$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Hotel Wailea Maui

3 stars
555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
75 reviews
Fantastic

This is my second time to stay in this hotel, it is so fantastic and I love it so much. See full review

  • stacey song
  • Dec 20, 2012
Perfect Honeymoon

Staff was great, awesome breakfast in the morning! Driving service, awesome location. Perfect size... See full review

  • kdenton
  • Feb 13, 2012
Exclusive boutique hotel overlooks Wailea and the nearby sea
Nestled on 15 acres of lush landscaping about one mile up from the beach, the boutique Hotel Wailea Maui offers sweeping views of Wailea, the ocean and three offshore islands. With only 72 rooms -- each an elegant, oversized, one-bedroom suite with partial to full ocean views -- the hotel provides intimate comfort and exclusivity within easy reach of everything the area has to offer. An on-site spa offers serene relaxation, and guests are shuttled in custom jeeps to the famed Wailea Beach and provided exclusive attendant service. Swimming pool is also available on site.
Highlights
  • Fresh air and sweeping ocean views
  • Spa Wailea offers hydro therapy and traditional Japanese treatments
  • Exclusive Hotel Wailea Maui attendants cater to guests while at Wailea Beach
Location
Enjoy the grandeur of Wailea in the privacy of a hidden sanctuary. The Hotel Wailea Maui is nestled on 15 acres about a mile upland from Polo Beach, where the air is clear and fresh and the foliage lush. Guests experience a panoramic vista of Wailea, the ocean and the islands of Lanai, Kahoolawe and Molokini. The hotel provides shuttle service to the nearby Wailea Beach.
Rooms
The Hotel Wailea Maui features an intimate 72 rooms, each with a partial or full ocean view. All rooms are plush 900-square-foot, one-bedroom suites with private balcony, kitchenette, separate living area, luxury linens, deep soaking tub, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), Aveda bathroom amenities, bathrobes and air conditioning.
Dining
Capische? is the hotel’s award-winning restaurant, serving Southern Italian cuisine with a twist of tropical Maui flavors. Guests enjoy sweeping coastal views while they dine.
Recreation
  • Full-service Spa Wailea
  • New fitness center
  • Wailea or Polo Beach (near the resort)
  • Tennis (near the resort)
  • Golf (near the resort)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to nearby beach and area amenities available
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (13.3 mi/21.5 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (14.6 mi/23.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
  • Lahaina Town (28.1 mi/45.2 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (52.2 mi/84.0 km)
Policies and Fees
  • The swimming pool and spa will undergo renovations starting 1 Apr until 1 Jul 2014. Construction hours will be from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM every Mondays through Fridays. As a consideration to our partners and guests, the hotel will not charge a resort fee during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6757 -156.4335
Area served
Wailea.
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport.
Area description
Located at 555 Kaukahi, Hotel Wailea Maui offers a private sanctuary setting with convenient options nearby. Dining and spa treatments are available on resort grounds along with water activities. The best shopping center on the island is only a five-minute drive away, while entertainment, hikes, and other island attractions are within reach, as well.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Wailea Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Wailea Maui Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Overlooking our verdant tropical garden, our Partial Ocean View suites feature a private lanai, kitchenette, high count luxury linens, a deep soaking tub, and either two double beds or one king bed.
Ocean View Suites
Enjoy the splendor of Wailea's sun-kissed coastline in our Ocean Views Suites. Suites feature a lanai, kitchenette, high count luxury linens, lavish deep soaking tub and either two double beds or one king bed.
Panoramic Ocean View Suites
Indulge your senses in an amazing Panoramic Ocean View Suites sporting breathtaking views of the pristine Maui coastline. These incredible suites feature one king bed, spacious lanai with lounges, kitchenette, high-count luxury linens and deep soaking tub to soak in bubbles and bliss.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting rooms that seat 15-100 guests.

Dining

Capische?
Award-winning Italian restaurant-which added the recent acclaim of 'Best Italian Restaurant in Hawaii' by Zagat. The chef and staff create fresh, lively Italian cuisine in a fun and relaxing environment with nightly entertainment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Wailea Maui

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
napa ca
Jun 3, 2010

average hotel with a lot of stairs

sight seeing. hotel did not accommadate request for 2 beds. had to fight for them.was prepared to go to other hotel. no coffee shop or cafe there. had to go elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

be prepared to climb stairs

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelProGirl
Honolulu, HI
Mar 21, 2011

Adequate but not impressive

I had friends who were staying at a close by hotel that doesn't take reservations for less than 7 nights so to visit with them a few days I had to chose this place. The hotel seemed relatively understaffed since everytime I needed to call or asked for something I waited a while. There is only one restaurant on site and it is too far to walk to anywhere else. There is no room service for breakfast and the free breakfast buffet only ran until 9:30. Additionally this is the first hotel which has not been able give me even an hour late check out. On the plus side, they have Aveda products in the rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take the hotel shuttle to the Shops at Wailea and stock up on food/drink and snacks at eithet the ABC store or Whalers.

