$329 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Hotel Wailea Maui

3 stars
555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
43 reviews
Fantastic

This is my second time to stay in this hotel, it is so fantastic and I love it so much. See full review

  • stacey song
  • Dec 20, 2012
Perfect Honeymoon

Staff was great, awesome breakfast in the morning! Driving service, awesome location. Perfect size... See full review

  • kdenton
  • Feb 13, 2012
Exclusive boutique hotel overlooks Wailea and the nearby sea
Nestled on 15 acres of lush landscaping about one mile up from the beach, the boutique Hotel Wailea Maui offers sweeping views of Wailea, the ocean and three offshore islands. With only 72 rooms -- each an elegant, oversized, one-bedroom suite with partial to full ocean views -- the hotel provides intimate comfort and exclusivity within easy reach of everything the area has to offer. An on-site spa offers serene relaxation, and guests are shuttled in custom jeeps to the famed Wailea Beach and provided exclusive attendant service. Swimming pool is also available on site.
Highlights
  • Fresh air and sweeping ocean views
  • Spa Wailea offers hydro therapy and traditional Japanese treatments
  • Exclusive Hotel Wailea Maui attendants cater to guests while at Wailea Beach
Location
Enjoy the grandeur of Wailea in the privacy of a hidden sanctuary. The Hotel Wailea Maui is nestled on 15 acres about a mile upland from Polo Beach, where the air is clear and fresh and the foliage lush. Guests experience a panoramic vista of Wailea, the ocean and the islands of Lanai, Kahoolawe and Molokini. The hotel provides shuttle service to the nearby Wailea Beach.
Rooms
The Hotel Wailea Maui features an intimate 72 rooms, each with a partial or full ocean view. All rooms are plush 900-square-foot, one-bedroom suites with private balcony, kitchenette, separate living area, luxury linens, deep soaking tub, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), Aveda bathroom amenities, bathrobes and air conditioning.
Dining
Capische? is the hotel’s award-winning restaurant, serving Southern Italian cuisine with a twist of tropical Maui flavors. Guests enjoy sweeping coastal views while they dine.
Recreation
  • Full-service Spa Wailea
  • New fitness center
  • Wailea or Polo Beach (near the resort)
  • Tennis (near the resort)
  • Golf (near the resort)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to nearby beach and area amenities available
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (13.3 mi/21.5 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (14.6 mi/23.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
  • Lahaina Town (28.1 mi/45.2 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (52.2 mi/84.0 km)
Policies and Fees
  • The swimming pool and spa will undergo renovations starting 1 Apr until 1 Jul 2014. Construction hours will be from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM every Mondays through Fridays. As a consideration to our partners and guests, the hotel will not charge a resort fee during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Wailea Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Wailea Maui Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Overlooking our verdant tropical garden, our Partial Ocean View suites feature a private lanai, kitchenette, high count luxury linens, a deep soaking tub, and either two double beds or one king bed.
Ocean View Suites
Enjoy the splendor of Wailea's sun-kissed coastline in our Ocean Views Suites. Suites feature a lanai, kitchenette, high count luxury linens, lavish deep soaking tub and either two double beds or one king bed.
Panoramic Ocean View Suites
Indulge your senses in an amazing Panoramic Ocean View Suites sporting breathtaking views of the pristine Maui coastline. These incredible suites feature one king bed, spacious lanai with lounges, kitchenette, high-count luxury linens and deep soaking tub to soak in bubbles and bliss.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting rooms that seat 15-100 guests.

Dining

Capische?
Award-winning Italian restaurant-which added the recent acclaim of 'Best Italian Restaurant in Hawaii' by Zagat. The chef and staff create fresh, lively Italian cuisine in a fun and relaxing environment with nightly entertainment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Wailea Maui

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oahu Fiance
Business
Kailua, HI
Feb 14, 2011

HORRIBLE NIGHTMARE

They put 4 adults in a 1 king size bed room. Meaning I spent $300/night to sleep on a pullout couch with my fiance while the other couple slept in the bed. We requested a 2 bed room and they said [...]didn't put it through though I showed them the reservation that stated 4. You had to walk UP HILL .5 miles to get to where your car was parked! Our room was pretty outdated and the bathroom needed to be tiled again and re-grouted. We had to call EVERYDAY for extra towels, there was hardly ever any towels at the pool. The day we got there we had to have the maid come and change the sheets on the pull out sofa as well as the bed because there was hair, sand, and pieces of dirt between the sheets. DISGUSTING! Then when I went to check out they had us staying an EXTRA day and checking out the next day and I had to show them MY reservation again to show them they were wrong and it was their fault. This was a COMPLETE NIGHTMARE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Seafire snorkeling tour of Molokini was by far worth the price of 55/person for 3-4 hours! It was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JTBDM
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Seasoned Maui Traveler

