$384 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
207 reviews
Best Hotel For Families!

This was our 2nd stay at the Fairmont and we had a great time. The two-room suite works perfectly... See full review

  • PDX Family
  • Jun 26, 2014
all about the service

Apart from the beautiful tropical setting, and top notch amenities, the thing that stood out about... See full review

  • Steve E1
  • Apr 10, 2013
Fairmont Hotels and Resorts on the islands of Hawaii and Bermuda have become part of the local communities here, providing world-class hospitality and cultural quirks. White domes and life-sized Hawaiian murals set the tone for your stay at The Kea Lani Maui Hotel, while a traditional lei greeting welcomes guests upon arrival. Immerse yourself in island culture on the hotel's Canoe Experience and Cultural Property tour, or drop your kids off at the children's club, where they can learn a few conversational Hawaiian phrases. A contemporary spa facility has special treatments like the Energy Journey -which allows guests to restore their inner balance with ingredients grown on Maui -plus Chamomile Body Polishes, Magnesium and Jade Wraps, and Relaxation Massages. After all that pampering, dine at one of the on-site restaurants and choose from seafood, internationally-influenced dishes, or bakery and deli treats.
Key facts
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Kids' club
  • Restaurants & lounges: Ko, Nick's Fishmarket Maui, Kea Lani Restaurant, Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli, Polo Beach Grill & Bar, Luana Lounge
  • Willow Stream Spa: 9,000-square-feet
  • Several pools, including an adult-only pool
  • On-site business center
  • Eco-incentives
  • Child care services (additional charges may apply)
  • 24-hour room service
  • 36,000-square-foot conference and event space
Neighborhood
One of four luxury accommodations in Wailea, the Kea Lani Maui is 22 acres of well-manicured property on the southwest shore of Maui, right on the edge of Wailea Polo Beach. The hotel is minutes away from The Shops at Wailea, an open mall that includes varied high-end shops and eateries, while golf enthusiasts can tee off on four different nearby courses.
Hints and tips
You may prefer to book a first-floor room near the lobby's north side for easy access to the upper pool and swim bar - sunset views are also stunning from these rooms.

If you are heading out on day trips in the local area, order a picnic basket from Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli for Italian lunch treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6851 -156.4395
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului, Maui, Hawaii
Area description
Exit airport terminal or car rental area onto Keolani Place. Continue straight through the intersection onto Dairy Road (Hwy 380) passing CostCo and Kmart on your left. Continue on Dairy Road (Hwy 380) to the traffic light at Mokulele Hwy 311 & S. Puunene Avenue turn left onto Mokulele Hwy 311. Continue on Mokulele Hwy approximately 6 miles. You will automatically merge left onto Piilani Hwy 31. Continue south on the Piilani Hwy 31 until the end of highway. It will veer right onto Wailea Ike Drive. Drive down toward the ocean and at the end of Wailea Ike Drive, turn left at the traffic light onto Wailea Alanui. Follow Wailea Alanui south until you reach The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui on the right side.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Rooms

Garden View Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Overlooking scenic tropical gardens or Mount Haleakala
Deluxe Ocean View Suite
Deluxe Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Full Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Suite
Partial Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from outside the suite
Ocean View Suite
Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from within the suite
Fairimont Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Limited view overlooking parking facility or side street
Mountainside Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Haleakala Mountainside
Poolside Suite
Poolside Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Poolside and lawn area

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Kea Lani offers a broad range of function rooms-from elegant boardrooms and banquet halls, to magnificent ballrooms and state-of-the-art amphitheaters with professional multimedia services.

