$447 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
View map of 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gte0121
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 5, 2010

Just came back from Maui

We arrived in Maui after one week in Oahu. We really loved this hotel. We enjoyed the large room and the balcony. We found the refrigerator very useful as we went to Walmart to purchase soda and water. My only complaint as with anywhere in Maui, very expensive for snacks and drinks by the pool ($15 for a pina colada).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 28, 2009

A Wonderful Trip

The hotel is beautiful. I had read that the rooms needed to be updated and cleaned, but they looked amazing. We stayed in a room with an ocean front view and it was beautiful. The hotel is in a great location where there is not a lot of rain. However, it is a very expensive hotel. You pay a lot for every drink, every hamburger etc. Ultimately though, it was an amazing trip and the staff and grounds were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 12, 2011

Great Maui Experience

This was our second time staying at the Fairmont Kea Lani and our 8th or 9th visit to Maui. We typically stay up north in Kapalua but like the warmer weather down south. The Fairmont Kea Lani is a beautiful resort in a prime location. The grounds are well kept and expansive and the beach right out front is gorgeous. You also have immediate access to the boardwalk that lets you stroll or exercise around other Wailea beaches and resorts. We love this hotel because the rooms are a great size (suites), the pools are very kid friendly, there is easy beach access right out front, and there are various eating options right on site. This is in contrast to Kapalua where most of what you do / eat is more self service or offsite and beaches are more rugid. I would say the only bummer about this hotel, which was shared by many other people we met during our stay, is that their pricing on food and drink are very excessive - to the point where you have to think twice about making the purchase or have buyers remorse. A lot of the food is just average but you'll pay, for example, twice as much for a salad here as you will for one up north at Kapalua Ritz. I'd recommend this hotel and we'd stay here again. But I wish they would be more fair about their pricing so we can all feel as good about leaving as we did when we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nuv
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 23, 2009

Nice Room

Large resort hotel built in the 1990s, rooms are all suites and large at 840-sf with bedroom and living room. Nice large renovated bathroom. Best value if you compare the other 4 star hotels in Wailea. Orbitz had the lowest price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Apr 22, 2009

Hawaii Getaway

The Fairmont is a excellent hotel, which is located on our favorite side of the Island. Nick's restaurant is a world class restaurant with a wonderful selection of entree's. We were treated by the Head Chef and had a memorable time. The hotel grounds are beautiful. Also, try out the canoe sailing on the "Hina" it is definately a worthwhile excursion at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Wailea Shopping Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Forest, CA
May 20, 2010

Great vacation

I usually stay on the west side of the island, this was a nice change. Great time of year to go, not too hot and not crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nick's restaurant was great. Also went to Mama's, Nick's was just as good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun-loving vacationer
Business
San Diego, CA
May 19, 2011

Very helpful staff!

The staff was very friendly and hospitable. The pools and beach are fantastic. Very close to the shops and restaurants in Wailea.....hotel provides curtosey shuttle as well. We had a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel everywhere
Business
New York, NY
Sep 17, 2010

Spacious suite

Friendly staff, clean,very large suites. There were renovations going on while I was there but it was quiet and did not affect my stay. The bathrooms are enormous!! Nice beach with boogie boards and umbrellas to rent (free). Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 12, 2010

What a fantastic family vacation

Our hotel experience was very enjoyable and relaxing. My only complaint was the food and beverage pricing compared to pricing outside the hotel. $25 for a chicken caeser salad is rediculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Be sure to venture off the hotel grounds and see the how the locals live. Great sightseeing all around the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui Joe
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 19, 2010

Very nice, but...

Very beautiful hotel with very friendly service. In fact we were greeted to a two-level upgrade to our room upon our arrival at no charge. The room was updated and had a fantastic partial ocean view. The adult pool and sun area was a nice bonus as most of the resort was "kids gone wild". You have very little chance to grab a moment without a young child invading your relaxation in one of the two hot tubs on site. The adult area has pool and very nice lounge chairs only. An adult only hot tub would be nice. After visiting an equal nice hotel earlier in the week on the other side of the island the sticker shock for food and drink at the hotel was something I could not get over. Everything was nearly double. Overall the hotel was very nice. Service was excellent. Upkeep was excellent. Location was excellent. The expensive prices and the kids gone wild is something I should of expected visiting in July.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to take advantage of the other nearby fine dining locations at the nearby hotels. You can walk along the beach path or the road or take the shuttle over from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top