$449 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Hotel Wailea Maui

4 stars
View map of 555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Wailea Maui

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brandonk84
Oak Creek, WI
Aug 6, 2011

Hotel Wailea

My fiance and I traveled to Maui for our wedding/honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Wailea. Staff was extremely friendly, grounds were beautiful, and the on-site restaurant was delicious(though not cheap). You will have to do some walking to make your way around the resort. Not an issue for either of us, but it may hinder others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Did not find much of a nightlife on that side of the island. There is a stretch of bars/restaurants in Kihei, but most closed rather early. However, our stay did not include the weekend so it may be different on Friday/Saturday nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alice Chuang
Business
Vancouver
Aug 28, 2012

family vacation

Love this hotel! The suite was great. Only the breakfast was not that satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sungnib
Business
Tigard, Oregon
Oct 7, 2012

comfortable, great value

They are in a great location, near the beaches of Wailea. The rooms need updating but the bed is comfortable and all the rooms are suites. We love the access to the free spa that we used regularly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PMLM
Business
Honolulu HI
May 26, 2009

Peaceful

The kind of place you go for quiet (or could be th etime of year). Do it yourself place with a mini kitchen. One restaurant on site. Pool and full spa services available. Transportation to beach provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look for coupons....great two for ones and discounts .....menu magazine has a good review of what is out there in your area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Mar 3, 2009

Wonderful Trip

We were so pleasantly surprised with the quality and service of this hotel! We arrived very late from our flight, and there were friendly people there to greet us and help us out right as we got in. The rooms were huge and spacious with a beautiful back porch. They were very well taken care of consistently throughout our trip. The grounds were beautifully landscaped, and it was clear that much care was taken to keep them up properly. The hotel was quiet and relaxing. Don't let the fact that it is not directly on the beach deter you from staying here. The beach is about a one minute drive down the road. The only drawback would be for those who have trouble walking. Our room was probably one of the farthest one from the parking lot, and it was a bit of a hike. We are pretty fit, but were still out of breath when we finally reached the lot! Of course, if you did have trouble walking, I would imagine you could request a room closer to the parking lot. All in all, it was a beautiful and memorable trip. Wailea is an amazing area as well, and a wonderful place to stay while in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

(Moderate Drive) The Feast at Lele Luau in Lahaina was wonderful! It was a bit pricey, but well worth it. The food, drinks and entertainment were amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mormor
Business
San Diego
Mar 17, 2010

Peaceful location

We only stayed one night between two other island locations. This offered luxury in Wailea without "on-the-beach prices."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betty & Bernice
Business
Central NYS
May 16, 2010

Hotel Wailee Maui - pure delight

It was very convenient having a nice restaurant at the hotel. Grounds were just beautiful; great ocean views. Staff couldn't do enough for us. Continental breakfast very good; nice presentation & content. $20/day hotel fee covered shuttle service to nearby places, easy parking, breakfast, spa, etc. It was not crowded at all when we went (2nd week in May).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Down at the bottom of the hill is "Shops at Wailea" a very upscale mall that was fun to walk around. Contained an ABC Store, which has lots of reasonable souveneirs, etc. We ate at a sushi place there & at Longhi's (Italian) which was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mount Airy, MD.
Mar 10, 2010

A Gem in Paradise!!!

The views from our lanai were spectacular! Lush landscaping with scenic oceanviews. The environment was condusive to rest and relaxation-just what we desired for our getaway! The location was perfect-we walked or drove down the hill to a clean, safe public beach that provided us with free recliners. Having a rental car gave us the opportunity to explore every part of the island. We traveled the road to Hana, visited the Iao Needle State Park, explored the northern coastline and went on a Pacific Whale Foundation Whale watch excursion. We were quite impressed with the spectacular scenic island of Maui and will definitely return again to paradise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining in Wailea can be quite expensive-just a few miles away is Kihei, where there are an abundance of affordable yet excellent restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glen Cook
Business
Hayward, CA
Sep 21, 2010

Hotel Wailea September 2010

The Hotel location was beautiful. The grounds were impeccable. The room was spacious and very comfortable, the staff was extremely courteous and gave 5 star service, and the view was priceless. The continental breakfast was only sufficient if you went at 7:30 AM otherwise they were out of one thing or another or many things. Everyday they ran out of pineapple, muffins and 2 days I heard "that is the last of the coffee". If you are charging me a $20.00 resort fee, which includes the breakfast, and you can bring more food on the next day, make sure you have enough every day, or don't charge for it. I don't want to get up early on vacation just to make sure they don't run out of breakfast. They provide you with a few bottles of water in your room on day one and do not replenish them ever again. I have stayed in 4 & 5 star hotels and they always replenish the bottled water everyday. We had to go to safeway and buy our own water after we noticed they didn't replenish. 3 bottles of water a day would not be too much to ask for. If they want to act like a high end hotel then their actions should be commensurate. There should be a microwave in the room. This is the #1 complaint on all the review sites, and the management doesn't appear to be hearing the complaint. They give you a stovetop with no pans to use for cooking, so it is useless unless you plan on buying pans while you are on vacation. It is a $50.00 investment x 80 rooms but would go a long way. The wireless internet is 1 MBs so don't expect to do too much. It feels like dialup. My cell phone seemed to go faster than the wireless. I used speedtest.net so I am not making up the speed. I enjoyed my stay and I would stay there again. Realize that you must walk up hill to get to the parking and hotel lobby, daily, and this may be challenging for some. Also the parking lot spaces are so narrow our rental car was hit a couple of times. Luckily we were able to rub the paint off. I recommend parking at the back of the valet lot. It appears to be for employees and people who don't care to have their cars damaged. Overall I had a great time and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like a private beach where you can have a beach all to yourself, travel from Wailea toward Laihaina. Take the highway and bypass Kihei. There is a marine sanctuary /reserve on the beach side. There is a long wooden walkway and a Marine sanctuary sign. Once you see this, turn around. There is a no left turn sign and a parking area for the reserve. Park anywhere along side of the road, and you will find the best beaches for privacy..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
May 22, 2010

unbelievable trip!

The hotel and the grounds were beautiful! We also enjoyed a massage and spa. The staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snitty
Business
los angeles cali
Sep 21, 2011

quiet and serene

If you are looking for a quiet and serene getaway then this is the the hotel. Just blocks away from the beach but close enough. The staff was friendly and welcoming and the grounds were immaculate. The rooms are large and the housekeeping staff did their job to perfection. Overall a great Boutique Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top