$429 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
View map of 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 11, 2010

For the most part very good

Very helpful staff. Activities like fishing and snorkeling trips easy to organize through the hotel. Nothing is cheap or free. Renting umbrellas on the beach or cabanas by the pool is a necessity unless you can tolerate the direct Maui sun. Location in the Waillea area is excellent. Only ate at resort on two occasions but it was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Renting a car is a must. Just being able to go to the grocery store to stock the suite fridge with soft drinks and snacks can be a huge savings. Everything at the resort is much more expensive to purchase there. Having the flexibility to dine off resort can also be more interesting in addition to a huge cost savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gte0121
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 5, 2010

Just came back from Maui

We arrived in Maui after one week in Oahu. We really loved this hotel. We enjoyed the large room and the balcony. We found the refrigerator very useful as we went to Walmart to purchase soda and water. My only complaint as with anywhere in Maui, very expensive for snacks and drinks by the pool ($15 for a pina colada).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orgill224
Business
snohomish,wa
Jul 3, 2010

great family vacation

It was amazing!!!!!love love love this hotel. Would go back in a minute!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darkstar666
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 1, 2010

A great place for a splurge

We loved the Fairmont! We'd happily stay again! But it could have been better - I gave it four stars, not five, because: 1. Really expensive food. The restaurants were all very good, but $30 for a breakfast buffet? 2. The cabanas and chaise lounges could use an update. For padding, they drape two towels over the chairs! Especially if you're paying for a cabana ($100!), or a beach umbrella ($45), you'd expect upholstered chairs. 3. The kitchenette in the room was a little lacking - there's a little fridge, a tiny sink and a microwave and a coffee maker. Some utensils, a tea kettle and a toaster would have been nice. 4. The rooms have old tube TVs. For a place as luxurious as the Fairmont, they should have HD flat screens - for $15 for an in-room movie, they should have a decent TV to watch them on. OK, this seems like nit-picking - and it is. But for the price, the place could use a little updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The WokStar right along the main strip in Kihei was inexpensive and about the best food we had in Maui - delicious noodles and stir-fry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation Planning Mom
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2010

Perfectly Beautiful Family vaca spot

The Fairmont Kea Lani is a Beautiful hotel. Spacious suites, 3 beautiful pools and a private beach that are not very crowded and outstanding service made this a perfect spot for our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many dining options (both casual or dressy) all within walking distance along the beach walk or across the street. The hotel cafe/shop deli is a nice option for feeding hungry teens without breaking the bank.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 28, 2010

New carpets are a must

The beach was great. More complimentary umbrellas at the pool and beach would have been nice. Providing pineapples poolside was great.The kids enjoyed the waterslide. I was not at all impressed with my room. The furniture and rugs needed to be cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the luau at the Grand Wahalea Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 27, 2010

Great Hotel and Location to the Beach

We relaxed by the beach walking distance from our room. This was the first vacation that all the people working at the hotel were happy at all hours of the day. We were greeted with Aloha even at 2am in the morning from the night clean up staff!!! I look for a clean place - everything was clean - the hotel, the fitness room, the beach and the pool! The Fairmont was a great decision. I would have given all five's for a review if it wasn't for the $9/hr rentals on beach equipment and the $30/person for Breakfast Brunch with rubbery pancakes and typical buffet food. Most folks end up at Costco or Wal-Mart buying a boogie board for the kids instead of renting.. Breakfast for 3 shouldn't cost $100 - we didn't have a prime rib or something beyond eggs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Start your week off by going to Marco's Dine and Grill. The food is great and the price is an incredible value. We got there in the last night - bummer. It's back by the airport at the corner by the Hana Highway. Enjoy the Vodka Rigatoni and the to die for chocolate cake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not a Fairmont Kea Lani Fan
Business
Orange County, CA
Jun 9, 2010

NOT WORTH IT! Stay somewhere else!

Where do I start??? First off, I have to say that I chose to stay at Fairmont for my entire 6 day trip to Maui and got an ocean view suite because it is arguably deemed the most luxurious or one of the most luxurious places to stay in Maui, and I had visited the lobby and the common areas when I went to Maui last time. DO NOT BE FOOLED. I wish I had not wasted my money on the Fairmont, and I will never stay there again. A condo in Kihei or a hotel in Lahaina would have been comparable in terms of the room you get and a FRACTION of the cost...I'm NOT exaggerating. The only thing that sets this place apart from regular hotels or condos is the lobby. It is grand and beautiful. The pool is pretty too, but if you come to Maui to stay in the pools, you might as well travel to a non-island resort with a great pool and pay much much less. So everything beyond the lobby was extremely dissapointing. Parking: The parking lot was ridiculous. This resort is not cramped for space, but they stuctured their parking lot as if they couldn't afford to give you one more inch of turning radius into a stall. Every time we drove back to the resort at the end of another fabulous day exploring and relaxing and having fun, the parking lot would just anger me. You have to shoe horn your car in. For the lack of a better word, it's just lame. It's so cheap feeling for this supposed "luxury resort", an indication of how Fairmont cuts corners. Rooms: Shortly after we checked into our room, we realized that our bar area was swarming with ants. I called the front desk and instead of offering to switch us to another room, she promptly said she would send up housekeeping and ended the call. Okay, fine. We'll try that first. A guy comes up with a can of bug spray and a cloth and sprays the entire entry of our room and wipes up. Except now, our room is full of fumes and smells so strongly of bug spray, it's making me feel sick. I had both balcony doors open and the wind was strong, but still, the fumes were stronger. I asked the guy if ants is a problem in every room, and he said yes, "this side of the hotel has ants, but that side doesn't". So I called front desk and told her about the fumes, and she curtly says (words seem nice, but tone was rude), "What would you like me to do about that?...Would you like to have a bottle of wine on us and go out for dinner while the smell dies down?" I said, "No, can you just give us a new room on the other side of the hotel where there are no ants?" She says she'll check and call me back. While I am pacing around the room waiting for her call back, I realize how dirty the room was. The floor was unvaccuumed for I don't know how long - it had an extremely thick coat of dust. There were dead moths by the balcony door. The hamper in the bathroom had a bunch of toe nail clippings in there - DISGUSTING. The room is not luxurious. Like I said, you would get a similar looking room in a condo in Kihei or any other hotel in Maui. The furniture and decor are old. The bathroom grout is cracked. The shower fixture is something you would find in a motel. Food: Nick's Fish Market is VERY good. I would go there for dinner. The service and food are really just excellent. I would go there again and again. Their other restaurant Ko...they really push for their guests to go there...let's just say I did not see ONE person eating there all week. Anticipating a name change if business for them keeps like this. Breakfast Buffet: I really don't know why other people rave about this buffet. It is VERY BASIC. There is an omelet station. Besides that, it's fruit, cereal, eggs, pancakes, waffles, muffins, etc. I've been to so many other luxury resorts with impressive buffets. This one does the job...we ate there two mornings (it's basically your only option), and it's not bad, but it's nothing to rave about. And in addition, that place is swarming with birds. The guy at the table next to us said i...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 29, 2010

Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall an excellent stay - concierge quality was the only detriment. Also preferred Ko's to Nick's as far as restaurants go at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camarillo, CA
May 21, 2010

Great vacation

Very accomodating staff. First rate service. Great location for snorkling. Expensive restaurants there though, best to go to Kihei to eat...found some real restaurant jewels there. Use yelp.com

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Great pool and Polo Beach is right in front of property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top