$278 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

5 stars
3850 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
55 reviews
Fantastic Vacation

We had a fabulous time. The hotel was awesome and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We... See full review

  • Josh's Okasan
  • Nov 19, 2014
Best hotel ever!

This was my best hotel experience I have ever had! From the moment I got there, which was 6 hours... See full review

  • Papa Rick
  • Oct 13, 2014
The Grand Wailea Walfdorf Astoria hotel spans 40 acres of waterfront property with direct access to Maui's golden Wailea Beach. The grounds are connected by meandering walkways that wind alongside streams, miniature waterfalls and swaying palm trees - perfect for a leisurely Hawaiian-style stroll. Eat at award-winning restaurants, take a dip in one of the four pools, or treat yourself at the Spa Grande, where services range from water therapies to traditional massages. Winner of the AAA Four Diamond Award, the Grand Wailea is a real Maui retreat.
Key facts
  • Restaurants:  HUMUHUMUNUKUNUKUAPUA'A, Alan Wong's Amasia, Bistro Molokini, Grand Dining Room and Sunset Cabana Dining, Cafe Kula
  • Bars:  Botero Bar, Grotto Bar, Volcano Bar
  • Conference and event spaces: 28,000-square-foot ballroom plus 17 breakout rooms and 12,000-square-foot gardens
  • 3 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis club
  • On-site shopping
  • Spa Grande: 40,000-square-feet
Neighborhood
Calm waters, sunny weather and close proximity to fine restaurants and high-end retailers are all a short walk from the luxury resort community of Wailea. Golfing beginners and enthusiasts can take advantage of the five 18-hole championship golf courses, only a few minutes from the hotel. Play tennis at the nearby Wailea Tennis Club, snorkel with green sea turtles at local beach spots, or book a helicopter tour for unforgettable sights.
Hints and tips
The Grand Wailea is a popular destination for honeymooners, and houses a chapel for dream weddings or vow renewals.

For the ultimate romantic experience, book cabana dining at sunset to enjoy a menu tailored to your tastes with views across the Pacific Ocean and nearby islands.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6897 -156.4406
Area served
Wailea, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport
Area description
The 22-acre Grand Wailea fronts the famed Wailea Beach, where the distant islands of Lanai, uninhabited Kahoolawe and little Molokini create a picture-perfect setting. The upscale Gold Coast community of Wailea itself is surrounded by golf courses, fine restaurants and shops, all within a short distance from the resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Rooms

Rooms
Luxury begins here with oversized guest rooms averaging 640 square feet and views of Mt. Haleakala, gardens and the ocean. Each offers a private balcony, 24-hour, in-room dining, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and feather duvet/pillows. Other accommodations include the exclusive Napua Tower, a private hotel within the resort; suites up to 5,500 square feet; and the Villas at Hoolei, three-bedroom villas for vacationing or residence.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dirk Ros
Business
Mexico City
Feb 24, 2014

Great Hotel

Fantastic facilities, the interior river is fantastic for kids, and the Amasia restaurant is delicous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Amasia restaurant is fantastic,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KT Vacation
Business
Denver, Colorado
Feb 16, 2014

Great for a couple trip or a family vacation

The spa was amazing. It was a great way to start our stay. I highly recommend a spa day for anyone who stays at the Grand. It was a great location for us. We have family that we were visiting who lived in Kihei. They have a newborn, but the close proximity to Kihei made it easy for them to come and visit and for us to go and visit them. The staff was very friendly and professional. The Napua Tower is really nice. The only downside was that there was a $50 charge per visitor to come and use the pools with us. As a result, we did not fully utilize the resort because we wanted to spend more time with family. Other than that, it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family vacation in Jan
Business
Seoul, Korea
Jan 23, 2014

First Trip to GW

My seven year old loved the pool and the slide (also the fishpipe, to a lesser degree). We got lucky and got upgraded to one of the towers, and the room was spacious with a good view and a luxurious bathroom. Rooms were cleaned twice everyday, which is great given that we brought in lots of sands after a day at the beach. Grand lu'au was a memorable experience, and the Spiny Hawaiian Lobster at the Humu was the best! Staffs were generally very friendly, except few that had some attitude (my sense is that they are so accustomed to a certain types of guests; if you do not fit that mold, you'd better show them you belong there to earn their respect). Guests all greet each other with smiles. Everything is expensive, but that is what you would expect from this hotel. Bottom line is that this is a great hotel for families with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica Morehead
Business
Wailea, Maui
Dec 22, 2013

Excellent honeymoon getaway

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to spend our honeymoon. Excellent location! Excellent service! Very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The traveling family from
Business
Fremont, Ca
Dec 13, 2013

Traveling Family in Bay Area!

The hotel had great pools, especially with all the water slides for kids. The room we stayed in seem a little bit out of date for the price we paid, overall it was good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nice Vice Principal
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 2, 2013

Fantastic Honeymoon

I had a great stay for my honeymoon. The staff was super friendly and had a blast every day at the resort and pool. I even rode down the water slides and enjoyed cocktail or two poolside everyday. I definitely recommend eating at Humuhumunukunukuapua'a as well. Go see the sunsets on the beach it was incredible. Make sure to go get wristbands and extra towels. Loved that the valet parking people always put water in my car when i left each day as well. They also gave me towels at the valet stand to go to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely go eat at Ferraro's and watch the sunset. This is one of the most beautiful spots on the island in walking distance rom the Wailea Grand. Food and drinks were excellent and cheaper than Mama's Fish house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicagoan empty nest
Business
Chicago , IL
Nov 25, 2013

Good if you go with your kids

GW is a very nice hotel if you go with your children , they have many pools and ways to entertain your kids. In our case we were for our wedding anniversary . I should've done more research before choosing this hotel . I had a good time but I would've preferred more quiet time. Wherever you go there were so many children playing and making so much noise, which I think is ok because they are children. But when your only child is already in college you just want to relax and have more quiet time. The price was excellent for that location, the problem was that I did nott kow that there is an extra charge if you want to rent a cabana, depending on the location , you have to pay more for the cabana than for one night I think it is simpy too much . If I would've known all these details I would've gone to another resort . Also the food was nothing extraordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese restaurant located in Shops at Wailea, excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cinematographer Marlon
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 29, 2013

Had a great time!

I stayed at the Grand Wailea for my 1 year anniversary with my girlfriend and as soon as we walked into the lobby, the only word that came out of her mouth was "epic". It truly is an island paradise resort. The property has all the amenities you need. You can stay in the property and still have a wonderful vacation although it would probably be very expensive. I do recommend going into to town to eat if you want more affordable meals. The location is great, it shares a wonderful beach with several other high end hotels. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I had an amazing private patio where I found myself relaxing often. The bathrooms are amazing and roomy. The tub fits two nicely :) The staff were all friendly and courteous as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Save the expensive dinners at the hotel for special occasions. For everything else, go into town and enjoy some native Hawaiian food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii Lei
Business
Glendale, California
Oct 25, 2013

Family Timr

Was a great hotel with plenty to do or to do nothing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get the morning buffet included in your hotel reservation, it is worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean Tropical
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 19, 2013

Wonderful view and great pool

We stayed in your hotel because of the pool and beach areas. The room exceeded our expectations and we will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shops at Wailea

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top