$499 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

5 stars
View map of 3850 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
63 reviews
Maui's palace

This hotel is very Beautiful, it really makes you feel like you are in heaven. The food was great,... See full review

  • elcha23
  • Apr 14, 2015
Very nice hotel

We went there on our honeymoon. We had a phenomeal stay but some things lacked a bit. We arrived at... See full review

  • Adriana C.
  • Apr 6, 2015

Palm trees, tropical flowers and jutting rock formations with cascading waterfalls border lush green lawns and a canal-like pool area at the Grand Wailea, a Waldorf Astoria Resort in Wailea Makena. While the idyllic setting often appeals to couples, families have the chance to challenge each other in a game of pool in the game room, take scuba diving lessons or watch a movie under the stars at the facility's theater. Mom and dad might enjoy snorkeling or a romantic dinner in the evening while the little ones are entertained in the supervised Lego Island play center.

Location
Calm waters, sunny weather and close proximity to fine restaurants and high-end retailers are all a short walk from the luxury resort community of Wailea. Golfing beginners and enthusiasts can take advantage of the five 18-hole championship golf courses, only a few minutes from the hotel. Play tennis at the nearby Wailea Tennis Club, snorkel with green sea turtles at local beach spots, or book a helicopter tour for unforgettable sights.
Highlights

The well-equipped fitness center offers yoga classes every morning on the beach. Take a guided tour of the art displayed throughout the facility that was created by local artists. Let your creative juices flow by taking morning painting or photography classes. Hike the Hoapili Trail or explore the hills while riding a complimentary mountain bike. Cuisine options range from typical American fast food to fresh, chef-prepared seafood with a Hawaiian or Polynesian flair. Guests have the option of eating at Humuhumunukunukuapua’a Restaurant under a Polynesian thatch roof, the Bistro Molokini, the Cafe Kula or at the Volcano Bar and Brill. Order room service or enjoy watching the sunset while dining in a candlelit private cabana on the beach.

Policies
The Grand Wailea is a popular destination for honeymooners, and houses a chapel for dream weddings or vow renewals.

For the ultimate romantic experience, book cabana dining at sunset to enjoy a menu tailored to your tastes with views across the Pacific Ocean and nearby islands.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:30 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jacksondog
Business
San Francisco
May 27, 2009

Not a good expierence for the cost

for a seasoned traveler the Grand Wailea is a dissapointment, terrible customer service all around. Horrible over priced food in the resturants, bad service at the resturants and on the beach. Would not go back and would not recommend that anyone I know stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville
Dec 5, 2008

Not told about Construction

Our peaceful vacation was constantly interrupted by the sounds of a jackhammer, power washer. Very frustrating. Very dissapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice shops

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mo'o
Business
Alameda CA
Jul 20, 2009

A bit disappointed

Glad I went, but I won't go back. The pool is fabulous, but it is a shame that the pools main attactions (the water slides and rope swing) are only open from 10 to 5 and the watervator is only open from 11 to 4. That was a bummer. Just plan well if you have kids and you are doing something away from the resort during the day that the fun pool stuff will be closed. Also there were a lot of people from other hotels in the pool making it very crowded. My biggest complaint is how dirty the hotel was the hallway to our room was filthy with sticky food, drinks and tons of dirt and it was not cleaned the whole 8 days we were there. I was also surprised at how unclean our room was. There was hair in the tub an sink and dribbles of something on the wall in the rest room. Our bed was very uncomfortable and was visably slanted and I had to ask the front desk 4 seperate times to either change the matteress or move us. They did finally change the matteress. A few times we asked different staff questions and they seemed irritated by the questions. All in all we would go to the Hilton Waikaloa on the Big Island instead of the Grand Wailea the next time we want to go to Hawaii. Oh, PS. The food was yucky too even at the highly touted Humu's. My "grilled" salmon was raw, the lobster bisque had no flavor and the bread was stale. The room service food was worse and never as described. Eat away from the resort if you go. Oh, the valet people were really nice - I liked them alot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

MAMA's Fish House!

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mechanicsville MD
Nov 10, 2009

Grand Wailea Hotel

They keep talking about their $50,000,000 renovation, but it looks the same as 3 years ago- maybe worse. The pools need major attention, and the room we had looked like nothing had upgraded in years (other than the TV).I think it was a bit over-priced. Hummuhummu restaurant was the best, but the rest of the food facilities were average. For my money, the Kea Lani is a much better value. I probably will not come back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Other than a dinner at Hummuhummu, got to Kihei for breakfast at Spices and a dinner at Cafe o Lei. Mama's Fish House past Paia is excellent, although pricey, but I thought it was worth it. Kimo's in Lahaina is also excellent, but an hour's drive

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas
Jun 7, 2011

next time i'll do things differently...

First impression...pretty awe inspiring. However, that sensation was short lived because upon checking in we were told there would be another $300 worth of resort fees and valet fees due at the end of the trip no matter what we did. As a smoker (which we are more aware than ever is evil and dirty) we felt completely persecuted for the entirety of our trip. My personal opinion: if I spend 5 G's on a hotel room, I should be able to smoke whereverthehell I want. Next time we're staying at a shack in Kehei and spending the extra loot on dinners and surfing lessons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kt929
Business
La Habra Heights, CA
Jul 27, 2014

FAMILY VACATION

Hotel needs major reno. Room is outdated, old and carpet is dirty. Pool has tiles falling off all over the place. Food is too expensive. For $600 a night, I expect 5* room. Wouldn't not stay her again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Camron
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Aug 15, 2014

Needs serious renovation

Grand Wailea is in need of serious renovation. We love the hotel and have been there 7 times but I wouldn't go back until they renovate the pools and rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkeling by the coral island was amazing!!

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherri J
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 9, 2011

Grand Wailea in Maui

This hotel is great whether you have kids or not. The activity pool is a lot of fun and relaxing at the same time plus it's steps away from the beach where every set of chairs has an oversized umbrella. Rooms are spacious and clean. You should know that the restaurants close by 9 and only one is open on Sunday and Monday evenings. There is a very nice outdoor mall next door that has late night evening. We will definity come back to stay here next time we come to Maui

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grammy L
Business
southern california
Apr 14, 2012

family vacation

hotel was very nice. people were very coridal except the Humuhumu restaurant staff. front desk had rude female greeters. very disappointing. will probably not return to the hotel because of the way we were treated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

leave the hotel area for nearby dining. you will be treated much nicer and costs a lot less.

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samster2013
Business
jamaica
Sep 9, 2013

Great travel package

We had a great time at the resort it was a very great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go aut to the town

Back to menu Return to top