$309 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

5 stars
3850 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
53 reviews
Great getaway

Lovely hotel- met my expectations. Perfect for a honeymoon. See full review

  • Brad from SD
  • Sep 12, 2014
Romantic getaway

Thank you for making my birthday a great experience Aloha Mrs. Pierce See full review

  • kuulei
  • Aug 11, 2014
The Grand Wailea Walfdorf Astoria hotel spans 40 acres of waterfront property with direct access to Maui's golden Wailea Beach. The grounds are connected by meandering walkways that wind alongside streams, miniature waterfalls and swaying palm trees - perfect for a leisurely Hawaiian-style stroll. Eat at award-winning restaurants, take a dip in one of the four pools, or treat yourself at the Spa Grande, where services range from water therapies to traditional massages. Winner of the AAA Four Diamond Award, the Grand Wailea is a real Maui retreat.
Key facts
  • Restaurants:  HUMUHUMUNUKUNUKUAPUA'A, Alan Wong's Amasia, Bistro Molokini, Grand Dining Room and Sunset Cabana Dining, Cafe Kula
  • Bars:  Botero Bar, Grotto Bar, Volcano Bar
  • Conference and event spaces: 28,000-square-foot ballroom plus 17 breakout rooms and 12,000-square-foot gardens
  • 3 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis club
  • On-site shopping
  • Spa Grande: 40,000-square-feet
Neighborhood
Calm waters, sunny weather and close proximity to fine restaurants and high-end retailers are all a short walk from the luxury resort community of Wailea. Golfing beginners and enthusiasts can take advantage of the five 18-hole championship golf courses, only a few minutes from the hotel. Play tennis at the nearby Wailea Tennis Club, snorkel with green sea turtles at local beach spots, or book a helicopter tour for unforgettable sights.
Hints and tips
The Grand Wailea is a popular destination for honeymooners, and houses a chapel for dream weddings or vow renewals.

For the ultimate romantic experience, book cabana dining at sunset to enjoy a menu tailored to your tastes with views across the Pacific Ocean and nearby islands.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6897 -156.4406
Area served
Wailea, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport
Area description
The 22-acre Grand Wailea fronts the famed Wailea Beach, where the distant islands of Lanai, uninhabited Kahoolawe and little Molokini create a picture-perfect setting. The upscale Gold Coast community of Wailea itself is surrounded by golf courses, fine restaurants and shops, all within a short distance from the resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Rooms

Rooms
Luxury begins here with oversized guest rooms averaging 640 square feet and views of Mt. Haleakala, gardens and the ocean. Each offers a private balcony, 24-hour, in-room dining, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and feather duvet/pillows. Other accommodations include the exclusive Napua Tower, a private hotel within the resort; suites up to 5,500 square feet; and the Villas at Hoolei, three-bedroom villas for vacationing or residence.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph the traveler
Glendale, Ca
Aug 5, 2009

Grand Wailea at Maui July/Aug 09

The Hotel was great. Very Kid Friendly,I emailed the manager for special requests and all were met without any problems. The service was great from every body with one exception the Concierge desk was one of the most horrifying experiences I had. There an Activities Desk by the pool at the beach you can book all your activies there and they will charge your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Order a Frig for the room it is free. Go to Walmart or costco and fill it up with breakfast goodies and beverages.Buying from the hotel is outrageously expensive, then again you are at a Five star resort.Order a microwaive for a one time $25.00 fee and heat up things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mo'o
Alameda CA
Jul 20, 2009

A bit disappointed

Glad I went, but I won't go back. The pool is fabulous, but it is a shame that the pools main attactions (the water slides and rope swing) are only open from 10 to 5 and the watervator is only open from 11 to 4. That was a bummer. Just plan well if you have kids and you are doing something away from the resort during the day that the fun pool stuff will be closed. Also there were a lot of people from other hotels in the pool making it very crowded. My biggest complaint is how dirty the hotel was the hallway to our room was filthy with sticky food, drinks and tons of dirt and it was not cleaned the whole 8 days we were there. I was also surprised at how unclean our room was. There was hair in the tub an sink and dribbles of something on the wall in the rest room. Our bed was very uncomfortable and was visably slanted and I had to ask the front desk 4 seperate times to either change the matteress or move us. They did finally change the matteress. A few times we asked different staff questions and they seemed irritated by the questions. All in all we would go to the Hilton Waikaloa on the Big Island instead of the Grand Wailea the next time we want to go to Hawaii. Oh, PS. The food was yucky too even at the highly touted Humu's. My "grilled" salmon was raw, the lobster bisque had no flavor and the bread was stale. The room service food was worse and never as described. Eat away from the resort if you go. Oh, the valet people were really nice - I liked them alot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

