$543 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
125 reviews
Trip to Maui

Hotel was excellent pool was beautiful with all the towels you need Food at hotel was good but... See full review

  • Gmil
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best Hotel For Families!

This was our 2nd stay at the Fairmont and we had a great time. The two-room suite works perfectly... See full review

  • PDX Family
  • Jun 26, 2014
Fairmont Hotels and Resorts on the islands of Hawaii and Bermuda have become part of the local communities here, providing world-class hospitality and cultural quirks. White domes and life-sized Hawaiian murals set the tone for your stay at The Kea Lani Maui Hotel, while a traditional lei greeting welcomes guests upon arrival. Immerse yourself in island culture on the hotel's Canoe Experience and Cultural Property tour, or drop your kids off at the children's club, where they can learn a few conversational Hawaiian phrases. A contemporary spa facility has special treatments like the Energy Journey -which allows guests to restore their inner balance with ingredients grown on Maui -plus Chamomile Body Polishes, Magnesium and Jade Wraps, and Relaxation Massages. After all that pampering, dine at one of the on-site restaurants and choose from seafood, internationally-influenced dishes, or bakery and deli treats.
Key facts
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Kids' club
  • Restaurants & lounges: Ko, Nick's Fishmarket Maui, Kea Lani Restaurant, Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli, Polo Beach Grill & Bar, Luana Lounge
  • Willow Stream Spa: 9,000-square-feet
  • Several pools, including an adult-only pool
  • On-site business center
  • Eco-incentives
  • Child care services (additional charges may apply)
  • 24-hour room service
  • 36,000-square-foot conference and event space
Neighborhood
One of four luxury accommodations in Wailea, the Kea Lani Maui is 22 acres of well-manicured property on the southwest shore of Maui, right on the edge of Wailea Polo Beach. The hotel is minutes away from The Shops at Wailea, an open mall that includes varied high-end shops and eateries, while golf enthusiasts can tee off on four different nearby courses.
Hints and tips
You may prefer to book a first-floor room near the lobby's north side for easy access to the upper pool and swim bar - sunset views are also stunning from these rooms.

If you are heading out on day trips in the local area, order a picnic basket from Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli for Italian lunch treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Rooms

Garden View Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Overlooking scenic tropical gardens or Mount Haleakala
Deluxe Ocean View Suite
Deluxe Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Full Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Suite
Partial Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from outside the suite
Ocean View Suite
Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from within the suite
Fairimont Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Limited view overlooking parking facility or side street
Mountainside Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Haleakala Mountainside
Poolside Suite
Poolside Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Poolside and lawn area

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Kea Lani offers a broad range of function rooms-from elegant boardrooms and banquet halls, to magnificent ballrooms and state-of-the-art amphitheaters with professional multimedia services.

