$449 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel Wailea Maui

4 stars
View map of 555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Wailea Maui

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaypeach
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 14, 2011

family gathering

we liked the low key friendly atmosphere>not being fans of the mega-hotels along the beach, Hotel Wailea, with its multiple elevations, lovely gardens and lawns, made our space feel very private(4 accommodations to a building). The views from nearly every perspective were wonderful. Capische?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

save up to eat at Capische? It is worth the cost.

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JTBDM
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Seasoned Maui Traveler

The location was great. We normally stay in Kapalua, but wanted to experience this side of the island. The hotel has very little amenities. The fitness room says newly remodeled, although little to no equipment, and most was broken and old. The spa was not your traditional spa. Very old and run down and we went to use hot tub one evening and found it full of children with parents swimming in hot tub with sand buckets and shovels. In room wireless did not work entire stay. The pool bar was closed for the entire stay. The on site restaurant is only open for dinner. The laundry facility was being remodeled during our stay. We spent the bulk of our time spending money at other hotels that had facilities. I would recommend looking at other properties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

MA LA in the Wailea Marriott is fabulous. Great food and wine list, and the view is to die for!

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snitty
Business
los angeles cali
Sep 21, 2011

quiet and serene

If you are looking for a quiet and serene getaway then this is the the hotel. Just blocks away from the beach but close enough. The staff was friendly and welcoming and the grounds were immaculate. The rooms are large and the housekeeping staff did their job to perfection. Overall a great Boutique Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brandonk84
Business
Oak Creek, WI
Aug 6, 2011

Hotel Wailea

My fiance and I traveled to Maui for our wedding/honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Wailea. Staff was extremely friendly, grounds were beautiful, and the on-site restaurant was delicious(though not cheap). You will have to do some walking to make your way around the resort. Not an issue for either of us, but it may hinder others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Did not find much of a nightlife on that side of the island. There is a stretch of bars/restaurants in Kihei, but most closed rather early. However, our stay did not include the weekend so it may be different on Friday/Saturday nights.

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hopeless Romantic
Business
Sun Valley, Idaho
Aug 5, 2011

Romantic Getaway

This hotel was amazing. It was not as "resorty" as some of the other places nearby. The hotel had a great breakfast and the restaurant was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capishe restaurant is life changing!

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hopeless Romantic
Business
Sun Valley, Idaho
Aug 5, 2011

Romantic Getaway

This hotel was amazing. It was not as "resorty" as some of the other places nearby. The hotel had a great breakfast and the restaurant was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capishe restaurant is life changing!

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelProGirl
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 21, 2011

Adequate but not impressive

I had friends who were staying at a close by hotel that doesn't take reservations for less than 7 nights so to visit with them a few days I had to chose this place. The hotel seemed relatively understaffed since everytime I needed to call or asked for something I waited a while. There is only one restaurant on site and it is too far to walk to anywhere else. There is no room service for breakfast and the free breakfast buffet only ran until 9:30. Additionally this is the first hotel which has not been able give me even an hour late check out. On the plus side, they have Aveda products in the rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take the hotel shuttle to the Shops at Wailea and stock up on food/drink and snacks at eithet the ABC store or Whalers.

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peaktravellers
Business
Abbotsford, CA
Feb 18, 2011

Hotel Wailea

Overall this hotel is well put together for a family looking to travel to Maui at a discount. It is not near the beach, a 5 minute shuttle is required to take you there were you then use the Grand Wailea (affiliated hotels) beachfront access. You do not get access to the pool however due to liability issues. The rooms at the hotel wailea are good for the purpose they serve they also include a small fridge and a two burner electric stove. A good tip is to stop at the costco before you leave OGG airport in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Costco near the airport, safeway near kihea, local abc stores

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oahu Fiance
Business
Kailua, HI
Feb 14, 2011

HORRIBLE NIGHTMARE

They put 4 adults in a 1 king size bed room. Meaning I spent $300/night to sleep on a pullout couch with my fiance while the other couple slept in the bed. We requested a 2 bed room and they said [...]didn't put it through though I showed them the reservation that stated 4. You had to walk UP HILL .5 miles to get to where your car was parked! Our room was pretty outdated and the bathroom needed to be tiled again and re-grouted. We had to call EVERYDAY for extra towels, there was hardly ever any towels at the pool. The day we got there we had to have the maid come and change the sheets on the pull out sofa as well as the bed because there was hair, sand, and pieces of dirt between the sheets. DISGUSTING! Then when I went to check out they had us staying an EXTRA day and checking out the next day and I had to show them MY reservation again to show them they were wrong and it was their fault. This was a COMPLETE NIGHTMARE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Seafire snorkeling tour of Molokini was by far worth the price of 55/person for 3-4 hours! It was amazing!

Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimo The Traveler
Business
Oklahoma
Jan 29, 2011

Vacation at Hotel Wailea

The hotel was a perfect place to relax and enjoy the view. It was just far enough away from the beach and the main roads to be quiet, but close enough that it only took a few minutes to get there. The only problem we had were the smokers. We would sit on our lani and the smoke would ruin the experirnce. I wish you would make the entire place non-smoking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The best shopping was at the safeway, ABC Store, and Hilo Hatties. It is a few miles from the hotel, but worth the drive.

Back to menu Return to top