$459 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

5 stars
View map of 3850 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
63 reviews
Maui's palace

This hotel is very Beautiful, it really makes you feel like you are in heaven. The food was great,... See full review

  • elcha23
  • Apr 14, 2015
Very nice hotel

We went there on our honeymoon. We had a phenomeal stay but some things lacked a bit. We arrived at... See full review

  • Adriana C.
  • Apr 6, 2015

Palm trees, tropical flowers and jutting rock formations with cascading waterfalls border lush green lawns and a canal-like pool area at the Grand Wailea, a Waldorf Astoria Resort in Wailea Makena. While the idyllic setting often appeals to couples, families have the chance to challenge each other in a game of pool in the game room, take scuba diving lessons or watch a movie under the stars at the facility's theater. Mom and dad might enjoy snorkeling or a romantic dinner in the evening while the little ones are entertained in the supervised Lego Island play center.

Location
Calm waters, sunny weather and close proximity to fine restaurants and high-end retailers are all a short walk from the luxury resort community of Wailea. Golfing beginners and enthusiasts can take advantage of the five 18-hole championship golf courses, only a few minutes from the hotel. Play tennis at the nearby Wailea Tennis Club, snorkel with green sea turtles at local beach spots, or book a helicopter tour for unforgettable sights.
Highlights

The well-equipped fitness center offers yoga classes every morning on the beach. Take a guided tour of the art displayed throughout the facility that was created by local artists. Let your creative juices flow by taking morning painting or photography classes. Hike the Hoapili Trail or explore the hills while riding a complimentary mountain bike. Cuisine options range from typical American fast food to fresh, chef-prepared seafood with a Hawaiian or Polynesian flair. Guests have the option of eating at Humuhumunukunukuapua’a Restaurant under a Polynesian thatch roof, the Bistro Molokini, the Cafe Kula or at the Volcano Bar and Brill. Order room service or enjoy watching the sunset while dining in a candlelit private cabana on the beach.

Policies
The Grand Wailea is a popular destination for honeymooners, and houses a chapel for dream weddings or vow renewals.

For the ultimate romantic experience, book cabana dining at sunset to enjoy a menu tailored to your tastes with views across the Pacific Ocean and nearby islands.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:30 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family vacation in Jan
Business
Seoul, Korea
Jan 23, 2014

First Trip to GW

My seven year old loved the pool and the slide (also the fishpipe, to a lesser degree). We got lucky and got upgraded to one of the towers, and the room was spacious with a good view and a luxurious bathroom. Rooms were cleaned twice everyday, which is great given that we brought in lots of sands after a day at the beach. Grand lu'au was a memorable experience, and the Spiny Hawaiian Lobster at the Humu was the best! Staffs were generally very friendly, except few that had some attitude (my sense is that they are so accustomed to a certain types of guests; if you do not fit that mold, you'd better show them you belong there to earn their respect). Guests all greet each other with smiles. Everything is expensive, but that is what you would expect from this hotel. Bottom line is that this is a great hotel for families with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KT Vacation
Business
Denver, Colorado
Feb 16, 2014

Great for a couple trip or a family vacation

The spa was amazing. It was a great way to start our stay. I highly recommend a spa day for anyone who stays at the Grand. It was a great location for us. We have family that we were visiting who lived in Kihei. They have a newborn, but the close proximity to Kihei made it easy for them to come and visit and for us to go and visit them. The staff was very friendly and professional. The Napua Tower is really nice. The only downside was that there was a $50 charge per visitor to come and use the pools with us. As a result, we did not fully utilize the resort because we wanted to spend more time with family. Other than that, it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dirk Ros
Business
Mexico City
Feb 24, 2014

Great Hotel

Fantastic facilities, the interior river is fantastic for kids, and the Amasia restaurant is delicous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Amasia restaurant is fantastic,

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerome27
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Mar 8, 2014

Great Experience

The staff was very friendly. The room service was great. The room was cleaned daily and surprisingly when we weren't in the room. Very nice pools and a great beach on the ocean. They have numerous amenities to satisfy every person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shops of Wailea

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui Mimi
Business
San Antonio TX
Nov 19, 2010

Maui Magic

This was our 3rd trip in 2 yrs. to the Grand Wailea. It is always a pure pleasure to stay at this hotel. We have visited Maui often during the past 26 yrs. and the Grand Wailea is THE BEST!! Restaurants on premises are excellent, all staff are welcoming and very pleasant. [...] at the front desk is especially nice and is always "all smiles." Whenever we left, the baggage handler reminded us of any personal items and looked in every drawer and under the bed himself. He waited patiently while my husband brought the car and warmly wished us a return visit. The beach services, pool services and all staff are top quality. The children's entertainment, slides, poolside crafts etc seemed to provide amply for little ones.Room maid services are simply excellent. The only improvement would be to really scrub the grout in the showers and launder the "throw" rug in the bathroom. Otherwise, it was spotless. We love the flowers, the chapel and total ambience of this hotel. The views are simply beautiful. Highy recommend. Love the Wailea shops nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Local shops are top quality and really staffed well. We really enjoy THE DOLPHIN art gallery. Tommy Bahama,Ruths Chris steakhouse, Cheeseburgers Island Style, ABC Stores, Sisters, etc.

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CJ1986
Business
Wauwatosa, WI
Jun 12, 2012

Honeymoon at the Grand Wailea, Maui

Room was great, view was beautiful, breakfast was yummy. Drinks at the bars were too high priced for us! We ate at Humuhumu and it was fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack too
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA
May 6, 2013

All around great vacation

This hotel really has it all. On top of that, the staff is very helpful and all really seen to love their job. This made us feel very welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Wialea golf course just lowered their rates starting at 12:00 noon.

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SShekhar
Business
San Jose, California
Aug 29, 2013

Great hotel

In the plush of South Maui, perfect hotel with opulence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Humumumunukunukuapu is a restaurant with food priced right.

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy1921
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 7, 2013

Awesome stay

We came here for the last stop after staying in Lahaina and Kapalua the previous 5 nights. It was an amazon stay and couldn't be a more beautiful resort. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean Tropical
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 19, 2013

Wonderful view and great pool

We stayed in your hotel because of the pool and beach areas. The room exceeded our expectations and we will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shops at Wailea

Back to menu Return to top