$449 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

Hotel Wailea Maui

4 stars
View map of 555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Wailea Maui

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snitty
Business
los angeles cali
Sep 21, 2011

quiet and serene

If you are looking for a quiet and serene getaway then this is the the hotel. Just blocks away from the beach but close enough. The staff was friendly and welcoming and the grounds were immaculate. The rooms are large and the housekeeping staff did their job to perfection. Overall a great Boutique Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reggie's Mom
Business
Phoenix,AZ
Dec 16, 2010

Interesting Place

A beautiful hotel with nice cottage type rooms. Since we only stayed 1 night we didn't use any of the hotel amenities which was a waste of a pretty hefty "hotel amenities fee." I would not stay here overnight again due to that but would definitely consider it for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you are a golfer, you would enjoy this hotel.

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Dec 20, 2010

It was nice

We just slept and watched TV there. The pool side bar was very limited, and the are no affordable food options near this hotel. Prepare to spend upwards of $100 a meal or travel 20 minuets for any other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 26, 2010

A True Family Getaway

The hotel was beautiful, the grounds/gardens were beautiful and extremely well kept, it was truly Hawaii. With regard to hotel location, the hotel is up on a cliff so the scenary is great. Good for pics and relaxing. However, the hotel is a bit secluded so if you are looking for a quiet getaway, then this hotel is for you. If you are looking for more action/nightlife, then you may want to stay somewhere else or make sure to have a rental car. Each room is a suite with a 2 burner stove and mini fridge. The only thing missing was a microwave. The pool area was kind of small, but nice and well kept. They said the hotel was fully booked, so even though the pool was small, there did not seem to be any issue finding somewhere to sit. We always got a seat at the pool. There is a bar by the pool, but I am not sure if there was always someone actually working at the bar, also their drink menu is very limited, they have a few different beers and Mai Tai's. We were traveling with my nephew, a 19 month old, the hotel had a kid pool, again, kind of small, but OK for my nephew. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel offered a complimentary shuttle that can take you within 1-2 miles from the hotel to shops, restaurants...etc. This really helped us out because we did not have a rental the entire trip. Also, the hotel is pretty secluded, a car is needed in order to get to the nearest shops/restaurant. The drivers were extremeley friendly and personable. They really helped make the hotel stay a pleasurable experience. The hotel is NOT on the beach, but the shuttle can drive you to the hotel's beach area in which water, towels and chairs were included. It is a public beach so anyone can go, however, you must be a hotel member to get the chairs, water....etc. Each morning, there was complimentary pastries, bagels, coffee, tea, fruit in the lobby/lounge area, which was great, especially since the nearest restaurant was not walking distance. A few cons, there is only 1 italian restaurant at the hotel that was pretty expensive; the restaurant has a bar but they don't open until 5-6pm. The hotel also had a spa services, but they were overpriced. Lastly, it would have been helpful if the hotel had some kind of convienent store with snacks, toiletries, medicine....etc. Overall, our experience at the hotel was a positive one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Stoll's
Business
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Sep 25, 2010

Hotel Wailea, Maui : An excellent choice

The Hotel Wailea is located up on a lush green hill behind the Grand Wailea Hotel, affording it sweeping views from Lahaina all the way to Molokini. The entire location is impeccably landscaped with palm and fruit trees and many varieties of flowers. There are koi ponds, waterfalls and streams meandering throughout. Although not directly on the beach, this resort shares beach facilities with the Grand Wailea. They offer a shuttle service to the beautiful Wailea Beach, shopping or anywhere else in Wailea you wish to go. The service is outstanding at this resort. The concierge is open 24 hours and all the staff are very friendly, offering Aloha's at every opportunity. As the grounds are rather large and the suites are nicely spaced out to take advantage of the views, they offer shuttle service to and from your suite if requested. They are always available to offer advice or make suggestions about activities or dining. Hotel Wailea offers a continental breakfast served fresh every morning. Coffee, tea, fresh juice, and an array of fruits, bagels, muffins and sweet breads were standard every morning. There is a large covered, open air pavilion with seating to enjoy your breakfast, or you can take your breakfast back to your room or out to many of the picturesque locations on the grounds. Every suite they have has at least a partial ocean view and although the suite we stayed in was a ground floor suite, we had a stream with some small waterfalls and a pond out front of our lanai so the views weren't lacking in any way. The suite itself was well appointed with a small kitchenette, living area, bedroom with a very comfy kingsize bed and full bath with a soaker tub and spacious stand up shower. My only complaints about this resort were both things I knew about before I booked. The hotel is not directly on the beach, so the 3-5 minute shuttle service is necessary. There is also a $20/night/room charge on top of the regular room rate. This fee includes the breakfast and transportation service around Wailea. If you consider the cost of cabs and breakfast, the charge is well worth it in the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Always take the time to speak to the locals when looking for dining options. We were fortunate that one of the girls at the front desk was very helpful and never steered us wrong. We found that most of the brochures we read highlighted the higher end of dining in Maui which is fine, but we wanted to experience all that Maui had to offer.

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephanie SoCal
Business
Southern California
Nov 29, 2014

Excellent place for couples

Recently refurbished, romantic, and serene. Staff was superb at every turn. Beach promximity was an issue, and we would not recommend this hotel for people with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alexk
Business
los Angeles, California
Jul 20, 2012

Fantastic location

this is a decent hotel in a fantastic location. Rooms are very large, clean and comfortable. All staff are nice and friendly. The negatives: the pool was very small, the breakfast was too simple, and the views from your room are obstructed if you are in the back and are staying on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
murphytoo
Business
maryland to california
Oct 31, 2009

meant for couples, not vacationers

Was a nice hotel. I was disappointed when I got there b/c it wasnt what I expected. It was away from the beach and all of the activity. Meant for couples. The fitness center was closed for renovations. The staff was very nice. The restaurant was superb. I ended up switching hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
napa ca
Jun 3, 2010

average hotel with a lot of stairs

sight seeing. hotel did not accommadate request for 2 beds. had to fight for them.was prepared to go to other hotel. no coffee shop or cafe there. had to go elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

be prepared to climb stairs

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peaktravellers
Business
Abbotsford, CA
Feb 18, 2011

Hotel Wailea

Overall this hotel is well put together for a family looking to travel to Maui at a discount. It is not near the beach, a 5 minute shuttle is required to take you there were you then use the Grand Wailea (affiliated hotels) beachfront access. You do not get access to the pool however due to liability issues. The rooms at the hotel wailea are good for the purpose they serve they also include a small fridge and a two burner electric stove. A good tip is to stop at the costco before you leave OGG airport in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Costco near the airport, safeway near kihea, local abc stores

Back to menu Return to top