maui Cattle Company "Paniolo" Rib-Eye Steak, and Coconut-Curry Lamb Chops marinated and grilled with mango-mint salsa. Each dish celebrates the cultures of the plantation workers with an emphasis on sustainability.
Nick's Fishmarket-Maui
Hours Of Operation: Open nightly 5:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual (collared shirt and dress shorts) This is one of Maui's premier seafood restaurants offering the Islands' freshest fish, Live Keahole Maine Lobster, and Maui Cattle Company Steaks in a tropical ambiance. Special features include a 2,000 bottle wine cellar, outdoor seating and a private dining room to accommodate as many as fifty guests. Nick's was voted Best Special Occasion Restaurant for 2004 and 2005. Nick's has also earned the Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Ama Bar and Grill & Bar
Ama Bar & Grill offers a taste of Hawaiis modern canoe lifestyle, featuring everything from contemporary poke bowls to plate lunch specials in a relaxed, outdoor and social atmosphere. Enjoy expansive ocean views and dont miss the swim-up bar for refreshing cocktails and fruit smoothies. It's the perfect restaurant in Wailea to bring together family and friends, to eat, drink, relax and talk story. Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 10:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (Bar) Open daily from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Restaurant) Times may vary depending on season.
Kea Lani Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire This open-air dining area offers a daily bountiful breakfast buffet and an exceptional a la carte menu service. The buffet contains fresh fruit including local seasonal favorites such as guava, mountain apples, rambutans and papayas as well as pastries and breads such as mango and banana nut bread that are freshly baked in the resort's pastry shop. The buffet also features an omelet station and rotating choices of hot and cold items including pancakes, waffles, link sausage, and smoked bacon as well as authentic Asian style breakfast foods including miso soup.
Luana Lounge
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 3:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual The open-air Luana Lounge offers spectacular views of the beautiful Maui sunset. You can enjoy a selection of pupus and a Kea Lani Cocktail or one of many specialty martinis served in a silver cocktail shaker and poured at your table. Enjoy live entertainment nightly from local musicians playing contemporary light jazz and music from the Islands.
Caffe Ciao Deli
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. Hours may vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Caffe Ciao Deli is a trattoria with home made sandwiches, salads and produce. Enjoy fresh bread, scones, muffins and desserts from our bake shop with a selection of coffee drinks. Signature Kea Lani jams, jellies, condiments and a variety of other gifts are also available. Enjoy a Custom Picnic Basket for your day at the beach or around the island. Choose from a large selection of gourmet food items, cheeses and wines from around the world. Or Take a gourmet meal for your plane ride home through our "Food for Flight" program. Select your very own lunch, dinner, or snack, tailored just to your taste-it is the perfect end to a perfect vacation.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sammy xx
Business
LA
Feb 7, 2012

Maui trip

I would recommend checking with the hotel for any construction durning your stay..unfortunately we did not and it was very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
doccarol
Business
Tucson, Az
Apr 23, 2009

Fairmont Kea Lani

I thought that the room smelled. The shower was dirty, moldy. I stayed at this hotel 7-8 years ago and it was much cleaner. It appears that it has lost its up keep. I finally asked for another room. I wouldn't stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TGSEA
Business
Seattle
May 21, 2013

