$449 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Hotel Wailea Maui

4 stars
View map of 555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Wailea Maui

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stacey song
New Hampshire
Dec 20, 2012

Fantastic

This is my second time to stay in this hotel, it is so fantastic and I love it so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Dec 20, 2010

It was nice

We just slept and watched TV there. The pool side bar was very limited, and the are no affordable food options near this hotel. Prepare to spend upwards of $100 a meal or travel 20 minuets for any other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reggie's Mom
Business
Phoenix,AZ
Dec 16, 2010

Interesting Place

A beautiful hotel with nice cottage type rooms. Since we only stayed 1 night we didn't use any of the hotel amenities which was a waste of a pretty hefty "hotel amenities fee." I would not stay here overnight again due to that but would definitely consider it for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you are a golfer, you would enjoy this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bdogxlv
Business
las vegas, nv
Nov 22, 2010

could not ask for better

everything was great from the valet crew to front desk people. very friendly. love this place cause it was away from traffic areas and had a great view and the landscape was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

go to wailea beach and try the beach club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 26, 2010

A True Family Getaway

The hotel was beautiful, the grounds/gardens were beautiful and extremely well kept, it was truly Hawaii. With regard to hotel location, the hotel is up on a cliff so the scenary is great. Good for pics and relaxing. However, the hotel is a bit secluded so if you are looking for a quiet getaway, then this hotel is for you. If you are looking for more action/nightlife, then you may want to stay somewhere else or make sure to have a rental car. Each room is a suite with a 2 burner stove and mini fridge. The only thing missing was a microwave. The pool area was kind of small, but nice and well kept. They said the hotel was fully booked, so even though the pool was small, there did not seem to be any issue finding somewhere to sit. We always got a seat at the pool. There is a bar by the pool, but I am not sure if there was always someone actually working at the bar, also their drink menu is very limited, they have a few different beers and Mai Tai's. We were traveling with my nephew, a 19 month old, the hotel had a kid pool, again, kind of small, but OK for my nephew. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel offered a complimentary shuttle that can take you within 1-2 miles from the hotel to shops, restaurants...etc. This really helped us out because we did not have a rental the entire trip. Also, the hotel is pretty secluded, a car is needed in order to get to the nearest shops/restaurant. The drivers were extremeley friendly and personable. They really helped make the hotel stay a pleasurable experience. The hotel is NOT on the beach, but the shuttle can drive you to the hotel's beach area in which water, towels and chairs were included. It is a public beach so anyone can go, however, you must be a hotel member to get the chairs, water....etc. Each morning, there was complimentary pastries, bagels, coffee, tea, fruit in the lobby/lounge area, which was great, especially since the nearest restaurant was not walking distance. A few cons, there is only 1 italian restaurant at the hotel that was pretty expensive; the restaurant has a bar but they don't open until 5-6pm. The hotel also had a spa services, but they were overpriced. Lastly, it would have been helpful if the hotel had some kind of convienent store with snacks, toiletries, medicine....etc. Overall, our experience at the hotel was a positive one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle
Oct 20, 2010

awesome

sightseeing,good eating, swimming, grat time just like other trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ioa valley and the blowhole on the north shore

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TechnoMage
Business
Summerville, SC
Oct 7, 2010

Simply Wonderful!

Very romantic hotel, beautiful views (go for the panoramic view room option). The rooms have kitchenettes, a dining table and a living room space on one side, a large lanai with lounge chairs, and on the other side a very nice bedroom and large bathroom with a walk in shower. Each building has four rooms and is separated sufficiently to have plenty of privacy. Most of the guests we saw during our stay were couples, although the hotel does allow children. The resort fee includes access to the spa facilities which are very nice and include a sauna, multiple shower options, and a large oriental style soaking bath. The spa and the fitness areas both have open balcony views and are open to the tropical breezes. Highly recommend taking advantage of the umbrellas and beach chairs as the location is ideal. Hotel Wailea guests have space reserved right in the middle of the beach in front of the Grand Wailea Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you stay at the Hotel Wailea and you want to end your vacation strong, take advantage of the Kai Kanani sunset cruise on your last night. It is beach launched from the Makena Beach and Golf Resort which is a very short drive from the Hotel Wailea. That means you spend less of your precious remaining minutes on Maui driving and more of them enjoying the sunset!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Stoll's
Business
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Sep 25, 2010