MAMA's Fish House!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 8, 2009

The Grand Wailea

Wonderful! We had read reviews that stated it was difficult to stay away from kids (we weren't travelling with children) but this was not the case at all. The Hisbiscus pool is for 18yrs of age and older and has beautiful ocean views with both poolside or grass options. We ate at the poolside bistro and the service, food and drinks were delicious and fairly priced with the Island. Week nights we had turn down service but for whatever reason did not on the weekend. Regardless, the rooms were very clean and we truly had an ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stop at Hawaiin liquors and or Walmart or Safeway or Foodland for beer/wine and snacks for your room. It costs $25 one time only to rent a refrig from hotel but well worth the savings we incurred for stocking our own breakfast foods, etc. ***Also, they won't tell you this, but outside restaurants charge half off between 4-6p.m. for food. We ate at Roy's, etc and this was the case. You have to order prior to 6p.m.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shrub
Chicago IL
Jul 6, 2009

Grand Wailea

Had I known there was going to be so many noisy children running around the pool and grounds all day, I would have booked my vacation somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jacksondog
San Francisco
May 27, 2009

Not a good expierence for the cost

for a seasoned traveler the Grand Wailea is a dissapointment, terrible customer service all around. Horrible over priced food in the resturants, bad service at the resturants and on the beach. Would not go back and would not recommend that anyone I know stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I Miss You Cancun XOXO
Menifee, CA
May 22, 2009

Best Place in the World....I miss you...

How do you describe HEAVEN??? Staying at this hotel was wonderful...everything I could have imagined and more. When I planned my honeymoon I was very upset because they did not have the room I wanted with the dlx ocean view with a king size bed..they only had 2 queens...so when we got there we explained we were on our honeymoon and did they have a king??? They didnt have one so they upgraded us to the executive suites for **FREE** and let me tell you when I go back there next year I will be sure to pay the extra for that room again. Do yourself a HUGE favor and stay at the Grand Wailea....yes its pricey...but I swear it is worth every single penny...and we will bring my little one with us next time. There pools are beyond amazing...the waterslides are killer...saw people ages 6 months-70 years old going down them...They have kid activities next to the pool everyday..like Build-A-Bear except they made turtles and Sharks...great to watch...Doesnt matter if your on your honeymoon or just need to get away from it all I PROMISE you will LOVE THE GRAND WAILEA!!! Couple of tips for your trip: Bring your own floating devices...adults too...there is a lazy river and u will want to use it, Drink a Molinki Sunset at the Bar in the Pool (they also make candy smoothies for the kids), Eat at Humu...its is very pricey but best dinner we have ever had and just enjoy this wonderful place...I have only been back home 5 days and have planned my trip for next year at The Grand Wailea. Enjoy and Aloha!!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If your gonna snorkel...go past the pools to the beach where they have the equipment to rent, rent snorkel gear, then face the ocean and walk all the way to your left until you hit the rocks. Get into the water and swim to the end of those rocks and you will see sea turtles, fish, eels...etc. We saw everything and do not worry...no sharks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu Hawaii
May 8, 2009

Great place and great price

Great location! Spa is out standing! Excellent!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, VA
Apr 22, 2009

Vacation in paradise

The Grand is beautiful and you really don't need to go anywhere else on the island. The shops next door are fun to browse through, the beach is perfect, the location is restful. The pool is great for kids and there is plenty to do throughout the day and evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the whaler's store or the ABC store at the shops at wailea for better deals than the shops at the hotel, the same goods for much less.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Armando and I Maui 2009
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 22, 2009

Maui 2009

The resort was fabulous! We loved every minute of the entire trip! We will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

This is hard to pick just one. There was so much at this resort, everything was awesome. Pricey, but simply amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville
Dec 5, 2008

Not told about Construction

Our peaceful vacation was constantly interrupted by the sounds of a jackhammer, power washer. Very frustrating. Very dissapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search