$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Hotel Wailea Maui

3 stars
555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
75 reviews
Fantastic

This is my second time to stay in this hotel, it is so fantastic and I love it so much. See full review

  • stacey song
  • Dec 20, 2012
Perfect Honeymoon

Staff was great, awesome breakfast in the morning! Driving service, awesome location. Perfect size... See full review

  • kdenton
  • Feb 13, 2012
Exclusive boutique hotel overlooks Wailea and the nearby sea
Nestled on 15 acres of lush landscaping about one mile up from the beach, the boutique Hotel Wailea Maui offers sweeping views of Wailea, the ocean and three offshore islands. With only 72 rooms -- each an elegant, oversized, one-bedroom suite with partial to full ocean views -- the hotel provides intimate comfort and exclusivity within easy reach of everything the area has to offer. An on-site spa offers serene relaxation, and guests are shuttled in custom jeeps to the famed Wailea Beach and provided exclusive attendant service. Swimming pool is also available on site.
Highlights
  • Fresh air and sweeping ocean views
  • Spa Wailea offers hydro therapy and traditional Japanese treatments
  • Exclusive Hotel Wailea Maui attendants cater to guests while at Wailea Beach
Location
Enjoy the grandeur of Wailea in the privacy of a hidden sanctuary. The Hotel Wailea Maui is nestled on 15 acres about a mile upland from Polo Beach, where the air is clear and fresh and the foliage lush. Guests experience a panoramic vista of Wailea, the ocean and the islands of Lanai, Kahoolawe and Molokini. The hotel provides shuttle service to the nearby Wailea Beach.
Rooms
The Hotel Wailea Maui features an intimate 72 rooms, each with a partial or full ocean view. All rooms are plush 900-square-foot, one-bedroom suites with private balcony, kitchenette, separate living area, luxury linens, deep soaking tub, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), Aveda bathroom amenities, bathrobes and air conditioning.
Dining
Capische? is the hotel’s award-winning restaurant, serving Southern Italian cuisine with a twist of tropical Maui flavors. Guests enjoy sweeping coastal views while they dine.
Recreation
  • Full-service Spa Wailea
  • New fitness center
  • Wailea or Polo Beach (near the resort)
  • Tennis (near the resort)
  • Golf (near the resort)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to nearby beach and area amenities available
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (13.3 mi/21.5 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (14.6 mi/23.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
  • Lahaina Town (28.1 mi/45.2 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (52.2 mi/84.0 km)
Policies and Fees
  • The swimming pool and spa will undergo renovations starting 1 Apr until 1 Jul 2014. Construction hours will be from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM every Mondays through Fridays. As a consideration to our partners and guests, the hotel will not charge a resort fee during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Wailea Maui Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Overlooking our verdant tropical garden, our Partial Ocean View suites feature a private lanai, kitchenette, high count luxury linens, a deep soaking tub, and either two double beds or one king bed.
Ocean View Suites
Enjoy the splendor of Wailea's sun-kissed coastline in our Ocean Views Suites. Suites feature a lanai, kitchenette, high count luxury linens, lavish deep soaking tub and either two double beds or one king bed.
Panoramic Ocean View Suites
Indulge your senses in an amazing Panoramic Ocean View Suites sporting breathtaking views of the pristine Maui coastline. These incredible suites feature one king bed, spacious lanai with lounges, kitchenette, high-count luxury linens and deep soaking tub to soak in bubbles and bliss.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Wailea Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6757 -156.4335
Area served
Wailea.
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport.
Area description
Located at 555 Kaukahi, Hotel Wailea Maui offers a private sanctuary setting with convenient options nearby. Dining and spa treatments are available on resort grounds along with water activities. The best shopping center on the island is only a five-minute drive away, while entertainment, hikes, and other island attractions are within reach, as well.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting rooms that seat 15-100 guests.

