$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 11, 2014

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
124 reviews
Best Hotel For Families!

This was our 2nd stay at the Fairmont and we had a great time. The two-room suite works perfectly... See full review

  • PDX Family
  • Jun 26, 2014
all about the service

Apart from the beautiful tropical setting, and top notch amenities, the thing that stood out about... See full review

  • Steve E1
  • Apr 10, 2013
Fairmont Hotels and Resorts on the islands of Hawaii and Bermuda have become part of the local communities here, providing world-class hospitality and cultural quirks. White domes and life-sized Hawaiian murals set the tone for your stay at The Kea Lani Maui Hotel, while a traditional lei greeting welcomes guests upon arrival. Immerse yourself in island culture on the hotel's Canoe Experience and Cultural Property tour, or drop your kids off at the children's club, where they can learn a few conversational Hawaiian phrases. A contemporary spa facility has special treatments like the Energy Journey -which allows guests to restore their inner balance with ingredients grown on Maui -plus Chamomile Body Polishes, Magnesium and Jade Wraps, and Relaxation Massages. After all that pampering, dine at one of the on-site restaurants and choose from seafood, internationally-influenced dishes, or bakery and deli treats.
Key facts
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Kids' club
  • Restaurants & lounges: Ko, Nick's Fishmarket Maui, Kea Lani Restaurant, Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli, Polo Beach Grill & Bar, Luana Lounge
  • Willow Stream Spa: 9,000-square-feet
  • Several pools, including an adult-only pool
  • On-site business center
  • Eco-incentives
  • Child care services (additional charges may apply)
  • 24-hour room service
  • 36,000-square-foot conference and event space
Neighborhood
One of four luxury accommodations in Wailea, the Kea Lani Maui is 22 acres of well-manicured property on the southwest shore of Maui, right on the edge of Wailea Polo Beach. The hotel is minutes away from The Shops at Wailea, an open mall that includes varied high-end shops and eateries, while golf enthusiasts can tee off on four different nearby courses.
Hints and tips
You may prefer to book a first-floor room near the lobby's north side for easy access to the upper pool and swim bar - sunset views are also stunning from these rooms.

If you are heading out on day trips in the local area, order a picnic basket from Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli for Italian lunch treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6851 -156.4395
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului, Maui, Hawaii
Area description
Exit airport terminal or car rental area onto Keolani Place. Continue straight through the intersection onto Dairy Road (Hwy 380) passing CostCo and Kmart on your left. Continue on Dairy Road (Hwy 380) to the traffic light at Mokulele Hwy 311 & S. Puunene Avenue turn left onto Mokulele Hwy 311. Continue on Mokulele Hwy approximately 6 miles. You will automatically merge left onto Piilani Hwy 31. Continue south on the Piilani Hwy 31 until the end of highway. It will veer right onto Wailea Ike Drive. Drive down toward the ocean and at the end of Wailea Ike Drive, turn left at the traffic light onto Wailea Alanui. Follow Wailea Alanui south until you reach The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui on the right side.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Rooms

Mountainside Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Haleakala Mountainside
Poolside Suite
Poolside Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Poolside and lawn area
Garden View Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Overlooking scenic tropical gardens or Mount Haleakala
Deluxe Ocean View Suite
Deluxe Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Full Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Suite
Partial Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from outside the suite
Ocean View Suite
Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from within the suite
Fairimont Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Limited view overlooking parking facility or side street

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Kea Lani offers a broad range of function rooms-from elegant boardrooms and banquet halls, to magnificent ballrooms and state-of-the-art amphitheaters with professional multimedia services.