Dining

Twilight Dinner
Enjoy the Twilight Dinner in your own private cabana under the soft glow of hanging lanterns. Located adjacent to K on the Adult Pool deck, the Twilight Dinner is available for up to six people. As a Twilight Dinner guest, you will be served a personalized four course meal along with a choice of selected wines, as you enjoy the brilliant colors of the sky at dusk. This is the perfect way to create a lasting memory of any celebration.
Hoku Lani Dinner
The Hoku Lani Dinner experience is designed especially for those who are seeking a more intimate and elegant evening, whether you are celebrating an anniversary, engagement, birthday or just want to share an enchanting evening with someone special, this dinner is the perfect way to create a romantic memory to last a lifetime. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.
In-Room Dining
Hours Of Operation: Available 24 hours a day Elegant, intimate dining on your own private lanai with picturesque garden and ocean views. Let us bring the dining room to you! Daily specialties with delicious breakfast, sandwiches, assorted salads and complete meals for gourmet lunches and romantic dinners. Refreshing tropical drink specialties, fine wines and champagnes are also available to you through In-Room Dining.
Ko Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open for lunch and dinner. Hours vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire is requested. Ko offers cuisine reflective of the many cultures of Hawaii's sugarcane plantation era. The menu is inspired by the rich history and culinary traditions of Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese cultures. K, meaning "sugarcane" in Hawaiian, features Ahi "On the Rock," shichimi spiced with orange ginger miso sauce, Lobster Tempura with spicy-sesame, pineapple sweet chili garlic and grapefruit soy sauce, Maui Cattle Company "Paniolo" Rib-Eye Steak, and Coconut-Curry Lamb Chops marinated and grilled with mango-mint salsa. Each dish celebrates the cultures of the plantation workers with an emphasis on sustainability.
Nick's Fishmarket-Maui
Hours Of Operation: Open nightly 5:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual (collared shirt and dress shorts) This is one of Maui's premier seafood restaurants offering the Islands' freshest fish, Live Keahole Maine Lobster, and Maui Cattle Company Steaks in a tropical ambiance. Special features include a 2,000 bottle wine cellar, outdoor seating and a private dining room to accommodate as many as fifty guests. Nick's was voted Best Special Occasion Restaurant for 2004 and 2005. Nick's has also earned the Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Ama Bar and Grill & Bar
Ama Bar & Grill offers a taste of Hawaiis modern canoe lifestyle, featuring everything from contemporary poke bowls to plate lunch specials in a relaxed, outdoor and social atmosphere. Enjoy expansive ocean views and dont miss the swim-up bar for refreshing cocktails and fruit smoothies. It's the perfect restaurant in Wailea to bring together family and friends, to eat, drink, relax and talk story. Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 10:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (Bar) Open daily from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Restaurant) Times may vary depending on season.
Kea Lani Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire This open-air dining area offers a daily bountiful breakfast buffet and an exceptional a la carte menu service. The buffet contains fresh fruit including local seasonal favorites such as guava, mountain apples, rambutans and papayas as well as pastries and breads such as mango and banana nut bread that are freshly baked in the resort's pastry shop. The buffet also features an omelet station and rotating choices of hot and cold items including pancakes, waffles, link sausage, and smoked bacon as well as authentic Asian style breakfast foods including miso soup.
Luana Lounge
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 3:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual The open-air Luana Lounge offers spectacular views of the beautiful Maui sunset. You can enjoy a selection of pupus and a Kea Lani Cocktail or one of many specialty martinis served in a silver cocktail shaker and poured at your table. Enjoy live entertainment nightly from local musicians playing contemporary light jazz and music from the Islands.
Caffe Ciao Deli
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. Hours may vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Caffe Ciao Deli is a trattoria with home made sandwiches, salads and produce. Enjoy fresh bread, scones, muffins and desserts from our bake shop with a selection of coffee drinks. Signature Kea Lani jams, jellies, condiments and a variety of other gifts are also available. Enjoy a Custom Picnic Basket for your day at the beach or around the island. Choose from a large selection of gourmet food items, cheeses and wines from around the world. Or Take a gourmet meal for your plane ride home through our "Food for Flight" program. Select your very own lunch, dinner, or snack, tailored just to your taste-it is the perfect end to a perfect vacation.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jan 4, 2011

Terrific!

Third time staying here. Staff very accommodating. Recently renovated rooms are good albeit common spaces need updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great deli located right in hotel. Has fantastic take out pizza and a range of other convenient meal options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 11, 2010

For the most part very good

Very helpful staff. Activities like fishing and snorkeling trips easy to organize through the hotel. Nothing is cheap or free. Renting umbrellas on the beach or cabanas by the pool is a necessity unless you can tolerate the direct Maui sun. Location in the Waillea area is excellent. Only ate at resort on two occasions but it was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Renting a car is a must. Just being able to go to the grocery store to stock the suite fridge with soft drinks and snacks can be a huge savings. Everything at the resort is much more expensive to purchase there. Having the flexibility to dine off resort can also be more interesting in addition to a huge cost savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange,Ca.
Oct 25, 2009

beautiful hotel

We loved the hotel...very pretty and they upgraded us to a partial view suite which was very nice. The location was great as we were returning to that area for our anniversary where we got married... The resturant Ko's was very expensive and the steak was like $49 and it was aweful! Half was grissle and my husband had to spit several bites out as he could not chew it!! AWEFUL for that price! My fish was excellent and I enjoyed it. The waitress was an older woman that had oblong dark rim glasses with redish short hair and she was rude and gave bad service. We had to wait over 20 minutes to get our first drink!! She got nice as the bill was given to us............that is not service and to be rude to us with your day is not acceptable. It was our first night there and we were shocked at the attitude and prices. The bar and waitress in the lobby was excellent and the pool service was excellent as well.. The pool food was expensive as were the drinks and not worth the price. They need to lower their food prices and alot more people would stay at the resort to eat verses going elsewhere. We saw several couples that ate elsewhere as we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel Grand Wialia had excellent food and service and the resturant down by the beach was one of our favorites. We paid well for the dinner but the food was excellent...would suggest for romance and good food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time to Maui
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 16, 2009