Dining

Capische?
Award-winning Italian restaurant-which added the recent acclaim of 'Best Italian Restaurant in Hawaii' by Zagat. The chef and staff create fresh, lively Italian cuisine in a fun and relaxing environment with nightly entertainment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Wailea Maui

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kdenton
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Perfect Honeymoon

Staff was great, awesome breakfast in the morning! Driving service, awesome location. Perfect size facility. Parking was a little far away due to land layout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mike Severns Dive Company was an amazing dive boat to go out with!

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Oct 26, 2010

A True Family Getaway

The hotel was beautiful, the grounds/gardens were beautiful and extremely well kept, it was truly Hawaii. With regard to hotel location, the hotel is up on a cliff so the scenary is great. Good for pics and relaxing. However, the hotel is a bit secluded so if you are looking for a quiet getaway, then this hotel is for you. If you are looking for more action/nightlife, then you may want to stay somewhere else or make sure to have a rental car. Each room is a suite with a 2 burner stove and mini fridge. The only thing missing was a microwave. The pool area was kind of small, but nice and well kept. They said the hotel was fully booked, so even though the pool was small, there did not seem to be any issue finding somewhere to sit. We always got a seat at the pool. There is a bar by the pool, but I am not sure if there was always someone actually working at the bar, also their drink menu is very limited, they have a few different beers and Mai Tai's. We were traveling with my nephew, a 19 month old, the hotel had a kid pool, again, kind of small, but OK for my nephew. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel offered a complimentary shuttle that can take you within 1-2 miles from the hotel to shops, restaurants...etc. This really helped us out because we did not have a rental the entire trip. Also, the hotel is pretty secluded, a car is needed in order to get to the nearest shops/restaurant. The drivers were extremeley friendly and personable. They really helped make the hotel stay a pleasurable experience. The hotel is NOT on the beach, but the shuttle can drive you to the hotel's beach area in which water, towels and chairs were included. It is a public beach so anyone can go, however, you must be a hotel member to get the chairs, water....etc. Each morning, there was complimentary pastries, bagels, coffee, tea, fruit in the lobby/lounge area, which was great, especially since the nearest restaurant was not walking distance. A few cons, there is only 1 italian restaurant at the hotel that was pretty expensive; the restaurant has a bar but they don't open until 5-6pm. The hotel also had a spa services, but they were overpriced. Lastly, it would have been helpful if the hotel had some kind of convienent store with snacks, toiletries, medicine....etc. Overall, our experience at the hotel was a positive one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betty & Bernice
Central NYS
May 16, 2010

Hotel Wailee Maui - pure delight

It was very convenient having a nice restaurant at the hotel. Grounds were just beautiful; great ocean views. Staff couldn't do enough for us. Continental breakfast very good; nice presentation & content. $20/day hotel fee covered shuttle service to nearby places, easy parking, breakfast, spa, etc. It was not crowded at all when we went (2nd week in May).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Down at the bottom of the hill is "Shops at Wailea" a very upscale mall that was fun to walk around. Contained an ABC Store, which has lots of reasonable souveneirs, etc. We ate at a sushi place there & at Longhi's (Italian) which was very good.

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Stoll's
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Sep 25, 2010

