$329 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Hotel Wailea Maui

3 stars
555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
43 reviews
Fantastic

This is my second time to stay in this hotel, it is so fantastic and I love it so much. See full review

  • stacey song
  • Dec 20, 2012
Perfect Honeymoon

Staff was great, awesome breakfast in the morning! Driving service, awesome location. Perfect size... See full review

  • kdenton
  • Feb 13, 2012
Exclusive boutique hotel overlooks Wailea and the nearby sea
Nestled on 15 acres of lush landscaping about one mile up from the beach, the boutique Hotel Wailea Maui offers sweeping views of Wailea, the ocean and three offshore islands. With only 72 rooms -- each an elegant, oversized, one-bedroom suite with partial to full ocean views -- the hotel provides intimate comfort and exclusivity within easy reach of everything the area has to offer. An on-site spa offers serene relaxation, and guests are shuttled in custom jeeps to the famed Wailea Beach and provided exclusive attendant service. Swimming pool is also available on site.
Highlights
  • Fresh air and sweeping ocean views
  • Spa Wailea offers hydro therapy and traditional Japanese treatments
  • Exclusive Hotel Wailea Maui attendants cater to guests while at Wailea Beach
Location
Enjoy the grandeur of Wailea in the privacy of a hidden sanctuary. The Hotel Wailea Maui is nestled on 15 acres about a mile upland from Polo Beach, where the air is clear and fresh and the foliage lush. Guests experience a panoramic vista of Wailea, the ocean and the islands of Lanai, Kahoolawe and Molokini. The hotel provides shuttle service to the nearby Wailea Beach.
Rooms
The Hotel Wailea Maui features an intimate 72 rooms, each with a partial or full ocean view. All rooms are plush 900-square-foot, one-bedroom suites with private balcony, kitchenette, separate living area, luxury linens, deep soaking tub, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), Aveda bathroom amenities, bathrobes and air conditioning.
Dining
Capische? is the hotel’s award-winning restaurant, serving Southern Italian cuisine with a twist of tropical Maui flavors. Guests enjoy sweeping coastal views while they dine.
Recreation
  • Full-service Spa Wailea
  • New fitness center
  • Wailea or Polo Beach (near the resort)
  • Tennis (near the resort)
  • Golf (near the resort)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to nearby beach and area amenities available
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (13.3 mi/21.5 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (14.6 mi/23.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
  • Lahaina Town (28.1 mi/45.2 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (52.2 mi/84.0 km)
Policies and Fees
  • The swimming pool and spa will undergo renovations starting 1 Apr until 1 Jul 2014. Construction hours will be from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM every Mondays through Fridays. As a consideration to our partners and guests, the hotel will not charge a resort fee during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6757 -156.4335
Area served
Wailea.
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport.
Area description
Located at 555 Kaukahi, Hotel Wailea Maui offers a private sanctuary setting with convenient options nearby. Dining and spa treatments are available on resort grounds along with water activities. The best shopping center on the island is only a five-minute drive away, while entertainment, hikes, and other island attractions are within reach, as well.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Wailea Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Wailea Maui Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Overlooking our verdant tropical garden, our Partial Ocean View suites feature a private lanai, kitchenette, high count luxury linens, a deep soaking tub, and either two double beds or one king bed.
Ocean View Suites
Enjoy the splendor of Wailea's sun-kissed coastline in our Ocean Views Suites. Suites feature a lanai, kitchenette, high count luxury linens, lavish deep soaking tub and either two double beds or one king bed.
Panoramic Ocean View Suites
Indulge your senses in an amazing Panoramic Ocean View Suites sporting breathtaking views of the pristine Maui coastline. These incredible suites feature one king bed, spacious lanai with lounges, kitchenette, high-count luxury linens and deep soaking tub to soak in bubbles and bliss.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Capische?
Award-winning Italian restaurant-which added the recent acclaim of 'Best Italian Restaurant in Hawaii' by Zagat. The chef and staff create fresh, lively Italian cuisine in a fun and relaxing environment with nightly entertainment.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting rooms that seat 15-100 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Wailea Maui

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 43
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alice Chuang
Business
Vancouver
Aug 28, 2012

family vacation

Love this hotel! The suite was great. Only the breakfast was not that satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dreaming of Wailea
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 31, 2012

Awesome views and grounds

The lobby, pool and grounds were absolutely beautiful. It did not have that big resort or crowded feel. Definitely felt like we were in Hawaii. Rooms were disappointing. Dated and in need of remodeling throughout. Staff was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaypeach
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 14, 2011

family gathering

we liked the low key friendly atmosphere>not being fans of the mega-hotels along the beach, Hotel Wailea, with its multiple elevations, lovely gardens and lawns, made our space feel very private(4 accommodations to a building). The views from nearly every perspective were wonderful. Capische?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

save up to eat at Capische? It is worth the cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peaktravellers
Business
Abbotsford, CA
Feb 18, 2011

