$329 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Hotel Wailea Maui

3 stars
555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
43 reviews
Fantastic

This is my second time to stay in this hotel, it is so fantastic and I love it so much. See full review

  • stacey song
  • Dec 20, 2012
Perfect Honeymoon

Staff was great, awesome breakfast in the morning! Driving service, awesome location. Perfect size... See full review

  • kdenton
  • Feb 13, 2012
Exclusive boutique hotel overlooks Wailea and the nearby sea
Nestled on 15 acres of lush landscaping about one mile up from the beach, the boutique Hotel Wailea Maui offers sweeping views of Wailea, the ocean and three offshore islands. With only 72 rooms -- each an elegant, oversized, one-bedroom suite with partial to full ocean views -- the hotel provides intimate comfort and exclusivity within easy reach of everything the area has to offer. An on-site spa offers serene relaxation, and guests are shuttled in custom jeeps to the famed Wailea Beach and provided exclusive attendant service. Swimming pool is also available on site.
Highlights
  • Fresh air and sweeping ocean views
  • Spa Wailea offers hydro therapy and traditional Japanese treatments
  • Exclusive Hotel Wailea Maui attendants cater to guests while at Wailea Beach
Location
Enjoy the grandeur of Wailea in the privacy of a hidden sanctuary. The Hotel Wailea Maui is nestled on 15 acres about a mile upland from Polo Beach, where the air is clear and fresh and the foliage lush. Guests experience a panoramic vista of Wailea, the ocean and the islands of Lanai, Kahoolawe and Molokini. The hotel provides shuttle service to the nearby Wailea Beach.
Rooms
The Hotel Wailea Maui features an intimate 72 rooms, each with a partial or full ocean view. All rooms are plush 900-square-foot, one-bedroom suites with private balcony, kitchenette, separate living area, luxury linens, deep soaking tub, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), Aveda bathroom amenities, bathrobes and air conditioning.
Dining
Capische? is the hotel’s award-winning restaurant, serving Southern Italian cuisine with a twist of tropical Maui flavors. Guests enjoy sweeping coastal views while they dine.
Recreation
  • Full-service Spa Wailea
  • New fitness center
  • Wailea or Polo Beach (near the resort)
  • Tennis (near the resort)
  • Golf (near the resort)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to nearby beach and area amenities available
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (13.3 mi/21.5 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (14.6 mi/23.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
  • Lahaina Town (28.1 mi/45.2 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (52.2 mi/84.0 km)
Policies and Fees
  • The swimming pool and spa will undergo renovations starting 1 Apr until 1 Jul 2014. Construction hours will be from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM every Mondays through Fridays. As a consideration to our partners and guests, the hotel will not charge a resort fee during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6757 -156.4335
Area served
Wailea.
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport.
Area description
Located at 555 Kaukahi, Hotel Wailea Maui offers a private sanctuary setting with convenient options nearby. Dining and spa treatments are available on resort grounds along with water activities. The best shopping center on the island is only a five-minute drive away, while entertainment, hikes, and other island attractions are within reach, as well.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Wailea Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Wailea Maui Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Overlooking our verdant tropical garden, our Partial Ocean View suites feature a private lanai, kitchenette, high count luxury linens, a deep soaking tub, and either two double beds or one king bed.
Ocean View Suites
Enjoy the splendor of Wailea's sun-kissed coastline in our Ocean Views Suites. Suites feature a lanai, kitchenette, high count luxury linens, lavish deep soaking tub and either two double beds or one king bed.
Panoramic Ocean View Suites
Indulge your senses in an amazing Panoramic Ocean View Suites sporting breathtaking views of the pristine Maui coastline. These incredible suites feature one king bed, spacious lanai with lounges, kitchenette, high-count luxury linens and deep soaking tub to soak in bubbles and bliss.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Capische?
Award-winning Italian restaurant-which added the recent acclaim of 'Best Italian Restaurant in Hawaii' by Zagat. The chef and staff create fresh, lively Italian cuisine in a fun and relaxing environment with nightly entertainment.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting rooms that seat 15-100 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Wailea Maui

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sungnib
Tigard, Oregon
Oct 7, 2012

comfortable, great value

They are in a great location, near the beaches of Wailea. The rooms need updating but the bed is comfortable and all the rooms are suites. We love the access to the free spa that we used regularly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaypeach
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 14, 2011

family gathering

we liked the low key friendly atmosphere>not being fans of the mega-hotels along the beach, Hotel Wailea, with its multiple elevations, lovely gardens and lawns, made our space feel very private(4 accommodations to a building). The views from nearly every perspective were wonderful. Capische?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

save up to eat at Capische? It is worth the cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dreaming of Wailea
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 31, 2012

Awesome views and grounds

The lobby, pool and grounds were absolutely beautiful. It did not have that big resort or crowded feel. Definitely felt like we were in Hawaii. Rooms were disappointing. Dated and in need of remodeling throughout. Staff was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alice Chuang
Business
Vancouver
Aug 28, 2012

family vacation

Love this hotel! The suite was great. Only the breakfast was not that satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sungnib
Business
Tigard, Oregon
Oct 7, 2012

comfortable, great value

They are in a great location, near the beaches of Wailea. The rooms need updating but the bed is comfortable and all the rooms are suites. We love the access to the free spa that we used regularly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PMLM
Business
Honolulu HI
May 26, 2009