Hotel Wailea, Maui : An excellent choice

The Hotel Wailea is located up on a lush green hill behind the Grand Wailea Hotel, affording it sweeping views from Lahaina all the way to Molokini. The entire location is impeccably landscaped with palm and fruit trees and many varieties of flowers. There are koi ponds, waterfalls and streams meandering throughout. Although not directly on the beach, this resort shares beach facilities with the Grand Wailea. They offer a shuttle service to the beautiful Wailea Beach, shopping or anywhere else in Wailea you wish to go. The service is outstanding at this resort. The concierge is open 24 hours and all the staff are very friendly, offering Aloha's at every opportunity. As the grounds are rather large and the suites are nicely spaced out to take advantage of the views, they offer shuttle service to and from your suite if requested. They are always available to offer advice or make suggestions about activities or dining. Hotel Wailea offers a continental breakfast served fresh every morning. Coffee, tea, fresh juice, and an array of fruits, bagels, muffins and sweet breads were standard every morning. There is a large covered, open air pavilion with seating to enjoy your breakfast, or you can take your breakfast back to your room or out to many of the picturesque locations on the grounds. Every suite they have has at least a partial ocean view and although the suite we stayed in was a ground floor suite, we had a stream with some small waterfalls and a pond out front of our lanai so the views weren't lacking in any way. The suite itself was well appointed with a small kitchenette, living area, bedroom with a very comfy kingsize bed and full bath with a soaker tub and spacious stand up shower. My only complaints about this resort were both things I knew about before I booked. The hotel is not directly on the beach, so the 3-5 minute shuttle service is necessary. There is also a $20/night/room charge on top of the regular room rate. This fee includes the breakfast and transportation service around Wailea. If you consider the cost of cabs and breakfast, the charge is well worth it in the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Always take the time to speak to the locals when looking for dining options. We were fortunate that one of the girls at the front desk was very helpful and never steered us wrong. We found that most of the brochures we read highlighted the higher end of dining in Maui which is fine, but we wanted to experience all that Maui had to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glen Cook
Business
Hayward, CA
Sep 21, 2010

Hotel Wailea September 2010

The Hotel location was beautiful. The grounds were impeccable. The room was spacious and very comfortable, the staff was extremely courteous and gave 5 star service, and the view was priceless. The continental breakfast was only sufficient if you went at 7:30 AM otherwise they were out of one thing or another or many things. Everyday they ran out of pineapple, muffins and 2 days I heard "that is the last of the coffee". If you are charging me a $20.00 resort fee, which includes the breakfast, and you can bring more food on the next day, make sure you have enough every day, or don't charge for it. I don't want to get up early on vacation just to make sure they don't run out of breakfast. They provide you with a few bottles of water in your room on day one and do not replenish them ever again. I have stayed in 4 & 5 star hotels and they always replenish the bottled water everyday. We had to go to safeway and buy our own water after we noticed they didn't replenish. 3 bottles of water a day would not be too much to ask for. If they want to act like a high end hotel then their actions should be commensurate. There should be a microwave in the room. This is the #1 complaint on all the review sites, and the management doesn't appear to be hearing the complaint. They give you a stovetop with no pans to use for cooking, so it is useless unless you plan on buying pans while you are on vacation. It is a $50.00 investment x 80 rooms but would go a long way. The wireless internet is 1 MBs so don't expect to do too much. It feels like dialup. My cell phone seemed to go faster than the wireless. I used speedtest.net so I am not making up the speed. I enjoyed my stay and I would stay there again. Realize that you must walk up hill to get to the parking and hotel lobby, daily, and this may be challenging for some. Also the parking lot spaces are so narrow our rental car was hit a couple of times. Luckily we were able to rub the paint off. I recommend parking at the back of the valet lot. It appears to be for employees and people who don't care to have their cars damaged. Overall I had a great time and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like a private beach where you can have a beach all to yourself, travel from Wailea toward Laihaina. Take the highway and bypass Kihei. There is a marine sanctuary /reserve on the beach side. There is a long wooden walkway and a Marine sanctuary sign. Once you see this, turn around. There is a no left turn sign and a parking area for the reserve. Park anywhere along side of the road, and you will find the best beaches for privacy..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travlin Jack
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 5, 2010

Hotel Wailea a Hidden Gem!

I booked this hotel fairly last minute because the hotel my company usually provides wasn't available. I found it on[...] and it was in the right price range and the Hotel's website made it look pretty good. It was MUCH BETTER than the website represented. The main hotel was build as a Japanese country club year ago.. and is Large and Comfortable with lots of Teak and Rock and a real feeling of permanance. The units are all small(or large) suites in the middle of a golf course. There are only 72 units and 50 hotel staff.. so you get very friendly and personalized service. Very quiet and comfortable at the pool. You can basically have/do anything you want here.. just ask... it's not a time share.. and it's not a chain resort hotel.. so they aren't blasting music at the pool all day or trying to sell you $11 MaiTai's from a bottle of premix. I met the manager at a reception he host's each Friday evening and he seems genuinely interested in keeping his hotel the wonderful little hide away that it is. Oh.. and if you happen to be there on the weekend, make sure and check out their ultra-lounge after 10pm.. and ask for the ginger Saki-tini!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Shops at Wailea (approx 1 mile away) is a high end outdoor shopping center.. but at the ocean end of it, there are 4 good restaurants ranging from Cheeseburgers to Ruth's Chris. If you don't want to pay $45 a plate at local hotels like the 4 seasons, Fairmont, or Grand Wailea... check out this little spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
napa ca
Jun 3, 2010

average hotel with a lot of stairs

sight seeing. hotel did not accommadate request for 2 beds. had to fight for them.was prepared to go to other hotel. no coffee shop or cafe there. had to go elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

be prepared to climb stairs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top