$429 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

5 stars
View map of 3850 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
54 reviews
Very nice hotel

We went there on our honeymoon. We had a phenomeal stay but some things lacked a bit. We arrived at... See full review

  • Adriana C.
  • Apr 6, 2015
take lots of money

The staff and grounds were top notch. Swimming pools included a water slide that went thru multiple... See full review

  • Eldoctoro
  • Mar 9, 2015
The Grand Wailea is a popular destination for honeymooners, and houses a chapel for dream weddings or vow renewals.

For the ultimate romantic experience, book cabana dining at sunset to enjoy a menu tailored to your tastes with views across the Pacific Ocean and nearby islands.
General
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort - Maui
Location
The Grand Wailea Walfdorf Astoria hotel spans 40 acres of waterfront property with direct access to Maui's golden Wailea Beach. The grounds are connected by meandering walkways that wind alongside streams, miniature waterfalls and swaying palm trees - perfect for a leisurely Hawaiian-style stroll. Eat at award-winning restaurants, take a dip in one of the four pools, or treat yourself at the Spa Grande, where services range from water therapies to traditional massages. Winner of the AAA Four Diamond Award, the Grand Wailea is a real Maui retreat.
Dining
  • Restaurants:  HUMUHUMUNUKUNUKUAPUA'A, Alan Wong's Amasia, Bistro Molokini, Grand Dining Room and Sunset Cabana Dining, Cafe Kula
  • Bars:  Botero Bar, Grotto Bar, Volcano Bar
  • Conference and event spaces: 28,000-square-foot ballroom plus 17 breakout rooms and 12,000-square-foot gardens
  • 3 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis club
  • On-site shopping
  • Spa Grande: 40,000-square-feet
Rooms
Calm waters, sunny weather and close proximity to fine restaurants and high-end retailers are all a short walk from the luxury resort community of Wailea. Golfing beginners and enthusiasts can take advantage of the five 18-hole championship golf courses, only a few minutes from the hotel. Play tennis at the nearby Wailea Tennis Club, snorkel with green sea turtles at local beach spots, or book a helicopter tour for unforgettable sights.
Highlights

The well-equipped fitness center offers yoga classes every morning on the beach. Take a guided tour of the art displayed throughout the facility that was created by local artists. Let your creative juices flow by taking morning painting or photography classes. Hike the Hoapili Trail or explore the hills while riding a complimentary mountain bike. Cuisine options range from typical American fast food to fresh, chef-prepared seafood with a Hawaiian or Polynesian flair. Guests have the option of eating at Humuhumunukunukuapua’a Restaurant under a Polynesian thatch roof, the Bistro Molokini, the Cafe Kula or at the Volcano Bar and Brill. Order room service or enjoy watching the sunset while dining in a candlelit private cabana on the beach.

Policies
The Grand Wailea is a popular destination for honeymooners, and houses a chapel for dream weddings or vow renewals.

For the ultimate romantic experience, book cabana dining at sunset to enjoy a menu tailored to your tastes with views across the Pacific Ocean and nearby islands.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Rooms

Rooms
Luxury begins here with oversized guest rooms averaging 640 square feet and views of Mt. Haleakala, gardens and the ocean. Each offers a private balcony, 24-hour, in-room dining, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and feather duvet/pillows. Other accommodations include the exclusive Napua Tower, a private hotel within the resort; suites up to 5,500 square feet; and the Villas at Hoolei, three-bedroom villas for vacationing or residence.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adriana C.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Very nice hotel

We went there on our honeymoon. We had a phenomeal stay but some things lacked a bit. We arrived at the hotel after a 12 hr flight so we were super tired. The manager (I wish I remembered his name) was very kind. If you stay on I don't remember the name of the wing you get free breakfast and they also have appetizers and drinks every night from 4-6pm and they are delicious!!! We would definitely love to return one day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eldoctoro
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

take lots of money

The staff and grounds were top notch. Swimming pools included a water slide that went thru multiple pools down Lava Mt. but a surprising lack of shade unless you want to rent a cabana for $350/day. Hamburgers are $19.00, but very good.Great endless walking path by the ocean with sandy beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WILLIAM M.
Business
Ridgeland
Dec 30, 2014

Amazing trip of a lifetime

Resort was amazing the view, location, staff Was excellent. This was a great getaway with my wife. Once in a lifetime Vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josh's Okasan
Business
Kailua, HI
Nov 19, 2014

Fantastic Vacation

We had a fabulous time. The hotel was awesome and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the water slides too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad from SD
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 12, 2014

Great getaway

Lovely hotel- met my expectations. Perfect for a honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alan239
Business
Half Moon Bay, CA
Sep 11, 2014

Great Place

Awesome pools and water slides. Spent the whole time doing this. There was a high surf advisory when we were there, so nice big waves to body surf in. My wife and daughter went to the spa, and thought it was very grand. Valet parking is mandatory, which adds $30 to the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

La Perouse Bay. 7 mile drive from the hotel. Drive through a lava flow at Ahihi-Kinau Natural Area Reserve. You can see spinner dolphins from La Perouse Bay

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David California Traveler
Business
California
Sep 9, 2014

Beautiful Property. A few shortfalls.

First off, the property is beautiful! One of the nicest I have ever been to. Unfortunately, there were a few shortfalls that they should work on to bring things up to the standard set by the property itself. It took 3 phone calls and 6 hours for them to bring our bags up to our room. This should have been done without any phone calls, and within 30 minutes...or even an hour. Now the food. I understand that this is an expensive hotel, so a $20 burger is no surprise. However, one would expect it to be a good burger...made with Maui Beef, perhaps. Unfortunately, it was about the most mediocre burger I have ever had. It was flavorless, and looked like it was from a frozen patty. I have eaten far better burgers at fast food restaurants. The room was nice, but nothing extraordinary. The room definitely showed age, and the shower drain did not drain well. I would recommend staying here for the experience. The grounds are beautiful, the pools are great, and it is right on the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Monkeypod Restaurant!

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kuulei
Business
oahu Hawaii
Aug 11, 2014

Romantic getaway

Thank you for making my birthday a great experience Aloha Mrs. Pierce

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alan Wong Anasia was great

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kt929
Business
La Habra Heights, CA
Jul 27, 2014

FAMILY VACATION

Hotel needs major reno. Room is outdated, old and carpet is dirty. Pool has tiles falling off all over the place. Food is too expensive. For $600 a night, I expect 5* room. Wouldn't not stay her again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jon Bahamonde
Business
Orlando Fl
May 28, 2014

Best hotel in our entire life!

I have traveled extensively my entire life. I have been on over 50 cruises and to over 30 countries. I have to say that this hotel really does cover it all. From the awesome room views to the coy pond balconies and the excellent pool structures that slide into one another. As an overall hotel this hits the key points from a couples getaway to a family vacation. The beach is by far the best in the entire island and excellent snorkeling location too! We saw at least 6 sea turtles. I will be staying here permanently when ever I visit Maui. Bravo Waldorf Astoria Bravo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go local for dinning avoid the hotels

Back to menu Return to top