$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

4 stars
69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, HI 96738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
395 reviews
Fantastic getaway

My husband and I stayed here for 12 nights and it was amazing. All of the staff were amazing and... See full review

  • Jessterista
  • Oct 25, 2014
Beautiful Setting, Relax to the Max

This resort is well laid out in a beautiful Big Island setting. The rooms are comfortable. The... See full review

  • Mr. Fred
  • Oct 22, 2014
Beachfront Waikoloa resort next door to two upscale shopping centers

On an island with relatively few beaches, the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa in Waikoloa charms with a location on lovely Anaehoomalu Bay, with a sand beach, safe swimming and ancient Hawaiian fishponds. Guests enjoy spacious and contemporary accommodations that include a private balcony and the notable Marriott Revive bed. On the property, an infinity swimming pool, full-service spa and fitness center complete bliss.

Highlights
  • Enjoy an oceanfront location on Anaehoomalu Bay, with one of the region's best beaches and swimming bays
  • Visit two shopping centers just next door, with stores from local favorite Cinnamon Girl to Louis Vuitton
  • Spend the day unwinding at Waikoloa Beach Marriott's full-service Mandara Spa
Location

The 15-acre beachfront Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the exclusive South Kohala community of Waikoloa. The resort sits on beautiful Anaehoomalu Bay, with a sandy beach, safe swimming and ancient fishponds. Two excellent shopping centers are just next door.

Rooms

The six-story Waikoloa Beach Marriott features more than 530 guest rooms and one-bedroom suites with elegantly contemporary Polynesian and Asian décor, and views ranging from pool to garden/mountain and ocean. Each includes a private balcony, the Marriott Revive bed with designer duvet and extra fluffy pillows, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), air conditioning, Kona coffee and tea service and flat-screen cable/satellite TV.

Dining

Waikoloa Beach Marriott features Hawaii Calls Restaurant & Lounge, popular for its breakfast buffet and American/Pacific Rim-style dinner service. The Marriott also offers the Sunset Luau experience. Next to the resort, try Merriman's Market Café; Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill; Sansei Seafood, Steak & Sushi Bar; or Romano's Macaroni Grill.

Recreation

Guests at Waikoloa Beach Marriott unwind at the full-service Mandara Spa or at in the heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Kids have their own children's pool, while a fitness center and nearby golf courses complete the diversions. The hotel also hosts cultural activities to educate guests about local traditions.

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (18.5 mi/29.8 km)
Attractions
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (fronting resort)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (1 block)
  • Hapuna Beach (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (21.2 mi/34.1 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (25 mi/40.3 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (44.7 mi/72 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (103 mi/166 km)
Policies and fees
The property charges $25 USD resort fee plus tax per day, inclusive of the following:
  • Unlimited in-room Internet access
  • Daily self-parking
  • Unlimited US domestic, long distance and local phone calls
  • Waikoloa Golf Driving Range use - complimentary use, regularly $15 hr
  • Luau for two people - 20% discount off regular price $97
  • Hertz car rental - 15% daily rental
  • Ocean sports - 10% select beach rentals

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa Rooms

Garden Mountain View
Enjoy tropical surroundings or view distant mountains from the balcony of the garden/mountain room, 1 king or 2 double.
Pool View
Overlook stunning pools amidst a serene tropical setting from the pool view room with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.
Ocean View
Surround yourself with views of the pacific ocean and tropical landscapes, ocean view with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.
Oceanfront
Enjoy breathtaking views of the pacific ocean and sunset, ocean front view room with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Merriman's Market Caf
Merriman's uses the freshest ingredients from local Big Island farmers to bring you the unique flavors of Hawaii in Italian and Mediterranean style cuisine served in an outdoor cafe. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Contemporary sushi and new wave Asian inspired dishes served in a lively setting is what makes Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar a critic's favorite. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Queens' Marketplace.
Starbucks Coffee
Serving breakfast, coffee and light meals. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.
Room Service
Serving an extensive breakfast and dinner menu, from 6am - 11am and 6pm to 10pm.
Hawaii Calls Restaurant & Lounge
Providing panoramic ocean views and outdoor seating on our newly expanded lanai, our signature restaurant offers Pacific-Asian cuisine. Featuring an elaborate daily breakfast buffet & ala care menu. Salads, sandwiches and tropical drinks available for lunch served in our seated dining area or poolside. Dinner features fresh Big Island produce and local seafood. The lounge also offers cocktails and a light bistro/pupu (appetizers) menu for late-night dining.
Kona Coffee Shoppe
Offering convenient light breakfast to-go including homemade pastries, muffins, breads and fresh fruit. Plus local Kona coffee blends and other "eye-opener" beverages.
Sunset Luau
Gather as the sun sets over 'Anaeho'omalu Bay for some classic Polynesian entertainment including music, traditional dances of the South Pacific and a delectable selection of Hawaiian food.
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's features the finest Hawaiian seafood, with a focus on delicacies from the oceans surrounding Hawaii. You will discover a fusion of the world's finest flavors, deliciously wrapped in the Hawaiian state of mind. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Several meeting and conference facilities to choose from including Ali'i Ballroom, Paniolo Ballroom, Paniolo Ocean Terrace, Coconut Grove, Lehua Ballroom, Kamehameha Boardroom, and the Volcano Grounds.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (395)