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alexk
los Angeles, California
Jul 20, 2012

Fantastic location

this is a decent hotel in a fantastic location. Rooms are very large, clean and comfortable. All staff are nice and friendly. The negatives: the pool was very small, the breakfast was too simple, and the views from your room are obstructed if you are in the back and are staying on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peaktravellers
Abbotsford, CA
Feb 18, 2011

Hotel Wailea

Overall this hotel is well put together for a family looking to travel to Maui at a discount. It is not near the beach, a 5 minute shuttle is required to take you there were you then use the Grand Wailea (affiliated hotels) beachfront access. You do not get access to the pool however due to liability issues. The rooms at the hotel wailea are good for the purpose they serve they also include a small fridge and a two burner electric stove. A good tip is to stop at the costco before you leave OGG airport in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Costco near the airport, safeway near kihea, local abc stores

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
murphytoo
maryland to california
Oct 31, 2009

meant for couples, not vacationers

Was a nice hotel. I was disappointed when I got there b/c it wasnt what I expected. It was away from the beach and all of the activity. Meant for couples. The fitness center was closed for renovations. The staff was very nice. The restaurant was superb. I ended up switching hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peaktravellers
Abbotsford, CA
Feb 18, 2011

Hotel Wailea

Overall this hotel is well put together for a family looking to travel to Maui at a discount. It is not near the beach, a 5 minute shuttle is required to take you there were you then use the Grand Wailea (affiliated hotels) beachfront access. You do not get access to the pool however due to liability issues. The rooms at the hotel wailea are good for the purpose they serve they also include a small fridge and a two burner electric stove. A good tip is to stop at the costco before you leave OGG airport in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Costco near the airport, safeway near kihea, local abc stores

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glen Cook
Hayward, CA
Sep 21, 2010

Hotel Wailea September 2010

The Hotel location was beautiful. The grounds were impeccable. The room was spacious and very comfortable, the staff was extremely courteous and gave 5 star service, and the view was priceless. The continental breakfast was only sufficient if you went at 7:30 AM otherwise they were out of one thing or another or many things. Everyday they ran out of pineapple, muffins and 2 days I heard "that is the last of the coffee". If you are charging me a $20.00 resort fee, which includes the breakfast, and you can bring more food on the next day, make sure you have enough every day, or don't charge for it. I don't want to get up early on vacation just to make sure they don't run out of breakfast. They provide you with a few bottles of water in your room on day one and do not replenish them ever again. I have stayed in 4 & 5 star hotels and they always replenish the bottled water everyday. We had to go to safeway and buy our own water after we noticed they didn't replenish. 3 bottles of water a day would not be too much to ask for. If they want to act like a high end hotel then their actions should be commensurate. There should be a microwave in the room. This is the #1 complaint on all the review sites, and the management doesn't appear to be hearing the complaint. They give you a stovetop with no pans to use for cooking, so it is useless unless you plan on buying pans while you are on vacation. It is a $50.00 investment x 80 rooms but would go a long way. The wireless internet is 1 MBs so don't expect to do too much. It feels like dialup. My cell phone seemed to go faster than the wireless. I used speedtest.net so I am not making up the speed. I enjoyed my stay and I would stay there again. Realize that you must walk up hill to get to the parking and hotel lobby, daily, and this may be challenging for some. Also the parking lot spaces are so narrow our rental car was hit a couple of times. Luckily we were able to rub the paint off. I recommend parking at the back of the valet lot. It appears to be for employees and people who don't care to have their cars damaged. Overall I had a great time and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like a private beach where you can have a beach all to yourself, travel from Wailea toward Laihaina. Take the highway and bypass Kihei. There is a marine sanctuary /reserve on the beach side. There is a long wooden walkway and a Marine sanctuary sign. Once you see this, turn around. There is a no left turn sign and a parking area for the reserve. Park anywhere along side of the road, and you will find the best beaches for privacy..

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Dec 20, 2010

It was nice

We just slept and watched TV there. The pool side bar was very limited, and the are no affordable food options near this hotel. Prepare to spend upwards of $100 a meal or travel 20 minuets for any other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mormor
San Diego
Mar 17, 2010

Peaceful location

We only stayed one night between two other island locations. This offered luxury in Wailea without "on-the-beach prices."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snitty
los angeles cali
Sep 21, 2011

quiet and serene

If you are looking for a quiet and serene getaway then this is the the hotel. Just blocks away from the beach but close enough. The staff was friendly and welcoming and the grounds were immaculate. The rooms are large and the housekeeping staff did their job to perfection. Overall a great Boutique Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top