Dining

Twilight Dinner
Enjoy the Twilight Dinner in your own private cabana under the soft glow of hanging lanterns. Located adjacent to K on the Adult Pool deck, the Twilight Dinner is available for up to six people. As a Twilight Dinner guest, you will be served a personalized four course meal along with a choice of selected wines, as you enjoy the brilliant colors of the sky at dusk. This is the perfect way to create a lasting memory of any celebration.
Hoku Lani Dinner
The Hoku Lani Dinner experience is designed especially for those who are seeking a more intimate and elegant evening, whether you are celebrating an anniversary, engagement, birthday or just want to share an enchanting evening with someone special, this dinner is the perfect way to create a romantic memory to last a lifetime. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.
In-Room Dining
Hours Of Operation: Available 24 hours a day Elegant, intimate dining on your own private lanai with picturesque garden and ocean views. Let us bring the dining room to you! Daily specialties with delicious breakfast, sandwiches, assorted salads and complete meals for gourmet lunches and romantic dinners. Refreshing tropical drink specialties, fine wines and champagnes are also available to you through In-Room Dining.
Ko Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open for lunch and dinner. Hours vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire is requested. Ko offers cuisine reflective of the many cultures of Hawaii's sugarcane plantation era. The menu is inspired by the rich history and culinary traditions of Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese cultures. K, meaning "sugarcane" in Hawaiian, features Ahi "On the Rock," shichimi spiced with orange ginger miso sauce, Lobster Tempura with spicy-sesame, pineapple sweet chili garlic and grapefruit soy sauce, Maui Cattle Company "Paniolo" Rib-Eye Steak, and Coconut-Curry Lamb Chops marinated and grilled with mango-mint salsa. Each dish celebrates the cultures of the plantation workers with an emphasis on sustainability.
Nick's Fishmarket-Maui
Hours Of Operation: Open nightly 5:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual (collared shirt and dress shorts) This is one of Maui's premier seafood restaurants offering the Islands' freshest fish, Live Keahole Maine Lobster, and Maui Cattle Company Steaks in a tropical ambiance. Special features include a 2,000 bottle wine cellar, outdoor seating and a private dining room to accommodate as many as fifty guests. Nick's was voted Best Special Occasion Restaurant for 2004 and 2005. Nick's has also earned the Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Polo Beach Grille & Bar
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 10:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (Bar) Open daily from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Restaurant) Times may vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire For lunch, this is THE place to go for expansive views of the neighboring Islands or when in season, to catch a glimpse of the majestic humpback whales. Polo Beach Grille and Bar is a casual poolside restaurant offering All American Beef burgers, garden salads, delicious sandwiches, and fresh local fish. Refreshing tropical drinks and fruit smoothies are served all day long at the restaurant's swim-up bar.
Kea Lani Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire This open-air dining area offers a daily bountiful breakfast buffet and an exceptional a la carte menu service. The buffet contains fresh fruit including local seasonal favorites such as guava, mountain apples, rambutans and papayas as well as pastries and breads such as mango and banana nut bread that are freshly baked in the resort's pastry shop. The buffet also features an omelet station and rotating choices of hot and cold items including pancakes, waffles, link sausage, and smoked bacon as well as authentic Asian style breakfast foods including miso soup.
Luana Lounge
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 3:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual The open-air Luana Lounge offers spectacular views of the beautiful Maui sunset. You can enjoy a selection of pupus and a Kea Lani Cocktail or one of many specialty martinis served in a silver cocktail shaker and poured at your table. Enjoy live entertainment nightly from local musicians playing contemporary light jazz and music from the Islands.
Caffe Ciao Deli
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. Hours may vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Caffe Ciao Deli is a trattoria with home made sandwiches, salads and produce. Enjoy fresh bread, scones, muffins and desserts from our bake shop with a selection of coffee drinks. Signature Kea Lani jams, jellies, condiments and a variety of other gifts are also available. Enjoy a Custom Picnic Basket for your day at the beach or around the island. Choose from a large selection of gourmet food items, cheeses and wines from around the world. Or Take a gourmet meal for your plane ride home through our "Food for Flight" program. Select your very own lunch, dinner, or snack, tailored just to your taste-it is the perfect end to a perfect vacation.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (207)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JV Maui
Orange County, CA
Sep 28, 2010

Exceptional and friendly service

First class service from the very beginning of checking in, we received a welcome lei, tropical drink, and a complimentary upgrade to an ocean view suite. We enjoyed our stay at the Kea Lani and the view from our room was spectacular. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're sick of the overpriced resort food, check out Kihei (15 minute drive) for other affordable restaurant options. Also, another money saver is to order to go and buy your own wine and enjoy a nice dinner at your lanai at sunset. If you have a GPS, bring it with you. It was helpful to us.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel everywhere
New York, NY
Sep 17, 2010

Spacious suite

Friendly staff, clean,very large suites. There were renovations going on while I was there but it was quiet and did not affect my stay. The bathrooms are enormous!! Nice beach with boogie boards and umbrellas to rent (free). Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel everywhere
New York, NY
Sep 17, 2010

Spacious suite

Friendly staff, clean,very large suites. There were renovations going on while I was there but it was quiet and did not affect my stay. The bathrooms are enormous!! Nice beach with boogie boards and umbrellas to rent (free). Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nordpol
Boston, MA
Sep 13, 2010

great resort in fantastic location

We choose the Fairmont because they offered a significant discount due to ongoing construction on the premises. We expected construction noise and 2 of the 3 pools being closed, but figured that the room, service, and location would still be fantastic. We were not disappointed. Construction noise was very limited and barely audible, and although two pools were indeed closed, this did not matter due to the perfect beach and because the pool that had the swim-up bar was open. As we had hoped we had a fantastic, spacious, and clean suite, and enjoyed the amenities (excellent fitness center, free snorkels, body boards, umbrellas at the beach) and location (right on a riff where you can see turtles and fancy fish).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Get a free snorkel set and swim 25 meters to the right from the hotel beach to see corals, colorful fish, and sea turtles!

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nordpol
Boston, MA
Sep 13, 2010

great resort in fantastic location

We choose the Fairmont because they offered a significant discount due to ongoing construction on the premises. We expected construction noise and 2 of the 3 pools being closed, but figured that the room, service, and location would still be fantastic. We were not disappointed. Construction noise was very limited and barely audible, and although two pools were indeed closed, this did not matter due to the perfect beach and because the pool that had the swim-up bar was open. As we had hoped we had a fantastic, spacious, and clean suite, and enjoyed the amenities (excellent fitness center, free snorkels, body boards, umbrellas at the beach) and location (right on a riff where you can see turtles and fancy fish).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Get a free snorkel set and swim 25 meters to the right from the hotel beach to see corals, colorful fish, and sea turtles!

