$429 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
View map of 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lo684
Business
Portland, Oregon
Aug 15, 2010

Lovely and unpretentious

We enjoyed the most relaxing, most comfortable vacation on Maui while staying at the Fairmont Kea Lani. Our vacation consisted of sitting by the beach in the morning and sitting by the pool in the afternoon. We didn't come to explore or sightsee -- we came to relax, and that's exactly what we were able to do. The room was a spacious and beautifully appointed suite. The lanai was especially comfortable with a chaise lounge and table and chairs. We enjoyed our daily breakfast there while admiring the view. Although we started in an equally beautiful room, we were quickly and graciously upgraded when there was a small water spot caused by a leaking refrigerator. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The Kea Lani is a resort, and so the prices in the restaurants and deli were a little high, although the small cafe/deli/sundry shop was so charming and provided small bites like pizza, fried chicken, yogurt and salads that we enjoyed for not much more than the local grocery stores were charging. I developed a love of the Maui Mojito, prepared in the beautiful lounge. My husband confirmed that the Gimlets were delicious. When we did leave the hotel, we made the short 10-15 minute drive to many restaurants in Kihei. We were also very pleased with the surroundings and service at the Wailea Golf Club across the street. From very friendly, helpful service to the beautiful surroundings to the free parking and easy access to a beautiful beach and aloha spirit, we wholeheartedly recommend the Kea Lani.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a delicious, inexpensive dinner, go to the restaurant called Vietnamese Cuisine. Treat yourself to a Clay Pot rice dish and Vietnamese Burritos that you roll yourself in rice paper. We loved it so much that we returned for our final dinner on Maui!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, California
Aug 15, 2010

Would't stay anywhere else!

I have stayed at this property every year for approximately l0 years. Love the walk along the ocean. It is so peaceful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to dining.shopping and attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sista Act
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 11, 2011

Getaway

Loved every minute of the vacation. loved the fruit drink we received upon arrival. enjoyed being able to swim and then eat without having to go back to the room. Tropical garden tour was great, enjoyed the sugar mill tour. I will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 15, 2008

Stay at the Fairmont

I highly recommend the Fairmont. The hotel is located in Wailea which is a quiet and really nice part of Maui. The hotel itself is very nice. The lobby is picturesque and the hotel has 3 pools... one of which is an adults only pool. I recommend the ocean view suites as you have a nice view of the ocean. Pool view suites are Ok as well, because you will be able to see some of the ocean. The room is very nice. You will not be disappointed. The only setback for this hotel is that there are only a few dining choices. Of course the breakfast buffet is awesome, however for dinner there are only a few nice restaurants such as Nicks Fish Market. The Four Seasons is next door and you will find some nice resaurants there, such as DUO, a nice steak and seafood restaurant. If you are going to Maui on a honeymoon or special occasion and would like to spend time in a nice place, I suggest you stay in Wailea. Kannapali is OK, but you will see so much more traffic in that part of Maui. Wailea is the quieter, more scenic and beautiful part of Maui. Also, the Fairmont or Four Seasons are your best bet for really nice hotels. Grand Wailea is very nice as well, but you will find more families there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Shops at Wailea is an upscale shopping center that is a 5 minute drive from the Fairmont. There are also some nice resaurants there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leon
Sep 24, 2008

Great Experience

Overall my stay in Maui was very outstanding and a big part of that was the Fairmont Kea Lani. The hotel is kind off old, but everything in Hawaii is old or let's say antique but the guys in the property do a perfect job to keep it running. All the facility is very well kept, the gardens, pool, spa, fitness, lobby and lobby bar not to mention the restaurants are in great shape; NICK'S FISH MARKET is a must, great food and great service, don't miss it. The beach is one of the nicest in Maui and the location is in one of the pririest and luxurious places in the island, you have 5 (yes, five) golf courses just across the street. Recomend it with eye's wide shot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A very nice shopping mall with restaurants, go to the LONGHIS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation Planning Mom
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2010

Perfectly Beautiful Family vaca spot

The Fairmont Kea Lani is a Beautiful hotel. Spacious suites, 3 beautiful pools and a private beach that are not very crowded and outstanding service made this a perfect spot for our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many dining options (both casual or dressy) all within walking distance along the beach walk or across the street. The hotel cafe/shop deli is a nice option for feeding hungry teens without breaking the bank.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Castro Valley, ca
Aug 22, 2009

Awesome Place to Relax!!

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. Pools were amazing with an adult pool that was perfect to just relax by. Staff was very friendly. The rooms were all suites which was awesome!! Great place, can't wait to go back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui like
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Better than the Four Seasons as well as my expectations!

I went back and forth for months between the Fairmont and the Four Seasons and I am so happy I went with the Fairmont. Wailea, first of all, is an amazing location so either hotels have great views of West Maui and the other islands. The Fairmont property seems much more airy and spread out compared to the Four Seasons which was very concentrated. Every thing at the Fairmont is open air. The rooms are huge! The open lounge is perfect for Wailea sunsets every night. Everyone was so friendly. Don't really know what else to say except that we would certainly go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car. Wailea restaurants are good, but Mama's Fish house is the BEST on the island and you have to drive from Wailea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City
Feb 4, 2011

Wow, what a family trip

I loved being right by the ocean. The room was comfortable and big. Great size for the 4 of us. Loved being there away from the cold weather back home. Great trip!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Was expensive but could whale watch from the restaurant by the pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento Ca.
Jun 6, 2011

Great Location,love the room.&beachwalk

We enjoy celebrating our anniversary every year at the Fairmont Kea Lani. We really had an enjoyable time starting each day with an exorbitant beach walk & ended our day with a lovely dinner. We had a GREAT TIME in what I call Paradise! Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

NIcks Fish House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top