$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Hotel Wailea Maui

3 stars
555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
43 reviews
Fantastic

This is my second time to stay in this hotel, it is so fantastic and I love it so much. See full review

  • stacey song
  • Dec 20, 2012
Perfect Honeymoon

Staff was great, awesome breakfast in the morning! Driving service, awesome location. Perfect size... See full review

  • kdenton
  • Feb 13, 2012
Exclusive boutique hotel overlooks Wailea and the nearby sea
Nestled on 15 acres of lush landscaping about one mile up from the beach, the boutique Hotel Wailea Maui offers sweeping views of Wailea, the ocean and three offshore islands. With only 72 rooms -- each an elegant, oversized, one-bedroom suite with partial to full ocean views -- the hotel provides intimate comfort and exclusivity within easy reach of everything the area has to offer. An on-site spa offers serene relaxation, and guests are shuttled in custom jeeps to the famed Wailea Beach and provided exclusive attendant service. Swimming pool is also available on site.
Highlights
  • Fresh air and sweeping ocean views
  • Spa Wailea offers hydro therapy and traditional Japanese treatments
  • Exclusive Hotel Wailea Maui attendants cater to guests while at Wailea Beach
Location
Enjoy the grandeur of Wailea in the privacy of a hidden sanctuary. The Hotel Wailea Maui is nestled on 15 acres about a mile upland from Polo Beach, where the air is clear and fresh and the foliage lush. Guests experience a panoramic vista of Wailea, the ocean and the islands of Lanai, Kahoolawe and Molokini. The hotel provides shuttle service to the nearby Wailea Beach.
Rooms
The Hotel Wailea Maui features an intimate 72 rooms, each with a partial or full ocean view. All rooms are plush 900-square-foot, one-bedroom suites with private balcony, kitchenette, separate living area, luxury linens, deep soaking tub, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), Aveda bathroom amenities, bathrobes and air conditioning.
Dining
Capische? is the hotel’s award-winning restaurant, serving Southern Italian cuisine with a twist of tropical Maui flavors. Guests enjoy sweeping coastal views while they dine.
Recreation
  • Full-service Spa Wailea
  • New fitness center
  • Wailea or Polo Beach (near the resort)
  • Tennis (near the resort)
  • Golf (near the resort)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (16.7 mi/26.9 km)
  • Hotel shuttle to nearby beach and area amenities available
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (13.3 mi/21.5 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (14.6 mi/23.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
  • Lahaina Town (28.1 mi/45.2 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (52.2 mi/84.0 km)
Policies and Fees
  • The swimming pool and spa will undergo renovations starting 1 Apr until 1 Jul 2014. Construction hours will be from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM every Mondays through Fridays. As a consideration to our partners and guests, the hotel will not charge a resort fee during this period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6757 -156.4335
Area served
Wailea.
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport.
Area description
Located at 555 Kaukahi, Hotel Wailea Maui offers a private sanctuary setting with convenient options nearby. Dining and spa treatments are available on resort grounds along with water activities. The best shopping center on the island is only a five-minute drive away, while entertainment, hikes, and other island attractions are within reach, as well.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Wailea Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Wailea Maui Rooms

Partial Ocean View
Overlooking our verdant tropical garden, our Partial Ocean View suites feature a private lanai, kitchenette, high count luxury linens, a deep soaking tub, and either two double beds or one king bed.
Ocean View Suites
Enjoy the splendor of Wailea's sun-kissed coastline in our Ocean Views Suites. Suites feature a lanai, kitchenette, high count luxury linens, lavish deep soaking tub and either two double beds or one king bed.
Panoramic Ocean View Suites
Indulge your senses in an amazing Panoramic Ocean View Suites sporting breathtaking views of the pristine Maui coastline. These incredible suites feature one king bed, spacious lanai with lounges, kitchenette, high-count luxury linens and deep soaking tub to soak in bubbles and bliss.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting rooms that seat 15-100 guests.