Lovely stay

The was our first trip to Maui and our first stay at any of the Fairmont Hotels. The hotel, pools and grounds were beautiful, although we felt the decor of the rooms and the balconies were very outdated. Ours and our friend's shower had mold in them and even though housekeeping was made aware the mold was never cleaned. Restaurants and meals are pretty expensive but most everything in Wailea is on the pricey side. We had a great bartender at the pool bar who gave us fantastic restaurant suggestions from sushi to pizza to a great place for breakfast. We also went snorkeling one day and had a fabulous time on the Maui Magic. Super friendly crew and the trip included a small breakfast,bbq for lunch and beer and wine. Despite the outdated decor, I would stay at the Fairmont again, even with our kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ubik
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 15, 2011

A Good Resort for Families

The resort is situated in a Wailea, a beautifully groomed part of the island. Service is friendly and the free yoga classes, especially sunset yoga overlooking the beach were a real plus. The restaurant, Nick's Fishmarket is pricey but worth it. Lots of families come here, so couples looking for a quiet place might look elsewhere but people with kids could really enjoy themselves here.Gracious front desk staff upgraded us[...] we appreciated their generosity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Catch Willie K's Wednesday night at Mulligans, a nearby pub. He's a Maui legend, amazing guitarist, singer and wonderful storyteller as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas TX
Oct 7, 2009

Great Trip

spent 5 days with family- incl 2 kids. 25 minute drive from airport. plenty of shops @ kihei.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

cafe lei

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlisonK
Business
Larkspur, CA
Aug 9, 2011

Lovely Kea Lani

We really enjoyed our ocean front suite. The view from the lanai was perfect! I wouldn't book anything other than ocean front here; your room becomes the best place to dine, read, relax, and you hear the ocean at night - divine! My husband and I enjoyed our own room with a king bed. The two tween/teens shared the other room; one on the queen sofa bed and the other on a rollaway which costs extra, but the hotel waived the daily fee. The furnishings were lovely. The bathroom was huge and well appointed. The beach in front of the resort, Polo Beach, had perfect boogie-boarding waves. We rented an umbrella for the week and relaxed and read and swam. We all liked the gradual descent into the water; on some beaches in Hawaii, you drop off into the deep almost immediately and that freaks my boy out (me too). We snorkeled right from the beach, but would recommend you take the lovely beach walk north toward Wailea Beach where the Four Seasons and Grand Wailea are and snorkel from the south end there; the reef was simply better and had more fish. I even saw a seal in the reef! And if you are a good swimmer, you can swim around the reef from Polo Beach to Wailea Beach or vice versa which I did our last morning there. The Kea Lani is at the south end of the 1.5 mile beach walk. My daughter ran the beach walk every morning. My boy enjoyed the huge water slide that connected the upper and lower swimming pools. We ate elsewhere, unimpressed with the restaurants at the resort. We enjoyed Monkeypod and Pita in Paradise 5 minutes away. We also enjoyed Eskimo Candy take out for lunch which we ate on our lanai. We so enjoyed Koiso sushi in Kihei our last night. We stocked up on breakfast food and snacks which we kept in a kitchen in our suite. We had a fridge, toaster, microwave, and coffeemaker. We hate eating out 3 meals/day while on holiday. We appreciated the kitchen in our suite very much. My kids sneaked into the Grand Wailea pool one day and we all agreed that if you want the best kid pool, that's the one, but the Kea Lani is closer to the beach and so much less of a scene. The kids described how everyone was packed around the pool at the Grand Wailea like sardines! We like a more mellow vibe and have not done resorts previously because of that. The Kea Lani was very mellow. The lobby of the Kea Lani is exquisite. The service at the front desk, concierge, housekeeping, and at the beach were all top notch. I did not feel tipped out here at all. We did not try the spa though my daughter went to one sunset yoga class. We went for rest and relaxation; we had the best weather and the water temperature in the ocean was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining in Wailea that doesn't break the bank and is 5 minutes away by car: Monkeypod and Pita in Paradise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jul 17, 2011

Great service, wonderful view

Service was great, as expected. Our daughter really enjoyed the pools and the water slide. Cabana service was not smothering, but quite attentive. The view from our suite was outstanding. If I could change one thing, I would ask the hotel to not nickel and dime their guests. $20 for a boogie board?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at Ko is surprisingly good. Great take on Asian flavors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto
Jul 6, 2011