Dining

In-Room Dining
Hours Of Operation: Available 24 hours a day Elegant, intimate dining on your own private lanai with picturesque garden and ocean views. Let us bring the dining room to you! Daily specialties with delicious breakfast, sandwiches, assorted salads and complete meals for gourmet lunches and romantic dinners. Refreshing tropical drink specialties, fine wines and champagnes are also available to you through In-Room Dining.
Ko Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open for lunch and dinner. Hours vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire is requested. Ko offers cuisine reflective of the many cultures of Hawaii's sugarcane plantation era. The menu is inspired by the rich history and culinary traditions of Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese cultures. K, meaning "sugarcane" in Hawaiian, features Ahi "On the Rock," shichimi spiced with orange ginger miso sauce, Lobster Tempura with spicy-sesame, pineapple sweet chili garlic and grapefruit soy sauce, Maui Cattle Company "Paniolo" Rib-Eye Steak, and Coconut-Curry Lamb Chops marinated and grilled with mango-mint salsa. Each dish celebrates the cultures of the plantation workers with an emphasis on sustainability.
Nick's Fishmarket-Maui
Hours Of Operation: Open nightly 5:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual (collared shirt and dress shorts) This is one of Maui's premier seafood restaurants offering the Islands' freshest fish, Live Keahole Maine Lobster, and Maui Cattle Company Steaks in a tropical ambiance. Special features include a 2,000 bottle wine cellar, outdoor seating and a private dining room to accommodate as many as fifty guests. Nick's was voted Best Special Occasion Restaurant for 2004 and 2005. Nick's has also earned the Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Ama Bar and Grill & Bar
Ama Bar & Grill offers a taste of Hawaiis modern canoe lifestyle, featuring everything from contemporary poke bowls to plate lunch specials in a relaxed, outdoor and social atmosphere. Enjoy expansive ocean views and dont miss the swim-up bar for refreshing cocktails and fruit smoothies. It's the perfect restaurant in Wailea to bring together family and friends, to eat, drink, relax and talk story. Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 10:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (Bar) Open daily from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Restaurant) Times may vary depending on season.
Kea Lani Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire This open-air dining area offers a daily bountiful breakfast buffet and an exceptional a la carte menu service. The buffet contains fresh fruit including local seasonal favorites such as guava, mountain apples, rambutans and papayas as well as pastries and breads such as mango and banana nut bread that are freshly baked in the resort's pastry shop. The buffet also features an omelet station and rotating choices of hot and cold items including pancakes, waffles, link sausage, and smoked bacon as well as authentic Asian style breakfast foods including miso soup.
Luana Lounge
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 3:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual The open-air Luana Lounge offers spectacular views of the beautiful Maui sunset. You can enjoy a selection of pupus and a Kea Lani Cocktail or one of many specialty martinis served in a silver cocktail shaker and poured at your table. Enjoy live entertainment nightly from local musicians playing contemporary light jazz and music from the Islands.
Caffe Ciao Deli
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. Hours may vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Caffe Ciao Deli is a trattoria with home made sandwiches, salads and produce. Enjoy fresh bread, scones, muffins and desserts from our bake shop with a selection of coffee drinks. Signature Kea Lani jams, jellies, condiments and a variety of other gifts are also available. Enjoy a Custom Picnic Basket for your day at the beach or around the island. Choose from a large selection of gourmet food items, cheeses and wines from around the world. Or Take a gourmet meal for your plane ride home through our "Food for Flight" program. Select your very own lunch, dinner, or snack, tailored just to your taste-it is the perfect end to a perfect vacation.
Twilight Dinner
Enjoy the Twilight Dinner in your own private cabana under the soft glow of hanging lanterns. Located adjacent to K on the Adult Pool deck, the Twilight Dinner is available for up to six people. As a Twilight Dinner guest, you will be served a personalized four course meal along with a choice of selected wines, as you enjoy the brilliant colors of the sky at dusk. This is the perfect way to create a lasting memory of any celebration.
Hoku Lani Dinner
The Hoku Lani Dinner experience is designed especially for those who are seeking a more intimate and elegant evening, whether you are celebrating an anniversary, engagement, birthday or just want to share an enchanting evening with someone special, this dinner is the perfect way to create a romantic memory to last a lifetime. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SME USA
Washington DC
Dec 27, 2012

You need to be here

This Hotel is Niiiiicccceeee! The Beach is nice and the Ocean water is cleaner than any I have ever been in. All suites all good. The restaurants are great too. There's nothing not to like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to KO, it's wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
May 15, 2011

Fantastic hotel

This is a beautiful hotel at a great location. Everything was perfect. Great snorkeling at the hotel beach location. The hotel staff was very helpful and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nordpol
Boston, MA
Sep 13, 2010

great resort in fantastic location

We choose the Fairmont because they offered a significant discount due to ongoing construction on the premises. We expected construction noise and 2 of the 3 pools being closed, but figured that the room, service, and location would still be fantastic. We were not disappointed. Construction noise was very limited and barely audible, and although two pools were indeed closed, this did not matter due to the perfect beach and because the pool that had the swim-up bar was open. As we had hoped we had a fantastic, spacious, and clean suite, and enjoyed the amenities (excellent fitness center, free snorkels, body boards, umbrellas at the beach) and location (right on a riff where you can see turtles and fancy fish).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Get a free snorkel set and swim 25 meters to the right from the hotel beach to see corals, colorful fish, and sea turtles!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado Springs, CO
Mar 3, 2009