Kids Don't Eat Free / Expensive / Cockroach

I'm really torn about what rating to give the hotel. We just got back from a 6 night/7 day stay there with my family of 4 (two kids which are 5 and 8). We had a fantastic time overall! The resort has plenty of good aspects: * beautiful grounds and location -- better than Grand Wailea and the Four Seasons. * great service from most people * 3 pools with one for adults * not too many people * Nick's Fishmarket is amazing * large rooms, and we had a great one I could go on with the pros of the hotel, but others have done that well. Unfortunately, we had a few incidents that left me with a less than stellar perspective on the hotel. First, the website advertises that kids 5 and under eat free, and kids 6-11 eat for half price. It appears few at the resort knows this policy or understands it. We went based on recommendation from our family who went there about a year ago. They had kids and ate poolside for free and reduced price. One of the first things we did when we arrived was go to the pool and order food. Guess what? It doesn't work poolside any more. The waitress told us we had to be in a sit down restaurant. So, we went to a sit down restaurant a couple days later. We ate at Nick's Fishmarket, where a kids meal is $15. We didn't think too much of this because of the kids eat free thing. However, when the bill came, we were told that Nick's isn't part of the hotel, so it was full price. When I complained to the concierge she didn't know the policy, and it took several minutes to try to find someone who knew what it would be. She then said every where BUT poolside and EXCEPT for Nick's was under the policy. She apologized and said the manager would call us to answer the question further. No call came from the Manager. The next day we then went to the hotel restaurant for breakfast. This time when I asked the waitress about the policy before ordering, she stated that the policy was only that kids 5 and under eat free, and kids 6-11 are regular price. I disputed this with her but she wouldn't take it and said that the price on the menu was it! Afterward she was very "cold" to us--not helpful, didn't tell us we need to get our own OJ from the buffet, and basically made me feel like I was stealing somehow when I took a bite of my daughters (free) bacon. Of course, I went back to the concierge to complain. I had the same concierge and she asked if the Manager ever contacted me--no-- and she again promised they would. She was nice and apologized but nothing came of it. We checked out a day later and were never contacted nor had any amends made. This is particularly frustrating since this policy is all over the website--but no one provides the policy when you check in, nor seems to understand it. Finally, we paid around $700 / day at the resort for room + food (at least). The cost of providing the kids food would probably have been $10 out of their pocket per day--kids don't eat much. It really left a bad taste in our mouth for their behavior, especially for such a minimal amount of money. This was also one of the reasons we selected the resort--we thought the cost of feeding the kids would be reduced compared to other resorts! All that said, the resort is quite expensive, so if you go make sure you are aware of that and find alternatives as needed. $20 for a hamburger, $25 for eggs benedict, $12-16 for a cocktail, etc. Lastly, one night we found a single cockroach in the bathroom. My wife screamed, and I caught and killed the cockroach. I know they are a tropical resort and pests are hard to prevent, but at the same time I think if there is 1 cockroach there are very likely more. You shouldn't have to deal with this at a Fairmont!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not a Fairmont Kea Lani Fan
Business
Orange County, CA
Jun 9, 2010

NOT WORTH IT! Stay somewhere else!

Where do I start??? First off, I have to say that I chose to stay at Fairmont for my entire 6 day trip to Maui and got an ocean view suite because it is arguably deemed the most luxurious or one of the most luxurious places to stay in Maui, and I had visited the lobby and the common areas when I went to Maui last time. DO NOT BE FOOLED. I wish I had not wasted my money on the Fairmont, and I will never stay there again. A condo in Kihei or a hotel in Lahaina would have been comparable in terms of the room you get and a FRACTION of the cost...I'm NOT exaggerating. The only thing that sets this place apart from regular hotels or condos is the lobby. It is grand and beautiful. The pool is pretty too, but if you come to Maui to stay in the pools, you might as well travel to a non-island resort with a great pool and pay much much less. So everything beyond the lobby was extremely dissapointing. Parking: The parking lot was ridiculous. This resort is not cramped for space, but they stuctured their parking lot as if they couldn't afford to give you one more inch of turning radius into a stall. Every time we drove back to the resort at the end of another fabulous day exploring and relaxing and having fun, the parking lot would just anger me. You have to shoe horn your car in. For the lack of a better word, it's just lame. It's so cheap feeling for this supposed "luxury resort", an indication of how Fairmont cuts corners. Rooms: Shortly after we checked into our room, we realized that our bar area was swarming with ants. I called the front desk and instead of offering to switch us to another room, she promptly said she would send up housekeeping and ended the call. Okay, fine. We'll try that first. A guy comes up with a can of bug spray and a cloth and sprays the entire entry of our room and wipes up. Except now, our room is full of fumes and smells so strongly of bug spray, it's making me feel sick. I had both balcony doors open and the wind was strong, but still, the fumes were stronger. I asked the guy if ants is a problem in every room, and he said yes, "this side of the hotel has ants, but that side doesn't". So I called front desk and told her about the fumes, and she curtly says (words seem nice, but tone was rude), "What would you like me to do about that?...Would you like to have a bottle of wine on us and go out for dinner while the smell dies down?" I said, "No, can you just give us a new room on the other side of the hotel where there are no ants?" She says she'll check and call me back. While I am pacing around the room waiting for her call back, I realize how dirty the room was. The floor was unvaccuumed for I don't know how long - it had an extremely thick coat of dust. There were dead moths by the balcony door. The hamper in the bathroom had a bunch of toe nail clippings in there - DISGUSTING. The room is not luxurious. Like I said, you would get a similar looking room in a condo in Kihei or any other hotel in Maui. The furniture and decor are old. The bathroom grout is cracked. The shower fixture is something you would find in a motel. Food: Nick's Fish Market is VERY good. I would go there for dinner. The service and food are really just excellent. I would go there again and again. Their other restaurant Ko...they really push for their guests to go there...let's just say I did not see ONE person eating there all week. Anticipating a name change if business for them keeps like this. Breakfast Buffet: I really don't know why other people rave about this buffet. It is VERY BASIC. There is an omelet station. Besides that, it's fruit, cereal, eggs, pancakes, waffles, muffins, etc. I've been to so many other luxury resorts with impressive buffets. This one does the job...we ate there two mornings (it's basically your only option), and it's not bad, but it's nothing to rave about. And in addition, that place is swarming with birds. The guy at the table next to us said i...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super CPA
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 29, 2010

