$429 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
View map of 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darkstar666
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 1, 2010

A great place for a splurge

We loved the Fairmont! We'd happily stay again! But it could have been better - I gave it four stars, not five, because: 1. Really expensive food. The restaurants were all very good, but $30 for a breakfast buffet? 2. The cabanas and chaise lounges could use an update. For padding, they drape two towels over the chairs! Especially if you're paying for a cabana ($100!), or a beach umbrella ($45), you'd expect upholstered chairs. 3. The kitchenette in the room was a little lacking - there's a little fridge, a tiny sink and a microwave and a coffee maker. Some utensils, a tea kettle and a toaster would have been nice. 4. The rooms have old tube TVs. For a place as luxurious as the Fairmont, they should have HD flat screens - for $15 for an in-room movie, they should have a decent TV to watch them on. OK, this seems like nit-picking - and it is. But for the price, the place could use a little updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The WokStar right along the main strip in Kihei was inexpensive and about the best food we had in Maui - delicious noodles and stir-fry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
austin, tx
Mar 30, 2010

fantastic stay

very nice hotel, great view of ocean, and the property itself is beautiful. the adult pool was great but no hot tub, the family pool was loud and our room was right above it, room service was a bit pricy, and a room deposit of $100 per day is required (i don't remember every being notified of that). All and all it is a fantastic stay! oh, if you smoke, no smoking anywhere in hawaii. there were 3 designated areas well away from convinient!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jan 4, 2011

Terrific!

Third time staying here. Staff very accommodating. Recently renovated rooms are good albeit common spaces need updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great deli located right in hotel. Has fantastic take out pizza and a range of other convenient meal options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 11, 2010

For the most part very good

Very helpful staff. Activities like fishing and snorkeling trips easy to organize through the hotel. Nothing is cheap or free. Renting umbrellas on the beach or cabanas by the pool is a necessity unless you can tolerate the direct Maui sun. Location in the Waillea area is excellent. Only ate at resort on two occasions but it was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Renting a car is a must. Just being able to go to the grocery store to stock the suite fridge with soft drinks and snacks can be a huge savings. Everything at the resort is much more expensive to purchase there. Having the flexibility to dine off resort can also be more interesting in addition to a huge cost savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange,Ca.
Oct 25, 2009

beautiful hotel

We loved the hotel...very pretty and they upgraded us to a partial view suite which was very nice. The location was great as we were returning to that area for our anniversary where we got married... The resturant Ko's was very expensive and the steak was like $49 and it was aweful! Half was grissle and my husband had to spit several bites out as he could not chew it!! AWEFUL for that price! My fish was excellent and I enjoyed it. The waitress was an older woman that had oblong dark rim glasses with redish short hair and she was rude and gave bad service. We had to wait over 20 minutes to get our first drink!! She got nice as the bill was given to us............that is not service and to be rude to us with your day is not acceptable. It was our first night there and we were shocked at the attitude and prices. The bar and waitress in the lobby was excellent and the pool service was excellent as well.. The pool food was expensive as were the drinks and not worth the price. They need to lower their food prices and alot more people would stay at the resort to eat verses going elsewhere. We saw several couples that ate elsewhere as we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel Grand Wialia had excellent food and service and the resturant down by the beach was one of our favorites. We paid well for the dinner but the food was excellent...would suggest for romance and good food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time to Maui
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 16, 2009

Lovely stay

The was our first trip to Maui and our first stay at any of the Fairmont Hotels. The hotel, pools and grounds were beautiful, although we felt the decor of the rooms and the balconies were very outdated. Ours and our friend's shower had mold in them and even though housekeeping was made aware the mold was never cleaned. Restaurants and meals are pretty expensive but most everything in Wailea is on the pricey side. We had a great bartender at the pool bar who gave us fantastic restaurant suggestions from sushi to pizza to a great place for breakfast. We also went snorkeling one day and had a fabulous time on the Maui Magic. Super friendly crew and the trip included a small breakfast,bbq for lunch and beer and wine. Despite the outdated decor, I would stay at the Fairmont again, even with our kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ubik
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 15, 2011

A Good Resort for Families

The resort is situated in a Wailea, a beautifully groomed part of the island. Service is friendly and the free yoga classes, especially sunset yoga overlooking the beach were a real plus. The restaurant, Nick's Fishmarket is pricey but worth it. Lots of families come here, so couples looking for a quiet place might look elsewhere but people with kids could really enjoy themselves here.Gracious front desk staff upgraded us[...] we appreciated their generosity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Catch Willie K's Wednesday night at Mulligans, a nearby pub. He's a Maui legend, amazing guitarist, singer and wonderful storyteller as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas TX
Oct 7, 2009

Great Trip

spent 5 days with family- incl 2 kids. 25 minute drive from airport. plenty of shops @ kihei.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

cafe lei

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlisonK
Business
Larkspur, CA
Aug 9, 2011

Lovely Kea Lani

We really enjoyed our ocean front suite. The view from the lanai was perfect! I wouldn't book anything other than ocean front here; your room becomes the best place to dine, read, relax, and you hear the ocean at night - divine! My husband and I enjoyed our own room with a king bed. The two tween/teens shared the other room; one on the queen sofa bed and the other on a rollaway which costs extra, but the hotel waived the daily fee. The furnishings were lovely. The bathroom was huge and well appointed. The beach in front of the resort, Polo Beach, had perfect boogie-boarding waves. We rented an umbrella for the week and relaxed and read and swam. We all liked the gradual descent into the water; on some beaches in Hawaii, you drop off into the deep almost immediately and that freaks my boy out (me too). We snorkeled right from the beach, but would recommend you take the lovely beach walk north toward Wailea Beach where the Four Seasons and Grand Wailea are and snorkel from the south end there; the reef was simply better and had more fish. I even saw a seal in the reef! And if you are a good swimmer, you can swim around the reef from Polo Beach to Wailea Beach or vice versa which I did our last morning there. The Kea Lani is at the south end of the 1.5 mile beach walk. My daughter ran the beach walk every morning. My boy enjoyed the huge water slide that connected the upper and lower swimming pools. We ate elsewhere, unimpressed with the restaurants at the resort. We enjoyed Monkeypod and Pita in Paradise 5 minutes away. We also enjoyed Eskimo Candy take out for lunch which we ate on our lanai. We so enjoyed Koiso sushi in Kihei our last night. We stocked up on breakfast food and snacks which we kept in a kitchen in our suite. We had a fridge, toaster, microwave, and coffeemaker. We hate eating out 3 meals/day while on holiday. We appreciated the kitchen in our suite very much. My kids sneaked into the Grand Wailea pool one day and we all agreed that if you want the best kid pool, that's the one, but the Kea Lani is closer to the beach and so much less of a scene. The kids described how everyone was packed around the pool at the Grand Wailea like sardines! We like a more mellow vibe and have not done resorts previously because of that. The Kea Lani was very mellow. The lobby of the Kea Lani is exquisite. The service at the front desk, concierge, housekeeping, and at the beach were all top notch. I did not feel tipped out here at all. We did not try the spa though my daughter went to one sunset yoga class. We went for rest and relaxation; we had the best weather and the water temperature in the ocean was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining in Wailea that doesn't break the bank and is 5 minutes away by car: Monkeypod and Pita in Paradise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jul 17, 2011

Great service, wonderful view

Service was great, as expected. Our daughter really enjoyed the pools and the water slide. Cabana service was not smothering, but quite attentive. The view from our suite was outstanding. If I could change one thing, I would ask the hotel to not nickel and dime their guests. $20 for a boogie board?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at Ko is surprisingly good. Great take on Asian flavors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top