Peaceful

The kind of place you go for quiet (or could be th etime of year). Do it yourself place with a mini kitchen. One restaurant on site. Pool and full spa services available. Transportation to beach provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look for coupons....great two for ones and discounts .....menu magazine has a good review of what is out there in your area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Mar 3, 2009

Wonderful Trip

We were so pleasantly surprised with the quality and service of this hotel! We arrived very late from our flight, and there were friendly people there to greet us and help us out right as we got in. The rooms were huge and spacious with a beautiful back porch. They were very well taken care of consistently throughout our trip. The grounds were beautifully landscaped, and it was clear that much care was taken to keep them up properly. The hotel was quiet and relaxing. Don't let the fact that it is not directly on the beach deter you from staying here. The beach is about a one minute drive down the road. The only drawback would be for those who have trouble walking. Our room was probably one of the farthest one from the parking lot, and it was a bit of a hike. We are pretty fit, but were still out of breath when we finally reached the lot! Of course, if you did have trouble walking, I would imagine you could request a room closer to the parking lot. All in all, it was a beautiful and memorable trip. Wailea is an amazing area as well, and a wonderful place to stay while in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

(Moderate Drive) The Feast at Lele Luau in Lahaina was wonderful! It was a bit pricey, but well worth it. The food, drinks and entertainment were amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mormor
Business
San Diego
Mar 17, 2010

Peaceful location

We only stayed one night between two other island locations. This offered luxury in Wailea without "on-the-beach prices."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betty & Bernice
Business
Central NYS
May 16, 2010

Hotel Wailee Maui - pure delight

It was very convenient having a nice restaurant at the hotel. Grounds were just beautiful; great ocean views. Staff couldn't do enough for us. Continental breakfast very good; nice presentation & content. $20/day hotel fee covered shuttle service to nearby places, easy parking, breakfast, spa, etc. It was not crowded at all when we went (2nd week in May).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Down at the bottom of the hill is "Shops at Wailea" a very upscale mall that was fun to walk around. Contained an ABC Store, which has lots of reasonable souveneirs, etc. We ate at a sushi place there & at Longhi's (Italian) which was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mount Airy, MD.
Mar 10, 2010

A Gem in Paradise!!!

The views from our lanai were spectacular! Lush landscaping with scenic oceanviews. The environment was condusive to rest and relaxation-just what we desired for our getaway! The location was perfect-we walked or drove down the hill to a clean, safe public beach that provided us with free recliners. Having a rental car gave us the opportunity to explore every part of the island. We traveled the road to Hana, visited the Iao Needle State Park, explored the northern coastline and went on a Pacific Whale Foundation Whale watch excursion. We were quite impressed with the spectacular scenic island of Maui and will definitely return again to paradise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining in Wailea can be quite expensive-just a few miles away is Kihei, where there are an abundance of affordable yet excellent restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glen Cook
Business
Hayward, CA
Sep 21, 2010

Hotel Wailea September 2010

The Hotel location was beautiful. The grounds were impeccable. The room was spacious and very comfortable, the staff was extremely courteous and gave 5 star service, and the view was priceless. The continental breakfast was only sufficient if you went at 7:30 AM otherwise they were out of one thing or another or many things. Everyday they ran out of pineapple, muffins and 2 days I heard "that is the last of the coffee". If you are charging me a $20.00 resort fee, which includes the breakfast, and you can bring more food on the next day, make sure you have enough every day, or don't charge for it. I don't want to get up early on vacation just to make sure they don't run out of breakfast. They provide you with a few bottles of water in your room on day one and do not replenish them ever again. I have stayed in 4 & 5 star hotels and they always replenish the bottled water everyday. We had to go to safeway and buy our own water after we noticed they didn't replenish. 3 bottles of water a day would not be too much to ask for. If they want to act like a high end hotel then their actions should be commensurate. There should be a microwave in the room. This is the #1 complaint on all the review sites, and the management doesn't appear to be hearing the complaint. They give you a stovetop with no pans to use for cooking, so it is useless unless you plan on buying pans while you are on vacation. It is a $50.00 investment x 80 rooms but would go a long way. The wireless internet is 1 MBs so don't expect to do too much. It feels like dialup. My cell phone seemed to go faster than the wireless. I used speedtest.net so I am not making up the speed. I enjoyed my stay and I would stay there again. Realize that you must walk up hill to get to the parking and hotel lobby, daily, and this may be challenging for some. Also the parking lot spaces are so narrow our rental car was hit a couple of times. Luckily we were able to rub the paint off. I recommend parking at the back of the valet lot. It appears to be for employees and people who don't care to have their cars damaged. Overall I had a great time and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like a private beach where you can have a beach all to yourself, travel from Wailea toward Laihaina. Take the highway and bypass Kihei. There is a marine sanctuary /reserve on the beach side. There is a long wooden walkway and a Marine sanctuary sign. Once you see this, turn around. There is a no left turn sign and a parking area for the reserve. Park anywhere along side of the road, and you will find the best beaches for privacy..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top