Dining

Capische?
Award-winning Italian restaurant-which added the recent acclaim of 'Best Italian Restaurant in Hawaii' by Zagat. The chef and staff create fresh, lively Italian cuisine in a fun and relaxing environment with nightly entertainment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Wailea Maui

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snitty
Business
los angeles cali
Sep 21, 2011

quiet and serene

If you are looking for a quiet and serene getaway then this is the the hotel. Just blocks away from the beach but close enough. The staff was friendly and welcoming and the grounds were immaculate. The rooms are large and the housekeeping staff did their job to perfection. Overall a great Boutique Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brandonk84
Business
Oak Creek, WI
Aug 6, 2011

Hotel Wailea

My fiance and I traveled to Maui for our wedding/honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Wailea. Staff was extremely friendly, grounds were beautiful, and the on-site restaurant was delicious(though not cheap). You will have to do some walking to make your way around the resort. Not an issue for either of us, but it may hinder others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Did not find much of a nightlife on that side of the island. There is a stretch of bars/restaurants in Kihei, but most closed rather early. However, our stay did not include the weekend so it may be different on Friday/Saturday nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hopeless Romantic
Business
Sun Valley, Idaho
Aug 5, 2011

Romantic Getaway

This hotel was amazing. It was not as "resorty" as some of the other places nearby. The hotel had a great breakfast and the restaurant was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capishe restaurant is life changing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelProGirl
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 21, 2011

Adequate but not impressive

I had friends who were staying at a close by hotel that doesn't take reservations for less than 7 nights so to visit with them a few days I had to chose this place. The hotel seemed relatively understaffed since everytime I needed to call or asked for something I waited a while. There is only one restaurant on site and it is too far to walk to anywhere else. There is no room service for breakfast and the free breakfast buffet only ran until 9:30. Additionally this is the first hotel which has not been able give me even an hour late check out. On the plus side, they have Aveda products in the rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take the hotel shuttle to the Shops at Wailea and stock up on food/drink and snacks at eithet the ABC store or Whalers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peaktravellers
Business
Abbotsford, CA
Feb 18, 2011

Hotel Wailea

Overall this hotel is well put together for a family looking to travel to Maui at a discount. It is not near the beach, a 5 minute shuttle is required to take you there were you then use the Grand Wailea (affiliated hotels) beachfront access. You do not get access to the pool however due to liability issues. The rooms at the hotel wailea are good for the purpose they serve they also include a small fridge and a two burner electric stove. A good tip is to stop at the costco before you leave OGG airport in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Costco near the airport, safeway near kihea, local abc stores

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oahu Fiance
Business
Kailua, HI
Feb 14, 2011

HORRIBLE NIGHTMARE

They put 4 adults in a 1 king size bed room. Meaning I spent $300/night to sleep on a pullout couch with my fiance while the other couple slept in the bed. We requested a 2 bed room and they said [...]didn't put it through though I showed them the reservation that stated 4. You had to walk UP HILL .5 miles to get to where your car was parked! Our room was pretty outdated and the bathroom needed to be tiled again and re-grouted. We had to call EVERYDAY for extra towels, there was hardly ever any towels at the pool. The day we got there we had to have the maid come and change the sheets on the pull out sofa as well as the bed because there was hair, sand, and pieces of dirt between the sheets. DISGUSTING! Then when I went to check out they had us staying an EXTRA day and checking out the next day and I had to show them MY reservation again to show them they were wrong and it was their fault. This was a COMPLETE NIGHTMARE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Seafire snorkeling tour of Molokini was by far worth the price of 55/person for 3-4 hours! It was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimo The Traveler
Business
Oklahoma
Jan 29, 2011

Vacation at Hotel Wailea

The hotel was a perfect place to relax and enjoy the view. It was just far enough away from the beach and the main roads to be quiet, but close enough that it only took a few minutes to get there. The only problem we had were the smokers. We would sit on our lani and the smoke would ruin the experirnce. I wish you would make the entire place non-smoking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The best shopping was at the safeway, ABC Store, and Hilo Hatties. It is a few miles from the hotel, but worth the drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Dec 20, 2010

It was nice

We just slept and watched TV there. The pool side bar was very limited, and the are no affordable food options near this hotel. Prepare to spend upwards of $100 a meal or travel 20 minuets for any other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reggie's Mom
Business
Phoenix,AZ
Dec 16, 2010

Interesting Place

A beautiful hotel with nice cottage type rooms. Since we only stayed 1 night we didn't use any of the hotel amenities which was a waste of a pretty hefty "hotel amenities fee." I would not stay here overnight again due to that but would definitely consider it for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you are a golfer, you would enjoy this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Wailea Maui

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bdogxlv
Business
las vegas, nv
Nov 22, 2010

could not ask for better

everything was great from the valet crew to front desk people. very friendly. love this place cause it was away from traffic areas and had a great view and the landscape was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

go to wailea beach and try the beach club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top