A little too quiet

We knew that the pools were being renovated but it was still disappointing as the whole central area was cordoned off. The restaurant choices other than Nick's Fish Market were almost non-existent. The other dinner reataurant was deserted and not too inviting. The beach was great and the free snorkel gear and boogie boards because of the pool renovations was a nice gesture.The rooms/suites were really nice and clean and well furnished. They need to upgrade to flat screen TVs. I guess it was the off season in late September. Weather was great with no rain for the four days we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The fish dishes at Nick's Fish Market..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 28, 2010

New carpets are a must

The beach was great. More complimentary umbrellas at the pool and beach would have been nice. Providing pineapples poolside was great.The kids enjoyed the waterslide. I was not at all impressed with my room. The furniture and rugs needed to be cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the luau at the Grand Wahalea Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World traveller8
Business
San Mateo, CA
Apr 6, 2014

Nice resort

Beautiful resort, beautiful area. This area of Hawaii is very pricey though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LJT555
Business
Napa, CA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Maui

I was here 5 nights for my honeymoon. The staff is VERY friendly!! Very nice hotel. We probably won't stay again because it's super expensive, for a burger and chips its $25 bucks! The only reason we were able to stay this time was because they were doing maitnence work on part of the hotel so we got are room for half off. Other than it not being a cheap place to room or eat, it's a awesome location! Ohhh and if u want a king size bed, they make u jump through hoops to get one so make sure u email them ahead of time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaggieM
Business
Chicago
Nov 27, 2011

Relaxing Getaway

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon (delayed as we got married at the beginning of the year). We were looking for a relaxing hotel with amenities so we didn't have to stray far from the hotel if we didn't want to. While we ended up driving around the whole island, we definitely enjoyed our time spent here. Beautiful facilities (even with Ko being under construction) and a relaxing environment even with plenty of families around. Easy access to polo beach (and we got free use of umbrellas, chairs, etc. because of the construction). We enjoyed half off drinks during happy hour in the Luana Lounge, with some sort of entertainment in the background as we sipped on drinks and enjoyed the sunset. The only thing that was annoying about being here during renovation was that there was only one functioning elevator on our end of the hotel. Would definitely recommend coming here for couples, families, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mpizzle
Business
Reno, NV
Dec 12, 2011

Great Week

Eventhough the hotel was doing some renovations, the service and amenities were great. Can't beat the beach. Much better than the Grand W. Planning to go every year from now on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Wailea spa is great. Also, Monkey Pod Kitchen is a super restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top