Hotel Wailea, Maui : An excellent choice

The Hotel Wailea is located up on a lush green hill behind the Grand Wailea Hotel, affording it sweeping views from Lahaina all the way to Molokini. The entire location is impeccably landscaped with palm and fruit trees and many varieties of flowers. There are koi ponds, waterfalls and streams meandering throughout. Although not directly on the beach, this resort shares beach facilities with the Grand Wailea. They offer a shuttle service to the beautiful Wailea Beach, shopping or anywhere else in Wailea you wish to go. The service is outstanding at this resort. The concierge is open 24 hours and all the staff are very friendly, offering Aloha's at every opportunity. As the grounds are rather large and the suites are nicely spaced out to take advantage of the views, they offer shuttle service to and from your suite if requested. They are always available to offer advice or make suggestions about activities or dining. Hotel Wailea offers a continental breakfast served fresh every morning. Coffee, tea, fresh juice, and an array of fruits, bagels, muffins and sweet breads were standard every morning. There is a large covered, open air pavilion with seating to enjoy your breakfast, or you can take your breakfast back to your room or out to many of the picturesque locations on the grounds. Every suite they have has at least a partial ocean view and although the suite we stayed in was a ground floor suite, we had a stream with some small waterfalls and a pond out front of our lanai so the views weren't lacking in any way. The suite itself was well appointed with a small kitchenette, living area, bedroom with a very comfy kingsize bed and full bath with a soaker tub and spacious stand up shower. My only complaints about this resort were both things I knew about before I booked. The hotel is not directly on the beach, so the 3-5 minute shuttle service is necessary. There is also a $20/night/room charge on top of the regular room rate. This fee includes the breakfast and transportation service around Wailea. If you consider the cost of cabs and breakfast, the charge is well worth it in the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Always take the time to speak to the locals when looking for dining options. We were fortunate that one of the girls at the front desk was very helpful and never steered us wrong. We found that most of the brochures we read highlighted the higher end of dining in Maui which is fine, but we wanted to experience all that Maui had to offer.

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, WA
May 22, 2010

unbelievable trip!

The hotel and the grounds were beautiful! We also enjoyed a massage and spa. The staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
cinti, ohio
Apr 10, 2009

nice place

nice and friendly staff, nice and clean I would love to stay here agin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travlin Jack
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 5, 2010

Hotel Wailea a Hidden Gem!

I booked this hotel fairly last minute because the hotel my company usually provides wasn't available. I found it on[...] and it was in the right price range and the Hotel's website made it look pretty good. It was MUCH BETTER than the website represented. The main hotel was build as a Japanese country club year ago.. and is Large and Comfortable with lots of Teak and Rock and a real feeling of permanance. The units are all small(or large) suites in the middle of a golf course. There are only 72 units and 50 hotel staff.. so you get very friendly and personalized service. Very quiet and comfortable at the pool. You can basically have/do anything you want here.. just ask... it's not a time share.. and it's not a chain resort hotel.. so they aren't blasting music at the pool all day or trying to sell you $11 MaiTai's from a bottle of premix. I met the manager at a reception he host's each Friday evening and he seems genuinely interested in keeping his hotel the wonderful little hide away that it is. Oh.. and if you happen to be there on the weekend, make sure and check out their ultra-lounge after 10pm.. and ask for the ginger Saki-tini!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Shops at Wailea (approx 1 mile away) is a high end outdoor shopping center.. but at the ocean end of it, there are 4 good restaurants ranging from Cheeseburgers to Ruth's Chris. If you don't want to pay $45 a plate at local hotels like the 4 seasons, Fairmont, or Grand Wailea... check out this little spot.

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pasco, WA
Sep 24, 2007

Great Romantic Getaway

Hotel grounds was just beautiful! Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful! Room was comfortable and the view was amazing! Food was amazing! We would stay again, and will reccomend the Diamond Hawaii Resort and Spa to all our business and personal associates!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Ultimate Safari Advendture!!!

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hurried travler
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 20, 2009

Great Value

Excellent and friendly staff and responsive to needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pasco, WA
Sep 24, 2007

Great Romantic Getaway

Hotel grounds was just beautiful! Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful! Room was comfortable and the view was amazing! Food was amazing! We would stay again, and will reccomend the Diamond Hawaii Resort and Spa to all our business and personal associates!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Ultimate Safari Advendture!!!

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brandonk84
Oak Creek, WI
Aug 6, 2011

Hotel Wailea

My fiance and I traveled to Maui for our wedding/honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Wailea. Staff was extremely friendly, grounds were beautiful, and the on-site restaurant was delicious(though not cheap). You will have to do some walking to make your way around the resort. Not an issue for either of us, but it may hinder others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Did not find much of a nightlife on that side of the island. There is a stretch of bars/restaurants in Kihei, but most closed rather early. However, our stay did not include the weekend so it may be different on Friday/Saturday nights.

Back to menu Return to top