$391 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
View map of 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
southern california
May 27, 2009

Fairmont Wailea

Relaxing, laid back vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

all hotels in vacinity hae good restaurants but are quite expensive. A few additional optins exist at Wailea Shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 24, 2009

Wonderful Maui Getaway

The resort itself was excellent all around. We really enjoyed the location on Maui (our first visit there) as we debated between Ka'anapali and Wailea. Free self parking is a huge bonus. Didn't feel nickeled and dimed at all. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk and staff with lais and cold beverages. The rooms were large suites with a very comfortable bed and huge luxurious bathroom. Rooms were cleaned daily with special cares to our belongings. Fitness center can be very busy around 8am. Machines are good. Yoga instructor not impressive if you have any previous experience. Breakfast good ?worth the $30. We had a great breakfast for the same price at Longhi's right down the street. Food was excellent everywhere we ate on the resort (didn't try Ko), including poolside (service overall good poolside, but slow at times). Nick's was fantastic (our favorite bottle of wine was $10 cheaper at Nick's than at Duo next door at the Four Seasons and the food was leaps better). Our last day there we had the worst service of our stay there at the Polo Grill (food was great though) and mentioned it to the front desk staff at checkout and they offered to remove the charge from our bill. With a late flight out we were able to use the pool the rest of the day and use one of the complimentary suites to shower and change before heading to the airport. Everyone was very nice. We did a lot of driving as a lot of the restaurants/functions we wanted to visit were in Lahaina and Ka'anapali - so consider that in your decision where on the island you want to stay. BUT, the beaches and snorkeling are fantastic in Wailea (with more turtles than up north). The Four Seasons looks like a phenomenal place to stay - very newly renovated, but price difference is so significant that I would go back to the Kea Lani in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
doccarol
Business
Tucson, Az
Apr 23, 2009

Fairmont Kea Lani

I thought that the room smelled. The shower was dirty, moldy. I stayed at this hotel 7-8 years ago and it was much cleaner. It appears that it has lost its up keep. I finally asked for another room. I wouldn't stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Apr 22, 2009

Hawaii Getaway

The Fairmont is a excellent hotel, which is located on our favorite side of the Island. Nick's restaurant is a world class restaurant with a wonderful selection of entree's. We were treated by the Head Chef and had a memorable time. The hotel grounds are beautiful. Also, try out the canoe sailing on the "Hina" it is definately a worthwhile excursion at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Wailea Shopping Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Mar 3, 2009

Couldn't be happier

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, we were extremely happy with the service and staff at the Fairmont. We were able to upgrade one of our 2 rooms to the ocean view side (well worth it for happy hour with the sunset!). The suites were perfect for our family of 6 (4 adult children). The pool service, beach attendants and swim up bar guys were all very friendly and remembered us throughout the week. A special anniversary dinner at Nick's was fabulous. Previous reviews were very helpful and I would not hesitate to highly recommend the Fairmont to anyone. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely splurge one night at Nick's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leon
Sep 24, 2008

Great Experience

Overall my stay in Maui was very outstanding and a big part of that was the Fairmont Kea Lani. The hotel is kind off old, but everything in Hawaii is old or let's say antique but the guys in the property do a perfect job to keep it running. All the facility is very well kept, the gardens, pool, spa, fitness, lobby and lobby bar not to mention the restaurants are in great shape; NICK'S FISH MARKET is a must, great food and great service, don't miss it. The beach is one of the nicest in Maui and the location is in one of the pririest and luxurious places in the island, you have 5 (yes, five) golf courses just across the street. Recomend it with eye's wide shot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A very nice shopping mall with restaurants, go to the LONGHIS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 15, 2008

Stay at the Fairmont

I highly recommend the Fairmont. The hotel is located in Wailea which is a quiet and really nice part of Maui. The hotel itself is very nice. The lobby is picturesque and the hotel has 3 pools... one of which is an adults only pool. I recommend the ocean view suites as you have a nice view of the ocean. Pool view suites are Ok as well, because you will be able to see some of the ocean. The room is very nice. You will not be disappointed. The only setback for this hotel is that there are only a few dining choices. Of course the breakfast buffet is awesome, however for dinner there are only a few nice restaurants such as Nicks Fish Market. The Four Seasons is next door and you will find some nice resaurants there, such as DUO, a nice steak and seafood restaurant. If you are going to Maui on a honeymoon or special occasion and would like to spend time in a nice place, I suggest you stay in Wailea. Kannapali is OK, but you will see so much more traffic in that part of Maui. Wailea is the quieter, more scenic and beautiful part of Maui. Also, the Fairmont or Four Seasons are your best bet for really nice hotels. Grand Wailea is very nice as well, but you will find more families there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Shops at Wailea is an upscale shopping center that is a 5 minute drive from the Fairmont. There are also some nice resaurants there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 11, 2008

Maui for Romance or Family...

Great hotel with all the amenities. Large rooms and staff was pretty accommodating. Then again, you are paying a lot for the service, as well. Hotel and grounds were well maintained. Great bar at Nick's Seafood. Bartender was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Four Seasons is just down the street for another fine dining option.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top