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lo684
Portland, Oregon
Aug 15, 2010

Lovely and unpretentious

We enjoyed the most relaxing, most comfortable vacation on Maui while staying at the Fairmont Kea Lani. Our vacation consisted of sitting by the beach in the morning and sitting by the pool in the afternoon. We didn't come to explore or sightsee -- we came to relax, and that's exactly what we were able to do. The room was a spacious and beautifully appointed suite. The lanai was especially comfortable with a chaise lounge and table and chairs. We enjoyed our daily breakfast there while admiring the view. Although we started in an equally beautiful room, we were quickly and graciously upgraded when there was a small water spot caused by a leaking refrigerator. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The Kea Lani is a resort, and so the prices in the restaurants and deli were a little high, although the small cafe/deli/sundry shop was so charming and provided small bites like pizza, fried chicken, yogurt and salads that we enjoyed for not much more than the local grocery stores were charging. I developed a love of the Maui Mojito, prepared in the beautiful lounge. My husband confirmed that the Gimlets were delicious. When we did leave the hotel, we made the short 10-15 minute drive to many restaurants in Kihei. We were also very pleased with the surroundings and service at the Wailea Golf Club across the street. From very friendly, helpful service to the beautiful surroundings to the free parking and easy access to a beautiful beach and aloha spirit, we wholeheartedly recommend the Kea Lani.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a delicious, inexpensive dinner, go to the restaurant called Vietnamese Cuisine. Treat yourself to a Clay Pot rice dish and Vietnamese Burritos that you roll yourself in rice paper. We loved it so much that we returned for our final dinner on Maui!

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, California
Aug 15, 2010

Would't stay anywhere else!

I have stayed at this property every year for approximately l0 years. Love the walk along the ocean. It is so peaceful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to dining.shopping and attractions.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, California
Aug 15, 2010

Would't stay anywhere else!

I have stayed at this property every year for approximately l0 years. Love the walk along the ocean. It is so peaceful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to dining.shopping and attractions.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lo684
Portland, Oregon
Aug 15, 2010

Lovely and unpretentious

We enjoyed the most relaxing, most comfortable vacation on Maui while staying at the Fairmont Kea Lani. Our vacation consisted of sitting by the beach in the morning and sitting by the pool in the afternoon. We didn't come to explore or sightsee -- we came to relax, and that's exactly what we were able to do. The room was a spacious and beautifully appointed suite. The lanai was especially comfortable with a chaise lounge and table and chairs. We enjoyed our daily breakfast there while admiring the view. Although we started in an equally beautiful room, we were quickly and graciously upgraded when there was a small water spot caused by a leaking refrigerator. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The Kea Lani is a resort, and so the prices in the restaurants and deli were a little high, although the small cafe/deli/sundry shop was so charming and provided small bites like pizza, fried chicken, yogurt and salads that we enjoyed for not much more than the local grocery stores were charging. I developed a love of the Maui Mojito, prepared in the beautiful lounge. My husband confirmed that the Gimlets were delicious. When we did leave the hotel, we made the short 10-15 minute drive to many restaurants in Kihei. We were also very pleased with the surroundings and service at the Wailea Golf Club across the street. From very friendly, helpful service to the beautiful surroundings to the free parking and easy access to a beautiful beach and aloha spirit, we wholeheartedly recommend the Kea Lani.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a delicious, inexpensive dinner, go to the restaurant called Vietnamese Cuisine. Treat yourself to a Clay Pot rice dish and Vietnamese Burritos that you roll yourself in rice paper. We loved it so much that we returned for our final dinner on Maui!

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
goodstar40
Charlotte, NC
Aug 9, 2010

Awesome Hotel

Stayed at the Fairmont for my 40th birthday with two other single friends. Had a fantastic time staying here and would highly recommend this hotel for singles, couples, or families. The rooms were large and comfortable -- large bathroom with separate shower & tub and 2 sinks, great beds (no problems sleeping here), nice living room/kitchenette, and great patio. We never heard any of the people in the other suites beside or above us. Very quiet and peaceful. Fairmont has a great family pool with a waterslide (also fun for adults) and the quiet/adult pool is AWESOME. Very relaxing and peaceful. Hotel staff bring you chilled wash cloths and fresh pineapple. Cocktails are great here too. Take advantage of the extra activities that the hotel offers like yoga and water aerobics. The instructors were great and both were perfect for beginners. The paddle canoe experience at the Fairmont was one of the coolest things I did while I was in Maui. Got to swim/snorkle with turtles and see the beautiful reef right off the Fairmont beach. There is a great walking/jogging sidewalk path that runs between the Fairmont and other hotels in that area and the beach. Beautiful views from everywhere. Nick's Fish Market restaurant has great food (save room for dessert) and atmosphere. The deli has great breakfast and lunch items as well. The Wailea location is a great, central location to stay in Maui -- very easy to get to other areas (airport, Kihei, Lahaina, Haleakala National Park, road to Hana).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Go on the hotel's paddle canoe experience, eat at Nick's, and swim in the quiet pool.

Back to menu Return to top