$449 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Hotel Wailea Maui

4 stars
View map of 555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Wailea Maui

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelProGirl
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 21, 2011

Adequate but not impressive

I had friends who were staying at a close by hotel that doesn't take reservations for less than 7 nights so to visit with them a few days I had to chose this place. The hotel seemed relatively understaffed since everytime I needed to call or asked for something I waited a while. There is only one restaurant on site and it is too far to walk to anywhere else. There is no room service for breakfast and the free breakfast buffet only ran until 9:30. Additionally this is the first hotel which has not been able give me even an hour late check out. On the plus side, they have Aveda products in the rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take the hotel shuttle to the Shops at Wailea and stock up on food/drink and snacks at eithet the ABC store or Whalers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JTBDM
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Seasoned Maui Traveler

The location was great. We normally stay in Kapalua, but wanted to experience this side of the island. The hotel has very little amenities. The fitness room says newly remodeled, although little to no equipment, and most was broken and old. The spa was not your traditional spa. Very old and run down and we went to use hot tub one evening and found it full of children with parents swimming in hot tub with sand buckets and shovels. In room wireless did not work entire stay. The pool bar was closed for the entire stay. The on site restaurant is only open for dinner. The laundry facility was being remodeled during our stay. We spent the bulk of our time spending money at other hotels that had facilities. I would recommend looking at other properties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

MA LA in the Wailea Marriott is fabulous. Great food and wine list, and the view is to die for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AndeeRoo
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Some great, some not so great...

The entrance, bell staff, lobby, and pool area was all fantastic. The room, furniture, comfort, and amenities all need to be addressed. The hotel web site shows chic, modern, luxuriously appointed rooms. While the entrance and lobby areas promote this feeling, the rooms do not. Poor lighting, lack of furniture in a large suite, lack of kitchenette amenities, mediocre bedding, tv cables hanging down walls, stained carpet, etc... I will say the room was clean - just not at all what you expect. The Wailea location is great, just don't expect the image you see on the website throughout the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rich454
Business
Seattle
Feb 16, 2013

Not what we expected !

We stayed here in Jan 2013 to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Well let me just say, the rooms in the web site photos and the rooms they put you in are not the same! The room was old, out dated, dirty, and run down! When we brought the matter to the staffs attention, they offered an upgraded room for over $100.00 extra per night! We were not happy with this offer, so we left and found a much nicer, cleaner, and closer to the beach resort for less money. Maybe the upgraded rooms are nicer the the old, rundown rooms, but if your going to pay over $400.00 per night, there are many other nicer places to stay for less money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix az
Apr 3, 2010

Needs TLC

Hotel was too far from the beach up a steep hill. Asked for pots to cook - never heard from guy who was supposed to bring them. Staff is super friendly and size of rooms is wonderful - carpet was stained and fans needed cleaning and one side of slider did not move. Tvs were good. Continental breakfast was good but some of the items were really hard (maybe old??)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oahu Fiance
Business
Kailua, HI
Feb 14, 2011

HORRIBLE NIGHTMARE

They put 4 adults in a 1 king size bed room. Meaning I spent $300/night to sleep on a pullout couch with my fiance while the other couple slept in the bed. We requested a 2 bed room and they said [...]didn't put it through though I showed them the reservation that stated 4. You had to walk UP HILL .5 miles to get to where your car was parked! Our room was pretty outdated and the bathroom needed to be tiled again and re-grouted. We had to call EVERYDAY for extra towels, there was hardly ever any towels at the pool. The day we got there we had to have the maid come and change the sheets on the pull out sofa as well as the bed because there was hair, sand, and pieces of dirt between the sheets. DISGUSTING! Then when I went to check out they had us staying an EXTRA day and checking out the next day and I had to show them MY reservation again to show them they were wrong and it was their fault. This was a COMPLETE NIGHTMARE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Seafire snorkeling tour of Molokini was by far worth the price of 55/person for 3-4 hours! It was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top