Hotel Wailea

Overall this hotel is well put together for a family looking to travel to Maui at a discount. It is not near the beach, a 5 minute shuttle is required to take you there were you then use the Grand Wailea (affiliated hotels) beachfront access. You do not get access to the pool however due to liability issues. The rooms at the hotel wailea are good for the purpose they serve they also include a small fridge and a two burner electric stove. A good tip is to stop at the costco before you leave OGG airport in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Costco near the airport, safeway near kihea, local abc stores

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oahu Fiance
Business
Kailua, HI
Feb 14, 2011

HORRIBLE NIGHTMARE

They put 4 adults in a 1 king size bed room. Meaning I spent $300/night to sleep on a pullout couch with my fiance while the other couple slept in the bed. We requested a 2 bed room and they said [...]didn't put it through though I showed them the reservation that stated 4. You had to walk UP HILL .5 miles to get to where your car was parked! Our room was pretty outdated and the bathroom needed to be tiled again and re-grouted. We had to call EVERYDAY for extra towels, there was hardly ever any towels at the pool. The day we got there we had to have the maid come and change the sheets on the pull out sofa as well as the bed because there was hair, sand, and pieces of dirt between the sheets. DISGUSTING! Then when I went to check out they had us staying an EXTRA day and checking out the next day and I had to show them MY reservation again to show them they were wrong and it was their fault. This was a COMPLETE NIGHTMARE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Seafire snorkeling tour of Molokini was by far worth the price of 55/person for 3-4 hours! It was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 26, 2010

A True Family Getaway

The hotel was beautiful, the grounds/gardens were beautiful and extremely well kept, it was truly Hawaii. With regard to hotel location, the hotel is up on a cliff so the scenary is great. Good for pics and relaxing. However, the hotel is a bit secluded so if you are looking for a quiet getaway, then this hotel is for you. If you are looking for more action/nightlife, then you may want to stay somewhere else or make sure to have a rental car. Each room is a suite with a 2 burner stove and mini fridge. The only thing missing was a microwave. The pool area was kind of small, but nice and well kept. They said the hotel was fully booked, so even though the pool was small, there did not seem to be any issue finding somewhere to sit. We always got a seat at the pool. There is a bar by the pool, but I am not sure if there was always someone actually working at the bar, also their drink menu is very limited, they have a few different beers and Mai Tai's. We were traveling with my nephew, a 19 month old, the hotel had a kid pool, again, kind of small, but OK for my nephew. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel offered a complimentary shuttle that can take you within 1-2 miles from the hotel to shops, restaurants...etc. This really helped us out because we did not have a rental the entire trip. Also, the hotel is pretty secluded, a car is needed in order to get to the nearest shops/restaurant. The drivers were extremeley friendly and personable. They really helped make the hotel stay a pleasurable experience. The hotel is NOT on the beach, but the shuttle can drive you to the hotel's beach area in which water, towels and chairs were included. It is a public beach so anyone can go, however, you must be a hotel member to get the chairs, water....etc. Each morning, there was complimentary pastries, bagels, coffee, tea, fruit in the lobby/lounge area, which was great, especially since the nearest restaurant was not walking distance. A few cons, there is only 1 italian restaurant at the hotel that was pretty expensive; the restaurant has a bar but they don't open until 5-6pm. The hotel also had a spa services, but they were overpriced. Lastly, it would have been helpful if the hotel had some kind of convienent store with snacks, toiletries, medicine....etc. Overall, our experience at the hotel was a positive one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Concord, NC
Sep 21, 2009

Awesome place! Just beautiful!

I have no complaints whatsoever about the hotel. It was beautiful and the staff was great! I loved the paths through the gardens, the view of the ocean with volcanos off in the distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Great ocean view, good value for money

I really enjoyed Diamond resort. The layout is unique in that it's not a mass scale hotel with all rooms and balconies in a row, it's more separated and I think better than some of the more expensive hotels. Size of the room was great, like a studio apt. really. The spa was interesting as well. The downside is things are a little dated, rooms could be updated along with furnishings but then it would probably be higher priced. And although the view is spectacular you're not on the beach, we drove down and it was no problem at all but if you're looking for that this place may not be for you. Overall, would stay there again in a heartbeat. Staff would courteous and hotel was clean. Didn't eat at either of their restaurants though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top