Ratings and reviews for Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
395 out of 395
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Mar 19, 2011

Disappointment

We had hoped for a relaxing few days on the Big Island, but the hotel stay added unnecessary stress. First, the hotel had no record of our reservation [...], and it took over an hour and 3 phone calls to finally get a room. Second, overall the hotel facilities were decent but dingy; definitely not worth the price. The room was not even cleaned after the first night, and poorly cleaned the next few days. Wet towels and food spills were never cleaned up. The first night there was no shampoo, the second night no soap. Third, the Internet never worked, even when I went to the main lobby where there was a very weak wifi signal. Fourth, at the restaurant, when we tried to charge our breakfast to the room, they could find no record of us as guests! And finally, when we arrived, the beach was closed because of the tsunami, so we were never able to rent kayaks and paddleboards, which was one of the reasons we selected this hotel. On the plus side, on the last day after we had checked out, we had a late evening flight, and the hotel provided a hospitality room where we could shower and change after our day's activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beaches at Hapuna and Puako are wonderful and not too far.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Portland Traveler14
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 17, 2014

Marriot

The hotel is nice enough, but the front desk staff is clueless. All of their info says that there is free hard wired internet in the room. The first room they gave us did not have it. Then they had us move rooms, after we had unpacked. They did not send a porter for our bags, even after we asked. We carried all of our things down to the next room on a different floor, and the internet still was not working. They said they would send someone, an hour later no one came. The guy at the front desk blamed the operator for this and then placed me on hold for 15 minutes.... really the whole week went on and on like this. I gave up on internet after the second day though. Every time I tried to get information from any of the staff they were all clueless. no one knew the price of anything the hotel offered. The room itself was fine. The dining options at the hotel were a huge disappointment. The Luau was fun though. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Hilton though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unsatisfied x2
Business
Elkhart, IN
Feb 22, 2013

Not so good

For $285 I would have expected the room to be a bit bigger. Literally there was only a bathroom and a bed. The balcony was super tiny and if you wanted breakfast that would have been $60 more for my husband and I. If I paid $285 for a room that small I guess the breakfast should be included!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lena Bayna
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 19, 2013

Five day stay

Checking in was easy and valet staff were so quick and courteous. Our hotel room was on the first floor, pool view, king size. The room was TINY. It came with an old school 32 inch TV and no movie channel. There is only one restaurant and they don't serve past 10, so you can forget that late night snack. We got up early the first day, left the room til almost three and didn't even have maid service while we were out. No clean towels, no new shampoo and conditioner... Kind of disappointing. The pools and rooms were nice, but small. The rooms were clean, but not services that one day. I will probably not stay there again. Sorry Marriott! I expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joyee
Business
California
Sep 17, 2013

Stay at the hotel

Staff were very good. However, the room left a bit to be desired (Rm 4242). Great ocean view. However, the bed mattress not that great - saggy. I awoke several time during the night with back pain. The bathroom tub/shower area should be updated. Lights on either side of the bed are too high particularly if one person wants to sleep while the other wants to read. WiFi was non-existent at our end of the hotel. Finally, the electrical plugs on the desk were loose, i.e. difficult to get a solid connection. This room was a nice size and has great potential which was not realized. I am a Marriott rewards member and a time share owner and regularly stay in Marriott properties. This room was a "C-" in comparison to most where I have stayed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sac travels
Business
Sacramento
Dec 16, 2013

