$439 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

5 stars
View map of 3850 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui Mimi
Business
San Antonio TX
Nov 19, 2010

Maui Magic

This was our 3rd trip in 2 yrs. to the Grand Wailea. It is always a pure pleasure to stay at this hotel. We have visited Maui often during the past 26 yrs. and the Grand Wailea is THE BEST!! Restaurants on premises are excellent, all staff are welcoming and very pleasant. [...] at the front desk is especially nice and is always "all smiles." Whenever we left, the baggage handler reminded us of any personal items and looked in every drawer and under the bed himself. He waited patiently while my husband brought the car and warmly wished us a return visit. The beach services, pool services and all staff are top quality. The children's entertainment, slides, poolside crafts etc seemed to provide amply for little ones.Room maid services are simply excellent. The only improvement would be to really scrub the grout in the showers and launder the "throw" rug in the bathroom. Otherwise, it was spotless. We love the flowers, the chapel and total ambience of this hotel. The views are simply beautiful. Highy recommend. Love the Wailea shops nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Local shops are top quality and really staffed well. We really enjoy THE DOLPHIN art gallery. Tommy Bahama,Ruths Chris steakhouse, Cheeseburgers Island Style, ABC Stores, Sisters, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JHoney
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 24, 2010

Grand is right!

We were on our Honeymoon. And everything was so beautiful. There was a resort fee but i come to expect that in alot of hotels now. This hotel caters from honeymoons to family trips. I loved every minute of it. and of course it's on Maui. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Got to check out the Luau. That was amazing too. It's only on certain days, so if you can try, due watch it. (Sounds like i work for the hotel doesn't it. but this proves i had a great time)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui Momma
Business
Jacksonville, FLA.
Jul 18, 2010

Grand wailea

wish we could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

snorkeling with Trilogy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
20th
Business
San Clemente, Ca
May 2, 2010

20th Anniversary

If you like to be active join the Beach Club for $99/person you get unlimited use of Stand Up Paddleboards, kayaks, Snorkling gear etc. for the week. It was well worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get pannini's for lunch at Whalers General store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe Mr picky
Business
Cerritos , CA
Dec 28, 2009

"Perfect hotel,perfect location"

The hotel is huge but not overwhelming the pools,fitness center and beach are top notch.My wife and I spent much of our time at the adult pool wich was very tranquil.Like most resorts the food and drink prices are high but there are many affordable alternatives within a five minute walk or drive.We highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, WA
Dec 7, 2009

Fantastic family vacation location!

The hotel was great. It was our first time to Maui and it was a great hotel. It was first class as well as the pool area was great for the kids. We have a 18mo,13yr and 17yr old and all want to come back next year. It is expensive, but worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mechanicsville MD
Nov 10, 2009

Grand Wailea Hotel

They keep talking about their $50,000,000 renovation, but it looks the same as 3 years ago- maybe worse. The pools need major attention, and the room we had looked like nothing had upgraded in years (other than the TV).I think it was a bit over-priced. Hummuhummu restaurant was the best, but the rest of the food facilities were average. For my money, the Kea Lani is a much better value. I probably will not come back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Other than a dinner at Hummuhummu, got to Kihei for breakfast at Spices and a dinner at Cafe o Lei. Mama's Fish House past Paia is excellent, although pricey, but I thought it was worth it. Kimo's in Lahaina is also excellent, but an hour's drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hackensack, NJ
Sep 13, 2009

Grand Wailea

The hotel is beautiful however the staff was not as nice as they should be for a hotel of this rank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
klai
Business
chicago, il
Aug 13, 2009

great resort hotel

great service, a wide array of activities and amenities. a spa like no other. the adult pool was a bit small, but when you have the great pacific ocean in front of you, who cares? i would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph the traveler
Business
Glendale, Ca
Aug 5, 2009

Grand Wailea at Maui July/Aug 09

The Hotel was great. Very Kid Friendly,I emailed the manager for special requests and all were met without any problems. The service was great from every body with one exception the Concierge desk was one of the most horrifying experiences I had. There an Activities Desk by the pool at the beach you can book all your activies there and they will charge your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Order a Frig for the room it is free. Go to Walmart or costco and fill it up with breakfast goodies and beverages.Buying from the hotel is outrageously expensive, then again you are at a Five star resort.Order a microwaive for a one time $25.00 fee and heat up things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top