Another great trip to the Kea Lani

This was our 5th time staying at the Kea Lani and we were once again very pleased! While it is not as "exciting" for our kids (ages 9, 11 and 14) as the Grand Wailea, to us parents it represents the perfect family resort. Pools, a great beach, activities, etc. but not too big or hectic so that you feel like you're always looking for your kids. The rooms are what really set the Kea Lani apart as far as value for your money; every room is an 800 sq ft suite. We book two since our kids are older and we like to have our space, but you could definitely have a family of 4 or 5 in one suite if you ask for two queen beds in the bedroom and then use the pull-out couch in the living room. The staff everywhere is extremely friendly, with the exception of perhaps the servers at the breakfast buffet. They seem to be "over it" a bit, which is strange since all they do is bring you coffee and take away plates. The concierge staff, pool attendants, etc are all great and very accommodating. We also found that booking a pool cabana worked well for us since we don't like to get out to the pool at the crack of dawn to save seats. The cost of the cabana is $150/day, but if you are a Fairmont President's Club member (free to join), they take off 15%. The price of the cabana includes a cooler with drinks (sodas, juice and water) and a large fruit plate which would often serve as our lunch since we ate so much at breakfast. The one area that we were disappointed in was the restaurants-- Ko and Nick's Fishmarket, which seem to have gone downhill in the last few years. We are definitely "foodies", so our tastes may run a little high, but it really seems like Nick's especially has lost it's edge. In years past we had been very impressed, but now found the food to be very contrived and heavy and the service unpredictable. Overall, we will definitely go back to the Kea Lani again, but probably choose to eat elsewhere more often (like at Spago at the Four Seasons where we had two AMAZING meals).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TGSEA
Business
Seattle
May 21, 2013

Kids Don't Eat Free / Expensive / Cockroach

I'm really torn about what rating to give the hotel. We just got back from a 6 night/7 day stay there with my family of 4 (two kids which are 5 and 8). We had a fantastic time overall! The resort has plenty of good aspects: * beautiful grounds and location -- better than Grand Wailea and the Four Seasons. * great service from most people * 3 pools with one for adults * not too many people * Nick's Fishmarket is amazing * large rooms, and we had a great one I could go on with the pros of the hotel, but others have done that well. Unfortunately, we had a few incidents that left me with a less than stellar perspective on the hotel. First, the website advertises that kids 5 and under eat free, and kids 6-11 eat for half price. It appears few at the resort knows this policy or understands it. We went based on recommendation from our family who went there about a year ago. They had kids and ate poolside for free and reduced price. One of the first things we did when we arrived was go to the pool and order food. Guess what? It doesn't work poolside any more. The waitress told us we had to be in a sit down restaurant. So, we went to a sit down restaurant a couple days later. We ate at Nick's Fishmarket, where a kids meal is $15. We didn't think too much of this because of the kids eat free thing. However, when the bill came, we were told that Nick's isn't part of the hotel, so it was full price. When I complained to the concierge she didn't know the policy, and it took several minutes to try to find someone who knew what it would be. She then said every where BUT poolside and EXCEPT for Nick's was under the policy. She apologized and said the manager would call us to answer the question further. No call came from the Manager. The next day we then went to the hotel restaurant for breakfast. This time when I asked the waitress about the policy before ordering, she stated that the policy was only that kids 5 and under eat free, and kids 6-11 are regular price. I disputed this with her but she wouldn't take it and said that the price on the menu was it! Afterward she was very "cold" to us--not helpful, didn't tell us we need to get our own OJ from the buffet, and basically made me feel like I was stealing somehow when I took a bite of my daughters (free) bacon. Of course, I went back to the concierge to complain. I had the same concierge and she asked if the Manager ever contacted me--no-- and she again promised they would. She was nice and apologized but nothing came of it. We checked out a day later and were never contacted nor had any amends made. This is particularly frustrating since this policy is all over the website--but no one provides the policy when you check in, nor seems to understand it. Finally, we paid around $700 / day at the resort for room + food (at least). The cost of providing the kids food would probably have been $10 out of their pocket per day--kids don't eat much. It really left a bad taste in our mouth for their behavior, especially for such a minimal amount of money. This was also one of the reasons we selected the resort--we thought the cost of feeding the kids would be reduced compared to other resorts! All that said, the resort is quite expensive, so if you go make sure you are aware of that and find alternatives as needed. $20 for a hamburger, $25 for eggs benedict, $12-16 for a cocktail, etc. Lastly, one night we found a single cockroach in the bathroom. My wife screamed, and I caught and killed the cockroach. I know they are a tropical resort and pests are hard to prevent, but at the same time I think if there is 1 cockroach there are very likely more. You shouldn't have to deal with this at a Fairmont!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top