Couldn't be happier

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, we were extremely happy with the service and staff at the Fairmont. We were able to upgrade one of our 2 rooms to the ocean view side (well worth it for happy hour with the sunset!). The suites were perfect for our family of 6 (4 adult children). The pool service, beach attendants and swim up bar guys were all very friendly and remembered us throughout the week. A special anniversary dinner at Nick's was fabulous. Previous reviews were very helpful and I would not hesitate to highly recommend the Fairmont to anyone. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely splurge one night at Nick's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zjohanna
Honolulu, HI, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Totally worth it!!

This place would have gotten 4.5 stars if I could figure out how to do it. Even though construction was going on, we didn't even notice. The inter hotel shuttle was fantastic. The staff was amazing and the room was quite clean and bed totally comfortable. Great restaurants all around as well. Pools have slides that are fun for kids as well as a separate adult pool. Had a great time and can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try out Spago!! Simply amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SBVA
Vienna, VA
Aug 6, 2012

Awesome

From the moment we arrived, we knew this was a going to be a great experience. The bell staff and front desk were wonderfully accommodating and this type of reception was consistent for the rest of our stay. The suites are spacious and comfortable, and the huge bathrooms are delightful. The food was outstanding, both at the restaurants and room service, we had such a lovely view that we had dinner twice on the lanai with the sunset. Cafe Ciao was perfect for a quick/light breakfast, snacks and drinks. The beach was great, and the attendants were as helpful as they were cheerful. Beautiful hotel, great service, I wish we had had more time there!! Definitely get your money's worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Coconuts in Kihei for the best fish tacos in the area!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburg, CA
Jul 1, 2009

One of the best!

This was the best trip that we have taken to Maui. The hotel was tops; beautiful, clean and friendly! My family and I went snorkeling, toured the island, had wonderful dining out experiences and enjoyed our rest and relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Four Winds snorkeling tour was the best. Even if you don't know how to snorkel you will have a good time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Clarita, Ca
Jul 25, 2011

Excellent hotel and service.

Staff and services were excellent. Everyone from the bell attendants to room services were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

See hotel staff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aligned Cat
Santa Clara, CA
Aug 22, 2012

A Family Friendly High-End Resort

We Love this place for many reasons: great location, beautiful beach, nice pool, relaxing atmosphere, wonderful room, tasty food, very courteous service. Restaurants are a bit pricey. But we really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, WI
Oct 9, 2009

Everyone was extremely pleasant.

Recently spent 8 days in Hawaii for the first time. Started at the Sheraton Waikiki in Honolulu, and then shipped out for a stay at the Fairmont Kea Lani. From the first moment we got there, we were welcomed with open arms. Every single member of the staff was friendly. We were greeted with tropical juice and native jewelry. We had great bellman service, and our room was very spacious. We booked the ocean front deluxe suite, and it came with a nice panoramic view of the ocean. Unfortunately, it overlooked one of the swimming pools / swimming pool bars. This got to be a bit noisy at times, but only when we were out on the balcony. The room had a separate living room and bedroom. The bed was mildly comfortably, and there was a tv in both the living and bedrooms. The bathroom was huge with 2 sinks, separate shower and bath and separate toilet room. There were plenty of dining options, and we particularly liked the small cafe / deli. The beach was great, and there are plenty of watersport options. We took a nice canoe / snorkeling tour. We looked at the surrounding properties (Grand Wailea and Four Seasons), and we were glad that we chose the Kea Lani. There was plenty of shopping within a 2 minute drive. Overall, things were great. The only negative I would add would be that the rooms seemed a bit dated and could use some cosmetic touch-ups. However, the stay was great and Maui was far better than Oahu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of dining on site, but the Shops at Wailea have 4 nice choices as well and they're only 2 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Another Working Mom
Clovis, California
Nov 30, 2012

Family Vacation

The Fairmont Kea Lani was fantastic at accommodating 13 family and extended family members. We are planning our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is sumptuous dining everywhere nearby and a short drive away, courtesy of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search