dated

The hotel is old and in need of a remodel. The staff is okay, but the service is sketchy. We stayed for 16 nights, and saw all levels of service during our stay. The refrigerator was loud, old and ineffective. The blow dryer broke as did the coffee maker. The linen service is a joke. I felt as though I was begging for towels my entire stay. Two people in a room with a pool and ocean, yet only three towels per day. If you ask for more towels they cannot give them to you off of the cart, they must be delivered to your room. I asked for four got two, asked for three got one. When they clean they do not replace a like number of twoels. Te bed is poorly made, they often just pulled the comforter and top sheet up over the wrinkled bottom sheet. After the first week I started to stockpile towels in a drawer so I would have them when I needed them. Some days housekeeping came at 9am, others as late as 1pm, once they did not come at all. I called at 9:30 at night to announce that my room had not been cleaned, they were annoyed that I still wanted someone to come clean it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down the beach is the Lava Lava Beach Club. Wonderful food and service. All tables are an ocean view, as they are located in an open-air patio setting. Entertainment nightly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Co Bluffs, IA
Mar 19, 2011

Marriott stumbles

The checkin staff should be dismissed! The checkin line was long, not moving, and the staff could have cared less. We waited in line 30 minutes and then a large flight crew arrived, went to the front of the line, and ALL the staff moved to their checkin for the next 15 minutes. I was much calmer than the rest of the people in line; petty ugly! Not a good way to start a vacation. The Concierge, bar staff, and grounds people were great! The rooms were clean but tired and ready for renovation. I am a Marriott referred member and discovered that I received no points for the stay[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buzz's Sand Trap. Excellent restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Peterborough
Jan 5, 2009

Great place and staff, with some bad management

The bed was incredible! Their restaurant chef and bartenders were true professionals with wonderful talent! The pool and grounds were very well maintained. Pool staff and wait staff were always quick, friendly and helpful. The Sunday Front Desk and Manager's response to a broken coffee maker was remarkabeley bad, and put a pal over the other wonderful amenities. I called in the morning to let them know that for the second time, the valve had stuck and coffee had flooded all over the room. After I told her that I just wanted my morning coffee, the desk response was to ask me to come down to the desk. After I tensely repeated that I just wanted a cup of coffee, she agreed, sarcastically said aloha, and hung up. Even when the manager brought up a cup of (black) coffee, he didn't bother to suggest thas someone on their staff could clean up the mess. My husband and I cleaned it up both times. This hotel is on the best beach on the island! It is relatively long and sandy, with some great spots for snorkelling. Driving to and from Kona, other towns and the airport is quite convenient, and the nearby resort shops are a nice distraction. Surprisingly, while there are some quite popular restaurants around, the best high end cooking was at this hotels own restaurant, and, alternatively, there was great food to be found at the nearby food court!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the food court a block away at the Queens's Shops! The shops there are also fun to browse through.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Family that loves Hawaii
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 12, 2010

Second rate facility and service

My wife and two teenage children have been to all of the islands and have stayed at beautiful resorts each time we have been to Hawaii with the exception of the Waikoloa Beach Marriot. The Waikoloa Beach Marriot is distinctly second rate and we will not be returning to this facility and, for that matter, any other Marriot without much more investigation. The service is poor; the carpets are old, torn and dirty; and, the grounds are in desperate need of sprucing up. The lobby entrance is devoid of any decoration and could actually be very nice with a picture or plant here or there. The concierge is a separate business entity and not like a real concierge. There is only one restaurant/pool bar that is poorly staffed, too far way from the pool and the food was mediocre especially for the price. The room was the best part. It was nice and clean. The old tube style TV took up a lot of space. The maid service was not very good. They never left soap, shampoo or enough towels. We could not sleep with the sliding door to the balcony open due to the noise. The resort is located on A-Bay which is okay but certainly not one of the nicer beaches in the area. The activites hut on the bay needs some updating. The majority of the parking spaces were reserved for valet parking which few used and so there were few close parking spaces. Our trip was great as we went out and explored the island but the resort was a huge disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jul 12, 2011

Resort fee and Hilton slay Marriott

Resort fee was $25 a day for parking and internet. It was recently raised from $20, the price I was expecting. It is not optional. Problem is that there is no wifi in the room unless you have a computer capable of hooking up first with a LAN cable (I was traveling with an ipad and iphone so no dice). Also, poolside the wifi signal is so weak it is unusable. When comparing this place and the Hilton there is absolutely no reason to choose the Marriott. The facilities pale in comparison. Also, don't be fooled into thinking this place has an acceptable beach because it doesn't. The bay is full of docking boats, there are no waves, and the beach is so rocky you cant comfortably wade into the bay. Terrible beach. Bottom line STAY AT THE HILTON!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best thing about this place is its proximity to the Queen's and King's shopping malls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top