$483 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
View map of 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jul 11, 2011

serene and quiet, away from stress

The hotel staff was very accomodating, sweet and helpful. Everyone had a great demeanor about himself. The pools were gorgeous and the beach is beautiful. We travelled to the crater and to hana and even did a helicopter ride. Food in Maui is yummy and the hotel's restaurants were fabulous as well. Beautiful room :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
famtraveller
Business
Fremont, CA
Jul 10, 2011

Excellent service and good value

The suite was very good -- spacious and nicely appointed. Bed and sofa bed were comfortable, the bathroom was big and well designed with dual sinks. The patio/balcony was had spare space even with a big patio table and 4 chairs plus chaise. The resort amenities were decent -- kids loved the 2-level pool with connecting water slide as well as easy access to the beach. Service was excellent. We arrived much earlier than the check-in time -- they offered us a temporary "hospitality" suite to change or relax while our suite was still getting cleaned. When we called in to report an issue with the refregirator, the engineer arrived within a minute. The valet coordinator ([...]) doubled up as a concierge and they had water and towels handy at the valet desk for your outing! Will stay here again on our next trip to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Outdoor movie at the nearby Grand Wailea and free Wednesday evening concert / performance at the "Shops at Wailea".

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto
Jul 6, 2011

Another great trip to the Kea Lani

This was our 5th time staying at the Kea Lani and we were once again very pleased! While it is not as "exciting" for our kids (ages 9, 11 and 14) as the Grand Wailea, to us parents it represents the perfect family resort. Pools, a great beach, activities, etc. but not too big or hectic so that you feel like you're always looking for your kids. The rooms are what really set the Kea Lani apart as far as value for your money; every room is an 800 sq ft suite. We book two since our kids are older and we like to have our space, but you could definitely have a family of 4 or 5 in one suite if you ask for two queen beds in the bedroom and then use the pull-out couch in the living room. The staff everywhere is extremely friendly, with the exception of perhaps the servers at the breakfast buffet. They seem to be "over it" a bit, which is strange since all they do is bring you coffee and take away plates. The concierge staff, pool attendants, etc are all great and very accommodating. We also found that booking a pool cabana worked well for us since we don't like to get out to the pool at the crack of dawn to save seats. The cost of the cabana is $150/day, but if you are a Fairmont President's Club member (free to join), they take off 15%. The price of the cabana includes a cooler with drinks (sodas, juice and water) and a large fruit plate which would often serve as our lunch since we ate so much at breakfast. The one area that we were disappointed in was the restaurants-- Ko and Nick's Fishmarket, which seem to have gone downhill in the last few years. We are definitely "foodies", so our tastes may run a little high, but it really seems like Nick's especially has lost it's edge. In years past we had been very impressed, but now found the food to be very contrived and heavy and the service unpredictable. Overall, we will definitely go back to the Kea Lani again, but probably choose to eat elsewhere more often (like at Spago at the Four Seasons where we had two AMAZING meals).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui Regular Wanna Be
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 2, 2011

Not the biggest....why it's great

This is the second time we stayed at Fairmont Kea Lani. It is by no means the biggest resort hotel in Wailea...and we were glad for it again. The pools are never crowded, unused lounge chairs are easy to find, service is great because the staff is not overwhelmed, and the beach is small but you don't have to boogie board around or over other people. The rooms are very comfortable, with plenty of room for everything. We will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can pick up delicious take-outs from Kihei (Eskimo Candy) and the Kea Lani rooms have small fridge and microwave.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento Ca.
Jun 6, 2011

Great Location,love the room.&beachwalk

We enjoy celebrating our anniversary every year at the Fairmont Kea Lani. We really had an enjoyable time starting each day with an exorbitant beach walk & ended our day with a lovely dinner. We had a GREAT TIME in what I call Paradise! Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

NIcks Fish House

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T&J
Business
Totowa, NJ
Jun 6, 2011

Always a Fan of The Fairmont

We love the Fairmont. This was our first time at the Kea Lani, and we would definitely return. We've stayed at other Fairmont locations, and this one did not disappoint. The Fairmont Orchid in the Big Island is something to see! If you're staying in Wailea, definitely choose the Fairmont! It was CLEAN, huge rooms (and the baseline price), and gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 2, 2011

Playful and Easy vacation

This hotel is really lovely. It is comfortable and luxurious without being ostentatious. We had a great vacation. The major upsides of this hotel: The rooms are perfect - spacious, well equipped with refrigerators/sink/coffee maker, and beautiful. We had a mountain view and it was still lovely. The staff are beyond helpful and friendly. The place is just breathtaking. Downsides: The food is very expensive and not worth the prices, for the most part. The take out food at the cafe is more reasonable. The pool chair system is strange. They reserve a number of prime spots under shaded tents for rental but they sat open most of the time we were there. It seems a wasteful way to use pool space in a relatively crowded resort. Overall, loved the place. Would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Monkeypod - a new restaurant just up the street. Good food and great beer and wine.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun-loving vacationer
Business
San Diego, CA
May 19, 2011

Very helpful staff!

The staff was very friendly and hospitable. The pools and beach are fantastic. Very close to the shops and restaurants in Wailea.....hotel provides curtosey shuttle as well. We had a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
May 15, 2011

Fantastic hotel

This is a beautiful hotel at a great location. Everything was perfect. Great snorkeling at the hotel beach location. The hotel staff was very helpful and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 12, 2011

Great Maui Experience

This was our second time staying at the Fairmont Kea Lani and our 8th or 9th visit to Maui. We typically stay up north in Kapalua but like the warmer weather down south. The Fairmont Kea Lani is a beautiful resort in a prime location. The grounds are well kept and expansive and the beach right out front is gorgeous. You also have immediate access to the boardwalk that lets you stroll or exercise around other Wailea beaches and resorts. We love this hotel because the rooms are a great size (suites), the pools are very kid friendly, there is easy beach access right out front, and there are various eating options right on site. This is in contrast to Kapalua where most of what you do / eat is more self service or offsite and beaches are more rugid. I would say the only bummer about this hotel, which was shared by many other people we met during our stay, is that their pricing on food and drink are very excessive - to the point where you have to think twice about making the purchase or have buyers remorse. A lot of the food is just average but you'll pay, for example, twice as much for a salad here as you will for one up north at Kapalua Ritz. I'd recommend this hotel and we'd stay here again. But I wish they would be more fair about their pricing so we can all feel as good about leaving as we did when we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top