The location was great. We normally stay in Kapalua, but wanted to experience this side of the island. The hotel has very little amenities. The fitness room says newly remodeled, although little to no equipment, and most was broken and old. The spa was not your traditional spa. Very old and run down and we went to use hot tub one evening and found it full of children with parents swimming in hot tub with sand buckets and shovels. In room wireless did not work entire stay. The pool bar was closed for the entire stay. The on site restaurant is only open for dinner. The laundry facility was being remodeled during our stay. We spent the bulk of our time spending money at other hotels that had facilities. I would recommend looking at other properties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

MA LA in the Wailea Marriott is fabulous. Great food and wine list, and the view is to die for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AndeeRoo
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Some great, some not so great...

The entrance, bell staff, lobby, and pool area was all fantastic. The room, furniture, comfort, and amenities all need to be addressed. The hotel web site shows chic, modern, luxuriously appointed rooms. While the entrance and lobby areas promote this feeling, the rooms do not. Poor lighting, lack of furniture in a large suite, lack of kitchenette amenities, mediocre bedding, tv cables hanging down walls, stained carpet, etc... I will say the room was clean - just not at all what you expect. The Wailea location is great, just don't expect the image you see on the website throughout the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rich454
Business
Seattle
Feb 16, 2013

Not what we expected !

We stayed here in Jan 2013 to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Well let me just say, the rooms in the web site photos and the rooms they put you in are not the same! The room was old, out dated, dirty, and run down! When we brought the matter to the staffs attention, they offered an upgraded room for over $100.00 extra per night! We were not happy with this offer, so we left and found a much nicer, cleaner, and closer to the beach resort for less money. Maybe the upgraded rooms are nicer the the old, rundown rooms, but if your going to pay over $400.00 per night, there are many other nicer places to stay for less money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix az
Apr 3, 2010

Needs TLC

Hotel was too far from the beach up a steep hill. Asked for pots to cook - never heard from guy who was supposed to bring them. Staff is super friendly and size of rooms is wonderful - carpet was stained and fans needed cleaning and one side of slider did not move. Tvs were good. Continental breakfast was good but some of the items were really hard (maybe old??)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alexk
Business
los Angeles, California
Jul 20, 2012

Fantastic location

this is a decent hotel in a fantastic location. Rooms are very large, clean and comfortable. All staff are nice and friendly. The negatives: the pool was very small, the breakfast was too simple, and the views from your room are obstructed if you are in the back and are staying on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
murphytoo
Business
maryland to california
Oct 31, 2009

meant for couples, not vacationers

Was a nice hotel. I was disappointed when I got there b/c it wasnt what I expected. It was away from the beach and all of the activity. Meant for couples. The fitness center was closed for renovations. The staff was very nice. The restaurant was superb. I ended up switching hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
napa ca
Jun 3, 2010

average hotel with a lot of stairs

sight seeing. hotel did not accommadate request for 2 beds. had to fight for them.was prepared to go to other hotel. no coffee shop or cafe there. had to go elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

be prepared to climb stairs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peaktravellers
Business
Abbotsford, CA
Feb 18, 2011

Hotel Wailea

Overall this hotel is well put together for a family looking to travel to Maui at a discount. It is not near the beach, a 5 minute shuttle is required to take you there were you then use the Grand Wailea (affiliated hotels) beachfront access. You do not get access to the pool however due to liability issues. The rooms at the hotel wailea are good for the purpose they serve they also include a small fridge and a two burner electric stove. A good tip is to stop at the costco before you leave OGG airport in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Costco near the airport, safeway near kihea, local abc stores

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelProGirl
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 21, 2011

Adequate but not impressive

I had friends who were staying at a close by hotel that doesn't take reservations for less than 7 nights so to visit with them a few days I had to chose this place. The hotel seemed relatively understaffed since everytime I needed to call or asked for something I waited a while. There is only one restaurant on site and it is too far to walk to anywhere else. There is no room service for breakfast and the free breakfast buffet only ran until 9:30. Additionally this is the first hotel which has not been able give me even an hour late check out. On the plus side, they have Aveda products in the rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take the hotel shuttle to the Shops at Wailea and stock up on food/drink and snacks at eithet the ABC store or Whalers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top